
ORDER NO. 23-317 

ENTERED Aug25,2023 

BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION 

In the Matter of 

SALMON VALLEY WATER 
COMPANY 

OF OREGON 

UW195 

Re uest for a General Rate Revision. 

DISPOSITION: STIPULATION ADOPTED 

I. SUMMARY 

ORDER 

In this order, we adopt an uncontested stipulation between Salmon Valley Water 
Company and Staff of the Oregon Public Utilities Commission. The stipulation resolves 
all issues in this proceeding. As a result of the stipulation, Salmon Valley's annual 
revenues will increase from $537,005 to $998,089, an increase of $461,084 or 85.86 
percent. The revenue requirement includes an agreed-upon 7.4975 percent rate ofreturn. 

II. BACKGROUND AND PROCEDURAL HISTORY 

Salmon Valley is a water company that is a subsidiary of NW Natural Water 
Company, LLC. It is located in Welches, Oregon, and serves around 900 residential 
customers and 60 commercial customers. On February 27, 2023, Salmon Valley filed a 
request for a General Rate Revision with the Commission. It sought to increase its 
revenues from $537,005 to $1,063,178, an increase of $526,172 or 98 percent. It also 
sought a rate of return of 8.25 percent. 

In its filing, Salmon Valley asserted that the increased rates were necessary due to, 
among other things, the Company's investment in a new well and treatment plant. It also 
stated that it had replaced all meters over 25 years old with new, wireless read meters. 

On March 20, 2023, Chief Administrative Law Judge Nolan Moser issued Order 
No. 23-098 suspending the effective date of August 1, 2023, for a period not to exceed 
nine months from August 1, 2023. 

Subsequently, on April 3, 2023, Administrative Law Judge Katharine Mapes held a 
prehearing conference. A public comment hearing was held on April 27, 2023. Timely 
petitions to intervene were filed by Marie Lauterbach and Brian Lauterbach, and the 
petitions were granted at the prehearing conference. 
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On July 24, 2023, Staff notified the Commission that it had reached a stipulation with the 
Company resolving all issues in this case. A scheduling conference was held on July 27, 
2023, at which Marie Lauterbach and Brian Lauterbach informed the ALJ that they did 
not join the stipulation but also would not be opposing it. The stipulation was filed with 
the Commission on August 4, 2023, and testimony and exhibits in support of the 
stipulation were filed on August 10, 2023. The stipulation seeks an effective date of 
September 1, 2023. A copy of the stipulation is attached to this order as Appendix A. 

III. THE STIPULATION 

The stipulation presents a comprehensive settlement of all issues. The Company's new 
revenue requirement would be $998,089, an increase of $461,084 or 85.86 percent. The 
revenue requirement includes an agreed-upon 7.4975 percent rate ofreturn. The 
stipulation's total revenue requirement is shown in Attachment A to the stipulation; 
illustrative revised tariff pages are shown in Attachment B. The new rates show monthly 
base rates of $52.27 to $960.38, depending on the size of the connection, and commodity 
rates of $4.313 per 100 cubic feet of water used. Non-metered flat-rate customers will 
pay a monthly rate of $86.48. 

The stipulating parties seek an effective date of September 1, 2023. 

IV. RESOLUTION 

We reviewed the stipulation, its attachments, and the supporting testimony and exhibits. 
We find that the stipulation is a reasonable resolution of all issues presented in the 
docket. We take notice of customer comments concerned about the size of the increase 
and the fact that the percentage of increase is sizeable and could lead to hardship for the 
Company's customers. However, given that it is tied largely to specific capital 
improvements and, particularly, a filtration system that will address water quality, we 
find that the size of the increase is reasonable in this instance. 

In accordance with the stipulation, the Company is directed to make a compliance filing 
containing revised tariff pages reflecting the terms and conditions agreed to in this 
stipulation within three business dates from the date of this order. 

V. ORDER 

IT IS ORDERED that: 

1. Advice No. 23-1 filed by Salmon Valley Water Company is permanently 
suspended. 

2. The stipulation between Salmon Valley Water Company and Staff of the Public 
Utility Commission of Oregon, attached as Appendix A, is adopted. 

2 
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3. Salmon Valley Water Company must file tariff sheets in compliance with this 
order with an effective date of September 1, 2023, no later than three business 
days after the date of this order. 

Aug25 2023 Made, entered, and effective -------------

Megan W. Decker 
Chair 

Letha Tawney 
Commissioner 

COMMISSIONER·THOMPSON·WAS1) 

UNAVAILABLE•FqR•SIGNATURE1) 

Mark R. Thompson 
Commissioner 

A party may request rehearing or reconsideration of this order under ORS 756.561. A request 
for rehearing or reconsideration must be filed with the Commission within 60 days of the date 
of service of this order. The request must comply with the requirements in OAR 860-001-
0720. A copy of the request must also be served on each party to the proceedings as provided 
in OAR 860-001-0180(2). A party may appeal this order by filing a petition for review with 
the Court of Appeals in compliance with ORS 183.480 through 183.484. 
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4 In the Matter of 

ORDER NO. 23-317 

BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION 

OF OREGON 

UW195 

5 SALMONVALLEYWATERCOMPANY, 

6 Request for a General Rate Revision. 

STIPULATION 

7 

8 This Stipulation is by and between Salmon Valley Water Company ("Salmon Valley" or 

9 the "Company") and Staff of the Public Utility Commission of Oregon ("Staff') (hereafter, 

1 o collectively referred to as the "Stipulating Parties"). Intervenors Brian Lauterbach and Marie 

11 Lauterbach ("collectively, the "Intervenors") have informed the Stipulating Parties that the 

12 Intervenors have chosen not to join this Stipulation but confirmed with the Stipulating Parties 

13 and ALJ Mapes at the July 27, 2023 scheduling conference that they will not oppose the 

14 stipulation. The Stipulating Parties and Intervenors collectively are all of the "Parties" to this 

15 proceeding. 

16 I. INTRODUCTION 

17 On February 27, 2023, Salmon Valley filed a request for a General Rate Revision, with 

18 proposed rates to become effective on August 1, 2023. The Company requested to increase its 

19 revenues from $537,005 to $1,063,178, or an increase of $526,172 (98.0 percent). Salmon 

20 Valley selected a test year of October 1, 2021, to September 30, 2022. By Order No. 23-098, 

21 entered March 20, 2023, Chief Administrative Law Judge Moser suspended the effective date for 

22 a period of time not to exceed nine months from the proposed effective date. 

23 Staff reviewed the Company's filing and responses to data requests and the Parties held 

24 multiple settlement conferences to discuss and address the issues in this case. As a result of 

25 those discussions, the Stipulating Parties have reached agreement on all issues as set forth in this 

26 
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1 Stipulation. The Stipulating Parties respectfully request that the Commission issue an order 

2 adopting this Stipulation. 
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II. TERMS OF THE STIPULATION 

1. Revenue Requirement. The Stipulating Parties agree to recommend and support a 

total revenue requirement of $998,089, as shown in Attachment A to this Stipulation, to be 

collected in rates as set forth in Paragraph 2 of and Attachment B to this Stipulation. This 

revenue requirement includes an agreed-upon 7.4975 percent rate ofreturn on a total rate base of 

$3,742,349, and represents an increase of $461,084, or 85.86 percent, over test period revenues 

of $537,005 included in the Company's application. The stipulated revenue requirement and 

adjustments are included for review as Attachment A to this Stipulation. 

2. Rate Effective Date. The Stipulating Parties agree to and support rates becoming 

effective on September 1, 2023. 

3. Rate Base. The Stipulating Parties agree that the stipulated rates in this case 

reflect the following rate base adjustments: 

A. Utility Plant in Service (Account 101) and Construction Work in Progress 

(Account 105). The Stipulating Parties agree that utility plant in service ("UPIS") includes all 

rate base additions from the Company's last rate case through the Company's filing of this rate 

case and all rate base additions that have been completed and in-service to date. The Stipulating 

Parties agree that Salmon Valley's additions to rate base are prudent. The Stipulating Parties 

agree that these actions result in a total UPIS of $4,775,161, which reflects an adjustment to 

UPIS to address Contributions in Aid of Construction ("CIAC") in addition to invested plant, 

and a total construction work in progress of $287,128. 

B. Wells and Springs (Account 307). An adjustment of ($200) to remove late 

fees. 

C. Other Plant (Account 339). An adjustment of ($1,100) to remove a duplicate 

invoice. 
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1 D. Miscellaneous Equipment (Account 348). An adjustment of ($10,786) to remove 

2 duplicate entries. 

3 E. Accumulated Depreciation (Account 108). An adjustment of $339,501 to 

4 reflect the addition of CIAC depreciation, conforming adjustments to UPIS amounts and seven 

5 months of 2023 depreciation for the inclusion of plant through August 1, 2023. 

6 F. Accumulated Amortization of CIAC (Account 272). An adjustment of $4,243 

7 to reflect seven months of 2023 depreciation for the inclusion of plant through August 1, 2023. 

8 G. Accumulated Deferred Income Tax (Account 281). An adjustment of$3,458 

9 to the Deferred Tax Liability to reflect adjustments to UPIS, accumulated depreciation and a Net 

10 Operating Loss (NOL) carryforward. 

11 H. Working Capital. An adjustment of ($67) to reflect the amount of 

12 operating expenses agreed upon by the Stipulating Parties. 

13 4. Operating Expense Adjustments. The Stipulating Parties agree that the stipulated 

14 rates in this case reflect the following operating expense adjustments: 

15 A. Salaries and Wages -Employees (Account 601). An adjustment of ($32,378) 

16 to modify an amount in "Other Wages" and remove an amount being capitalized. 

17 B. Employee Pension & Benefits (Account 604). An adjustment of ($89) to 

18 reflect the adjustment to Salaries and Wages - Employees (Account 601). 

19 C. Contract Services - Other (Account 639). An adjustment of ($63) to 

20 remove late fees. 

21 D. PUC Gross Revenue Fee (Account 667). An adjustment of($281) to 

22 reflect the revenues generated by this Stipulation. 

23 E. Miscellaneous Expense (Account 675). An adjustment of $1,878 to reflect 

24 the amortization of the master plan in the test year and to remove an amount relating to Meals & 

25 Entertainment. 

26 
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1 F. Capitalized Labor (OE 1). An adjustment of $30,128 to reflect capitalized 

2 labor being removed directly from the relevant expense accounts. 

3 5. Other Revenue Deductions. The Stipulating Parties agree that the stipulated rates 

4 in this case reflect the following adjustments to other revenue deductions: 

5 A. Depreciation Expense (Account 403). An adjustment of ($2,316) to 

6 reflect conforming changes. 

7 B. Property Tax (Account 408.11), Payroll Tax (Account 408.12), Other Tax 

8 (Account 408.13), Federal Income Tax (Account 409.10) and Oregon Income Tax (Account 

9 409.11). A total adjustment of ($35,026). 

6. Revisions to Tariff. The Stipulating Parties agree to recommend and support the 

11 tariff revisions proposed by the Company in this rate case, with the rates adjusted to reflect this 

12 Stipulation including the Rate Spread and Rate Design methodologies proposed by Staff. Those 

13 tariff revisions and adjusted rates are reflected in Attachment B to this Stipulation. Subject to the 

14 approval of this Stipulation, Salmon Valley will file revised tariff pages as a compliance filing in 

15 Docket UW 195, to be effective in accordance with Paragraph 2 of this Stipulation, reflecting the 

16 rates and terms and conditions as agreed to in this Stipulation. The Company will make that 

1 7 compliance filing within three business days after the Commission order in this proceeding or 

18 August 31, 2023, whichever is later. 

19 7. The Stipulating Parties agree that this Stipulation is in the public interest and, in 

20 the unique circumstances present in this case, will result in rates that are fair, reasonable, and 

21 will meet the standard set forth in ORS 756.040. 

22 8. The Stipulating Parties have negotiated this Stipulation in good faith and 

23 recommend and request that the Commission adopt the Stipulation in its entirety as an 

24 appropriate and reasonable resolution to the issues described therein. 

25 9. The Stipulating Parties agree that the Stipulation represents a compromise in the 

26 positions of the Stipulating Parties. By entering into this Stipulation, no Stipulating Party shall 

Page 4- UW 195 - STIPULATION 

APPENDIX A 
Page 4 of62 



ORDER NO. 23-317 

1 be deemed to have approved, accepted, or consented to the facts, principles, methods, or theories 

2 employed by any other Stipulating Party in arriving at the terms of this Stipulation. 

3 10. The Stipulating Parties agree that without the written consent of all Stipulating 

4 Parties, evidence of conduct or statements, including but not limited to term sheets or other 

5 documents created solely for use in settlement conferences in this docket, and conduct or 

6 statements made at settlement conferences, are confidential and not admissible in this or any 

7 subsequent proceeding, unless independently discoverable or offered for other purposes allowed 

8 under ORS 40.190. 

9 11. The Stipulating Parties support entering into evidence, without requiring any 

10 Stipulating Party to lay a foundation for its admission, this Stipulation and its Attachment A 

11 (revenue requirement) and Attachment B (tariff book), the joint written testimony of Staff and 

12 the Company in support of the Stipulation (Exhibit Stipulating Parties/100), and the following 

13 additional supporting exhibits: Exhibits Stipulating Parties/101 (witness qualification 

14 statements), Stipulating Parties/102 (summary tables), Stipulating Parties/103 (non-confidential 

15 data request responses & attachments), and Stipulating Parties/104 (customer comments). 

16 12. The Stipulating Parties understand that this Stipulation addresses only Salmon 

17 Valley's request for a general rate increase in this instance, is not binding on the Commission in 

18 deciding Salmon Valley's application for a general rate increase, and does not foreclose the 

19 Commission from addressing any other issues or foreclose a Stipulating Party from raising issues 

20 in a different proceeding. 

21 13. The Stipulating Parties have negotiated this Stipulation as an integrated 

22 document. Accordingly, if the Commission rejects all or any material portion of this Stipulation, 

23 or adds any material condition to any final order that is not consistent with this Stipulation, each 

24 Stipulating Party reserves the right, upon written notice to the Commission and all Parties to this 

25 proceeding within 15 days of the date of the Commission's final order, to withdraw from the 

26 Stipulation and to present additional evidence and argument on the record. However, prior to 
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1 withdrawal, any Stipulating Party that wishes to withdraw must engage in good faith negotiation 

2 with the other Stipulating Parties. No Stipulating Party withdrawing from this Stipulation shall 

3 be bound to any position, commitment, or condition of this Stipulation. Nothing in this 

4 paragraph provides any Stipulating Party the right to withdraw from this Stipulation as a result of 

5 the Commission's resolution of issues that this Stipulation does not resolve. 

6 14. The Stipulating Parties agree to support Commission approval of the Stipulation, 

7 throughout this proceeding and any subsequent appeal, and to provide witnesses to sponsor 

8 testimony. If any other party to this proceeding challenges this Stipulation or if any other 

9 interested person objects to this Stipulation in comments, the Stipulating Parties agree to 

10 cooperate in responding to bench requests, preparing supplemental testimony, and participating 

11 in cross-examination and to put on such a case as they deem appropriate to respond fully to the 

12 issues presented, which may include addressing issues incorporated in the settlements embodied 

13 in this Stipulation. 

14 15. This Stipulation may be executed in any number of counterparts, each of which will be 

15 an original for all purposes, but all of which taken together will constitute one and the same agreement. 

16 16. This Stipulation may not be modified or amended except by written agreement by all 

1 7 Stipulating Parties. 

18 

19 This Stipulation is entered into by each Stipulating Party on the date entered next to such 

20 Stipulating Party's signature. 

21 

22 

23 

24 

25 

26 

DATED: August 3, 2023 

DATED: August 3, 2023 
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Isl Natascha Smith 
Natascha Smith, OSB # 174661 
Assistant Attorney General 
Of Attorneys for Staff of the Public Utility 
Commission of Oregon 

Isl Eric W. Nelsen 
Eric W. Nelsen, OSB #192566 
Senior Regulatory Attorney, NW Natural 
representing Salmon Valley Water Company 
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Salmon Valley Water Company 

Revenue Requirement 

REVENUES 

460 Un metered 

461.1 Residential 

461.2 Commercial 

462 Fire Protection Sales 

465 Irrigation Water Sales 

466 Water Sales for Resale 

471 Miscellaneous Services 

475 Cross Connection Control 

Other 

Total Revenue 

Acct. OPERATING EXPENSES 
601 Salaries and Wages - Employees 

603 Salaries and Wages - Officers 
604 Employee Pension & Benefits 

610 Purchased Water 

611 Telephone/Communications 
615 Purchased Power 
616 Fuel for Power Production 
617 Other Utilities 
618 Chemical / Treatment Expense 
619 Office Supplies 

619.1 Postage 
620 O&M Materials/Supplies 
621 Repairs to Water Plant 
631 Contract Svcs - Engineering 
632 Contract Svcs - Accounting 

633 Contract Svcs - Legal 
634 Contract Svcs - Management Fees 

635 Contract Svcs - Testing 

636 Contract Svcs - Labor 

637 Contract Svcs - Billing/Collection 
638 Contract Svcs - Meter Reading 
639 Contract Svcs - Other 

639B Contract Svcs - Other 
641 Rental of Building/Real Property 
642 Rental of Equipment 
643 Small Tools 
648 Computer/Electronic Expenses 

650 Transportation 

656 Vehicle Insurance 
657 General Liability Insurance 

658 Workers' Comp Insurance 

660 Public Relations 
666 Amortz. of Rate Case 
667 Gross Revenue Fee (PUC) 

668 Water Resources Conservation Plan 
670 Bad Debt Expense 
671 Cross Connection Control Program 
673 Training and Certification 

$ 

ORDER NO. 23-317 

Test Year Adjustments 

431,183 417,979 

105,822 108,194 

-

S37,00S $ S26,172 

222,951 11,931 
1,138 {1,138} 

44,893 11 

-
9,252 

26,109 

2,335 
4,091 
2,529 

475 
28,466 {8,566} 

3,038 

2,809 
792 

61,344 {8,065} 

2,079 

5,515 

10,224 
626 

28,406 {5,693} 
12,832 {5,966} 

2,964 
9,071 8,786 

5,269 
225 

4,410 162 

1,060 
1,313 

Company 

Proposed Increase 

97.98% 

Company 
Proposed Totals 
$ -
$ 849,162 

$ 214,016 

$ -
$ -
$ -
$ -
$ -
$ -
$ -
$ 1,063,178 

$ 234,882 

$ -
$ 44,904 

$ -
$ 9,252 

$ 26,109 

$ -
$ 2,335 

$ 4,091 

$ 2,529 

$ 475 

$ 19,900 

$ 3,038 

$ -
$ 2,809 

$ 792 

$ 53,279 

$ -
$ -
$ 2,079 

$ -
$ 5,515 

$ -
$ 10,224 

$ 626 

$ -
$ 22,713 

$ 6,866 

$ 2,964 

$ 17,857 

$ 5,269 

$ 225 

$ -
$ 4,572 

$ -
$ -
$ 1,060 

$ 1,313 

$ 

$ 
$ 
$ 
$ 
$ 
$ 
$ 
$ 
$ 
$ 
$ 
$ 
$ 
$ 
$ 
$ 
$ 
$ 
$ 
$ 
$ 
$ 

$ 
$ 
$ 
$ 
$ 
$ 
$ 
$ 
$ 
$ 
$ 

$ 
$ 
$ 

Adjustments 

{35,501} 

{29,587} 

{6S,089) 

{32,378} 

-
{89} 

-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
{63} 

-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-

{281} 

-
-
-

Attachment A 

Stipulated 

Increase 

85.86% 

Stipulated Total 
$ -
$ 813,660 

$ 184,429 

$ -
$ -
$ -
$ -
$ -
$ -
$ -
$ 998,089 

$ 202,504 

$ -
$ 44,815 

$ -
$ 9,252 

$ 26,109 

$ -
$ 2,335 

$ 4,091 

$ 2,529 

$ 475 

$ 19,900 

$ 3,038 

$ -
$ 2,809 

$ 792 

$ 53,279 

$ -
$ -
$ 2,079 

$ -
$ 5,452 

$ -
$ 10,224 

$ 626 

$ -
$ 22,713 

$ 6,866 

$ 2,964 

$ 17,857 

$ 5,269 

$ 225 

$ -
$ 4,292 

$ -
$ -
$ 1,060 

$ 1,313 

APPENDIX A 
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Salmon Valley Water Company 
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Company 
Test Year Adjustments Proposed Totals 

674 Consumer Confidence Report $ -
675 Miscellaneous Expense 11,329 $ 11,329 
OEl Other Expense 1 - Capitalized Labor (136,347) 106,219 $ (30,128) 

TOTAL OPERATING EXPENSE $ 360,965 $ 105,914 $ 466,879 

OTHER REVENUE DEDUCTIONS 
403 Depreciation Expense 118,772 8,919 $ 127,691 
406 Amert of Plant Acquisition Adjustment $ -
407 Amortization Expense $ -

408.11 Property Tax* 15,477 38,762 $ 54,239 
408.12 Payroll Tax* 9,360 12,138 $ 21,498 
408.13 Other* - 5,788 $ 5,788 
409.10 Federal Income Tax* - 57,284 $ 57,284 
409.11 Oregon Income Tax* - 22,274 $ 22,274 
409.13 Extraordinary Items Income Tax $ -

TOTAL REVENUE DEDUCTIONS $ 504,574 $ 251,080 $ 755,654 
Net Operating Income $ 32,431 $ 275,092 $ 307,524 

UTILITY RATE BASE 
101 Utility Plant in Service 4,423,538 287,128 $ 4,710,666 
105 Construction Work in Progress $ -
108 - Accumulated Depreciation of Plant 885,242 - $ 885,242 
271 - Contributions in Aid of Construction 363,710 $ 363,710 
272 + Accumulated Amortization of CIAC 258,806 - $ 258,806 
281 - Accumulated Deferred Income Tax (13,224) 43,144 $ 29,919 

- Excess Capacity $ -
= NET RATE BASE INVESTMENT $ 3,446,616 $ 243,984 $ 3,690,601 

Plus: (working capital) 
151 Materials and Supplies Inventory $ -

Working Cash (Total Op Exp /12) 30,080 8,826 $ 38,907 
TOTAL RATE BASE $ 3,476,697 $ 252,811 $ 3,729,507 

Rate of Return 0.93% 8.25% 

*The Stipulating Parties agreed to a combined amount for these items. 

$ 
$ 
$ 
$ 

$ 
$ 
$ 

$ 

$ 
$ 
$ 

$ 
$ 
$ 
$ 
$ 
$ 
$ 
$ 

$ 
$ 
$ 

Attachment A 

Adjustments Stipulated Total 
- $ 

1,878 $ 
30,128 $ 

(805) $ 

(2,316) $ 
- $ 
- $ 

(35,026) $ 

- $ 
(38,147) $ 
(26,941) $ 

64,496 $ 
287,128 $ 
339,501 $ 

- $ 
4,243 $ 
3,458 $ 

- $ 
12,909 $ 

- $ 
(67) $ 

12,842 $ 

APPENDIX A 
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-
13,207 

-
466,074 

125,375 

-
-

126,057 

-
717,506 
280,583 

4,775,161 
287,128 

1,224,742 
363,710 
263,049 

33,377 

-
3,703,509 

-
38,840 

3,742,349 
7.4975% 
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Containing Rules and Regulations 
Governing Water Utility Service 

NAMING RATES FOR 

Attachment B 

Original Sheet No. 1 

SALMON VALLEY WATER COMPANY 
PO Box 205 

Issue Date / Filing Date 

Issued By Utility 

Advice No. 23-1 

Welches, OR 97067 

503.622.4083 

Serving water in the vicinity of 

Welches, Oregon 

I Effective for Service on or after I September 1 , 2023 

SALMON VALLEY WATER COMPANY 
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PUC Oregon No. 5 
ORDER NO. 23-317 Attachment B 

Original Sheet No. 2 

Table of Contents 

Schedule No. Page No. 

Title Page 1 

Table of Contents 2 

1 Residential, Commercial and Multi-Family Metered Rates 3 

2 Non-Metered Flat Rates 4 

3 Rates for Commercial Water Haulers 5 

4 Miscellaneous Service Charges 6 

5 Commodity Power Cost Adjustment 7 

Rules and Regulations 8 

Issue Date I Filing Date I Effective for Service on or after I September 1 , 2023 

Issued By Utility 

Advice No. 23-1 

SALMON VALLEY WATER COMPANY 

APPENDIX A 
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PUC Oregon No. 5 
ORDER NO. 23-317 Attachment B 

Original Sheet No. 3 

SCHEDULE NO. 1 

RESIDENTIAL, COMMERCIAL AND MULTI-FAMILY METERED RATES 

Available: To customers of the Utility at Welches, Oregon, and vicinity. 

Applicable: To residential, commercial and multi-family customers. 

Base Rate 
SERVICE METER SIZE MONTHLY BASE RA TE USAGE ALLOWANCE 

5/8 inch or 3/4 inch $52.27 0 

1 inch $99.98 0 

1½ inches $203.36 0 

2inches $960.38 0 

C ammo 1:y sage R t ae 
COMMODITY RA TE NO. OF UNITS MEASURING UNIT 

$4.313 Per Unit 1 unit = 100 cubic feet 

Special Provisions: 

1. These rates are based on continuous service. Discontinuation of service may not be 
employed to avoid monthly charges for service. See Rule No. 26, Voluntary Discontinuance. 

2. Water used during the construction of buildings, etc., shall be metered. Charges shall be 
made at the rates specified in this schedule. When setting of a meter is impracticable, the 
amount of water used shall be estimated, and the charges shall be made at specified rates 
for the amounts so estimated. 

3. Multi-family customers' monthly water service charge will be assessed at the number of units 
served times the monthly base rate plus the commodity charge. Example: If the premise 
serves 8 units, the base charge will be 8 times the base rate plus the commodity charge 
applied to the amount of water usage. 

Issue Date / Filing Date 

Issued By Utility 

Advice No. 23-1 

I Effective for Service on or after I September 1 , 2023 

SALMON VALLEY WATER COMPANY 

APPENDIX A 
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SCHEDULE NO. 2 

NON-METERED FLAT RATES 

Available: To customers of the Utility at Welches, Oregon, and vicinity. 

Applicable: To non-metered flat rate customers. 

FLAT RATES 

MONTHLY FLAT RATE 

$86.48 

Special Provisions: 

Attachment B 

Original Sheet No. 4 

1. These rates are based on continuous service. Discontinuation of service may not be 
employed to avoid monthly charges for service. See Rule No. 26, Voluntary Discontinuance. 

2. Water used during the construction of buildings, etc., shall also be billed at the applicable flat 
rate shown above. 

Issue Date / Filing Date 

Issued By Utility 

Advice No. 23-1 

I Effective for Service on or after I September 1 , 2023 

SALMON VALLEY WATER COMPANY 

APPENDIX A 
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Original Sheet No. 5 

SCHEDULE NO. 3 

RATES FOR COMMERCIAL WATER HAULERS 

AVAILABLE: To commercial water haulers where the Utility's facilities and excess capacity exist. 
Determination of adequacy of facilities and capacity is in the sole discretion of the Utility. 
Each commercial water truck must be inspected by the Utility and be equipped with a 
suitable hydrant meter, suitable backflow prevention devices, and a fire hydrant wrench. 

APPLICABLE: To all commercial water haulers. 

COMMERCIAL WATER HAULERS RATE 

$4.313 per 100 cubic feet 

SPECIAL PROVISIONS: 

1. Truck meters must be presented at the Utility's office between the 1st and the 5th of 
each month. Bills for service are due in accordance with the tariff. Failure to present meter 
in accordance with this provision will be considered grounds for termination of service under 
Rule 18 of this Tariff. 

2. Commercial water haulers detected not using meters or proper equipment may be denied 
service for one month for the first offense, and denied service completely for a second 
offense. 

3. Commercial water haulers shall fill only from designated hydrants at designated times that 
have been determined by the Utility to have excess capacity. Failure to comply with this 
requirement will be considered grounds for termination of service. 

4. Continued use of the Utility's facilities following termination of service shall be considered theft 
of services under OAR 860-036-1590. 
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SCHEDULE NO. 4 

MISCELLANEOUS SERVICE CHARGES 

This schedule lists the miscellaneous charges included in the Utility's Rules and Regulations; refer to 
the appropriate Rules for an explanation of charges and conditions under which they apply. 

Connection Charge for New Service (Rule Nos. 8 & 9) 
Standard ¾-inch service 
Nonstandard ¾-inch service 
Larger than ¾-inch 
Irrigation hookup (if provided on separate system) 

At cost 
At cost 
At cost 
At cost 

Reading Submeters & Preparing Memo Bill (Rule No. 22A) $10.00 

Meter Test (Rule Nos. 19 & 20) 
First test within 12-month period 
Second test within 12-month period 

Pressure Test (Rule No. 39) 
First test within 12-month period 
Second test within 12-month period 

Late-Payment Charge (Rule No. 21) 

Deposit for Service (Rule No. 5) 

Returned-Check Charge (Rule No. 22) 

Trouble-Call Charge (Rule No. 35) 
During normal office hours 
After normal office hours on special request 

Disconnection/Reconnect Charge (Rule Nos. 28 & 29) 
During normal office hours 
After normal office hours on special request 

Unauthorized Restoration of Service (Rule No. 30) 

Damage/Tampering Charge (Rule No. 33A) 

Disconnect Site-Visit Charge (Rule No. 29) 

N/C 
$25.00 

N/C 
$25.00 

Pursuant to OAR 860-036-1430 

Pursuant to OAR 860-036-1220 

$20.00 

$25.00 per hour 
$35.00 per hour 

$25.00 
$35.00 

Disconnection/Reconnection 
charge plus costs 

At cost 

$20.00 

Issue Date / Filing Date I Effective for Service on or after I September 1, 2023 

Issued By Utility 

Advice No. 23-1 

SALMON VALLEY WATER COMPANY 

APPENDIX A 
Page 14 of 62 



PUC Oregon No. 5 
ORDER NO. 23-317 

SCHEDULE NO. 5 

COMMODITY POWER COST ADJUSTMENT 

Attachment B 

Original Sheet No. 7 

Schedule No. 5 is an "Automatic Adjustment Clause" as defined in ORS 757.210. 
It is subject to review by the Commission at least once every two years. 

PURPOSE: To define procedures for periodic revision in rates due to changes in the 
Utility's purchased commodity power cost, to describe how a rate change for 
purchased commodity power cost is calculated, and identify any other 
requirements. 

APPLICABLE: The commodity power cost adjustment applies to the following schedules 
contained in the Utility's tariffs: Schedules 1 and 3. 

Changes under the applicable schedules are subject to increases or decreases that may be 
made without prior hearing to reflect the changes in the Utility's purchased power costs 
resulting from adjustments in the rate of the Utility's power suppliers. Such adjustments may 
be shown in the applicable rate schedules or may be incorporated directly in the applicable 
rate schedules. 

The Utility may file purchased power cost adjustments periodically to be effective upon the 
date its power suppliers implement rate changes. If the Utility chooses to file for power cost 
increases, it is obligated to file for decreases in power costs. 
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RULES AND REGULATIONS 

Rule 1: Jurisdiction of the Commission 

Water systems are subject to regulation as provided under ORS Chapter 757 

Rule 2: Definitions 

A. "Applicant" means a person who does not meet the definition of a customer, who applies for 
service with a water utility. 

B. "Commission" shall mean the Public Utility Commission of Oregon. 

C. "Commercial service" means water service provided by the water utility that the customer uses 
in the promotion of a business or business product that is a source of revenue or income to the 
customer or others using the premises. 

D. "Customer" means a person who is currently receiving water service and is entitled to certain 
rights as a customer under these rules. A residential customer retains customer status for 20 
calendar days following voluntary disconnection of service and must be treated as a customer 
if he or she reapplies for service within that 20 calendar day period. 

E. "Customer's service line" is defined as the facilities used to convey water from the point of 
connection to the customer's point of usage. The customer owns and maintains the customer 
service line. 

F. "Residential service" means water service provided for domestic or irrigation purposes in a 
residential area and is not considered a commercial service. 

G. "Served" for purpose of delivery of any required notice or document, unless otherwise 
specifically noted, means: delivered in person, by personal contact over the telephone, or in 
writing delivered to the party's last known address. If delivered by US Mail, the notice is 
considered served two calendar days after the date postmarked, the date of postage metering, 
or deposit in the US Mail, excluding Sundays and postal holidays. 

H. "Utility" shall mean: SALMON VALLEY WATER COMPANY, INC. 

I. "Water service connection" is defined as the facilities used to connect a water utility's 
distribution network to the point of connection at the customer's service line. The water utility 
owns and maintains the water service connection. 
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APPLICATION FOR SERVICE 

Rule 3: Information for Applicants and Customers (OAR 860-036-1100) 

The Utility shall provide or be able to provide customers or applicants with the following 
information: 

A. A copy of its approved tariffs or statement of rates; 
B. A copy of the utility's rules and regulations applicable to the type of service being provided; 

and 
C. The option to receive electronic copies of all written notices to be issued on the customer's 

account. 

Rule 4: Application for Service (OAR 860-036-1200) 

Application for water service must be made for each individual property to be served. The 
application shall identify the name of the applicant, the service address, the billing address, the 
contact information where the applicant can be reached, the type of water service requested and 
its intended use, and the name to be used to identify the account, if different than the applicant's 
actual name. The applicant shall, at this time, pay any scheduled fees or deposits. An application 
is a request for service and shall not be accepted until the applicant establishes credit as set forth 
in OAR 860-036-1210. 

An application for service must be made where: 

A. An applicant, who has not previously been served by the Utility, requests service; or 
B. Service has been involuntarily discontinued in accordance with the Utility and Commission 

rules, and service is requested; or 
C. Service has been voluntarily discontinued and a request to restore service has not been 

made within 20 days; or 
D. There is a change in the type of use to which the water is put, or the number of 

premises served. 

Rule 5: Establishment of Credit, Surety Agreements, Deposits, Interest. and Refunds of 
Deposits (OAR 860-036-1210, 1220, 1230, 1240, 1250, and 1260) 

The utility may require an applicant or customer to pay a deposit as a guarantee of payment for 
services provided. Amounts held by a water utility may not exceed one-sixth of the actual or 
estimated annual billing for the premises. (OAR 860-036-1220) 
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The water utility may adjust the deposit amount when a customer moves to a new location within 
the water utility's service area, and the anticipated bill at the new residence will be at least 20 
percent greater than the basis of the existing deposit. (OAR 860-036-1220(5)) 

The Utility must inform any residential applicant or customer who is required to pay a deposit of 
the opportunity to provide a written surety agreement in lieu of paying the deposit. A surety 
agreement obligates another qualifying residential customer of the same utility to pay an amount 
up to the required deposit if the secured account is later disconnected and a balance remains 
owing following the due date for the closing charges. To qualify as a surety, the other residential 
customer must have had 12 months of continuous service with the Utility without a late payment. 
(OAR 860-036-1230) 

The Utility shall pay interest on deposits at the rate established by the Commission. After the 
customer has paid its water service bills for 12 consecutive months without having had service 
discontinued for nonpayment, or did not have more than two occasions in which a shut-off notice 
was issued, and the customer is not then delinquent in the payment of bills, the Utility shall 
promptly and automatically refund the deposit plus accrued interest by (check one) 
(OAR 860-036-1250 and 1260): 

D 1. Issuing the customer a refund check, or 
[8:12. Crediting the customer's account; however, a customer is entitled to a refund upon 

request pursuant to OAR 860-036-1260 

Rule 6: Customer Service Line (OAR 860-036-1300(2)) 

The customer shall own and maintain the customer service line and promptly repair all breaks and 
leaks. For non-metered service, the customer service line begins at the property line or utility­
owned shut-off valve. For metered service, the customer service line begins on the customer's 
side of the meter or utility-owned shut-off valve. The Utility shall not be responsible for any 
damage or poor service due to inadequacy of the customer service line or any portion of the 
customer's plumbing. All leaks in the customer service line, faucets, and all other parts of the 
plumbing owned or controlled by the customer shall be promptly repaired so as not to waste 
water. 

Rule 7: Separate Control of Service 

All premises supplied with water will be served through service lines so placed as to enable the 
Utility to control the supply to each individual premise using a valve placed within and near the line 
of the street, the Utility right-of-way, or at the meter. 
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Rule 8: Water Service Connections (OAR 860-036-1300) 

The water service connection is defined as the facilities used to connect the Utility's distribution 
network to the point of connection at the customer's service line. The Utility owns, operates, 
maintains, and replaces the service connection when necessary and promptly repairs all breaks 
and leaks. The customer shall not be responsible for any damage or poor service due 
to inadequacy of the Utility's service lines or any portion of the Utility's plumbing. 

Rule 9: Service Connection Charge (OAR 860-036-1300(3)) 

An applicant requesting permanent water service to a premise not previously supplied with 
permanent service by the Utility may be required to pay the cost of the service connection, 
including or excluding the meter as provided in Rule No. 8 and the Utility's Miscellaneous Service 
Charges in this tariff. 

Rule 10: Main Line Extension Policy (OAR 860-036-1310) 

A main line extension is defined as the extension of the Utility's main line necessary to provide 
service to a customer when the property does not currently have main line frontage. 

The Utility shall specify the size, character, and location of pipes and appurtenances in any main 
line extension. Main line extensions shall normally be along streets, roads, highways, or other 
satisfactory rights-of-way. All construction work shall conform to all applicable rules, regulations, 
codes, and industry standards. Each main line extension shall normally extend along applicant's 
property line to the point the applicant's service line would be at a 90-degree angle to the street or 
main line. 

Main line extension charges, if any, are stated in the Utility's tariff or statement of rates. 

The Utility maintains a main line extension policy that lists all applicable charges; and describes 
the advance and refund provisions, including a description of the mechanisms for collecting and 
rebating the amount charged equitably among the customers who paid for the cost of the line, and 
provides the time period during which the advance and rebate provisions apply. 

Rule 1 0A: Main Line Advances and Refunds Policy 

Each new customer requesting a main line extension shall advance the Utility the cost-based 
amount necessary to extend the main line to provide service. For a period of five years after 
construction of the requested main line extension, the Utility shall also collect from any additional 
applicants whose connect to the main line extension an amount per foot equal to the new 
applicant's proportionate share of the main line extension cost for that portion used. The Utility will 
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then refund the share differential amount to those customers who previously shared the cost of 
said main line extension. Refunds shall not exceed the amount originally advanced. 

No part of the distribution system installed prior to the request for a main line extension shall 
be used to calculate any customer advance or refund. 

Rule 11: Types of Use 

Water service may be supplied for residential, commercial, irrigation, temporary construction, 
special contracts, fire prevention, and other uses. The Utility shall file separate rate schedules for 
each type of use and basis of supply. 

Rule 12: Multiple Residences/Commercial Users 

An apartment building, mobile home park, motel, trailer camp, duplex, townhouse, or any property 
consisting of more than one residential/commercial unit, if served through one service line, shall 
be considered to be equivalent to the number of dwelling units when determining the customer 
count. 

Rule 13: Utility Access to Private Property (OAR 860-036-1370, -1500) 

Customers shall provide regular access to Utility-owned service lines that may extend onto the 
customer's premises for the purposes of reading meters, maintenance, inspections, or removal of 
Utility property at the time service is to be discontinued. Where the customer does not cooperate 
in providing reasonable access to the meter or to the premises, as required by law or to determine 
if a health or safety hazard exists, it is grounds for disconnection. 

Rule 14: Restriction on Entering a Customer Residence (OAR 860-036-1330) 

No Utility employee shall enter the residence of its customers without proper authorization except 
in an emergency when life or property is endangered. 

REFUSAL OF SERVICE 

Rule 15: Refusal of Service Due to Customer Accounts (OAR 860-036-1270) 

The Utility may refuse to provide service if: 

A. The applicant has amounts owing under a tariff or statement of rates; or 
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B The applicant for residential service has a roommate with amounts owing under a tariff or 
statement of rates, and the applicant lived with the roommate at the time the amounts owing 
were incurred. 

Exception: If the applicant for residential service was a former residential customer with amounts 
owing, was involuntarily disconnected for non-payment, and applies for service within 20 calendar 
days of the disconnection, the Utility must provide service upon receipt of one-half of the amount 
owed with the remainder due within 30 calendar days. If the former customer fails to pay the 
remaining amounts within 30 calendar days, the Utility may disconnect service after issuing a?­
calendar day disconnection notice in accordance with OAR 860-036-1510(4). 

If service is disconnected, the Utility may refuse to restore service until it receives full payment of 
all amounts owing, including reconnection charges allowed under OAR 860-036-1580. 

Service shall not be refused for matters not related to water service. 

Residential service shall not be refused due to obligations connected with nonresidential service. 
If service is refused under this rule, the Utility shall inform the applicant or customer of the reasons 
for the refusal and of the Commission's dispute resolution process. 

Rule 16: Refusal of Service Due to Utility Facilities (OAR 860-036-1270) 

The Utility shall not accept an application for service or materially change service to a customer if 
the Utility does not have adequate facilities, resources or capacity to render the service applied 
for, or if the desired service is of a character that is likely to unfavorably affect reasonable service 
to other customers. 

For refusal of service under this rule, the Utility shall provide a written letter of refusal to the 
applicant within seven calendar days, informing applicant that the details upon which the Utility's 
decision was based may be requested. 

The details will include, but not be limited to: 

A. Provide the information required by OAR 860-036-1100(2); 
B. Explain the specific reasons for refusing water service; 
C. Inform the applicant of the right to request details upon which the Utility's decision was 

based;and 
D. Inform the applicant of the right to dispute the refusal by contacting the Consumer Services 

Section at the contact information provided in OAR 860-001-0020(2). 
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Rule 17: Refusal of Service Due to Customer Facilities (OAR 860-036-1270) 

The Utility will refuse service to an applicant whose facilities do not comply with applicable 
plumbing codes or, if in the best judgment of the Utility, are of such a character that safe and 
satisfactory service cannot be given. 

If service is refused under this rule, the Utility will provide written notification to the applicant within 
seven calendar days stating the reason(s) for refusal and providing information regarding the 
Commission's complaint process. 

METERS 

Rule 18: Utility Meters (OAR 860-036-1350) 

The Utility purchases, owns, maintains, and operates all meters. Meters placed in service will be 
adequate in size and design for the type of service, set at convenient locations, accessible to the 
Utility, subject to the Utility's control, and placed in a meter box or vault between the street curb 
and property line. Each meter box or vault will be provided with a suitable cover. 

Where additional meters are installed by the Utility or relocated for the convenience of the 
customer, the actual cost incurred for any meter relocation requested by the customer will be 
assessed. 

The Utility shall have the right to set meters or other devices for the detection and prevention 
of fraud or waste without notice to the customer. 

Each customer shall provide the Utility with regular access to the meter on the customer's 
property. For example, access is not provided if a meter is blocked by barriers including vehicles, 
fences, rocks, bushes, trees or other objects. Failure to permit access at reasonable times and 
after reasonable notice by the Utility requesting access is grounds for disconnection. (OAR 860-
036-1500). In general, 24" is considered sufficient clearance from obstacles to allow meter 
access. 

Should damage result to the meter from molesting, tampering, or willful neglect on the part of the 
customer, the Utility shall repair or replace the meter and may bill the customer for the reasonable 
cost. 
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Rule 19: Meter Testing (OAR 860-036-1350) 

The meter will be tested prior to or within 30 days of installation to determine it is accurate to 
register not more than two percent error. No meter will be allowed to remain in service if it 
registers an error in excess of two percent (fast or slow) under normal operating conditions. The 
Utility will maintain a record of all meter tests and results. Meter test result records will include: 

A. Meter identification number and location; 
B. Reason for making the test; 
C. Method of testing; 
D. The beginning and ending meter readings; 
E. Test results and conclusion; and 
F. All data taken at the time of the test. 

Rule 20: Customer-Requested Meter Test (OAR 860-036-1360) 

A customer may request that the Utility test the service meter once every 12 months at no cost. 
Such test shall be made within seven calendar days of the receipt of the request unless the 
customer fails to provide the Utility reasonable access to the meter. The customer or the 
customer's representative has the right to be present during the test, which is to be scheduled at a 
mutually agreeable time. Within seven calendar days of performing the requested meter test, 
report shall be provided to the customer stating: 

A. The name of the customer requesting the test and the service address where the meter 
was tested; 

B. The date the meter test was requested and the date the meter test was performed; 
C. The name of the person performing the test; 
D. The meter identification number and location; 
E. The beginning and ending meter readings; and 
F. The actual test results and conclusion. 

If a customer requests a meter test more often than once in any 12-month period, and the test 
results indicate that the meter is registering within the two percent performance standard, the 
customer may be assessed a reasonable charge for the test if the charge is included in the 
Miscellaneous Service Charges Schedule. If the meter registers outside the two percent 
performance standard, the Utility may not charge the customer for the meter test. 
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BILLING 

Rule 21: Billing Information and Late-Payment Charge (OAR 860-036 1100(2), 1400, and 1430) 

All bills, including closing bills, are due and payable at the Utility office within at least 15 days 
when rendered by deposit in the mail or other reasonable means of delivery, unless otherwise 
specified on the bill. The date of presentation is the date on which the Utility mails the bill. 

As near as practical, meters shall be read (check one)~ monthly, D bimonthly, or 
D quarterly on the corresponding day of each meter reading or billing period. The bill will be 
rendered immediately thereafter. The Utility will provide its customers with timely billings every 
month or as indicated in its tariffs or statement of rates. 

All water service bills will show: 

A. Separate line items for past due balance, payments and credits, new charges, late fees, 
and total account balance; 

B. The date new charges are due; 
C. Calculation of new charges including base or flat rate, usage billing tiers and rates, 

beginning and ending meter readings, the dates the meter was read, rate schedule, billing 
period, and number of days in the billing period; 

D. The date any late payment charge was applied and an explanation of the terms of the late 
payment charge; and 

E. Any other information necessary for the computation of the bill. 

A late-payment charge may be assessed against any account that has an unpaid balance when 
the next bill is being prepared. The charge will be computed on the delinquent balance owing at 
the time of preparing the subsequent month's bill at the late-payment rate specified in the 
Miscellaneous Service Charges Schedule. The late-payment rate is determined annually by the 
Commission, and the Utility will be notified of the rate. 

If an account is permitted to become delinquent, the Utility may disconnect water service by giving 
proper notice to the customer as provided in Rules 28 & 29, prior to or after the Utility assesses 
the late payment charge. 

Rule 22: Returned Payment Charge 

The Returned Payment Charge listed on the Miscellaneous Service Charges Schedule shall be 
billed for each occasion a customer submits any type of noncash payment (check, debit, 
electronic, etc.) that is not honored, for any reason, by a bank or other financial institution. 
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Rule 22A: Master Meter with Memo Bill 

A customer under special agreement with the Utility may be metered with a master 
meter. The master meter customer will be responsible for total payment of the master meter 
water bill. 

The Utility will read the sub-meters and send memo bills to the master meter customer 
and sub-metered tenants. Memo bills are not official bills from the Utility. A memo bill 
shows the sub-metered tenants' individual water consumption and the Utility's applicable 
rate for use by the master meter customer when collecting payments from sub-metered 
tenants. 

The total aggregate monthly base charges of all sub-metered accounts shall not exceed the 
total aggregate monthly base charge of the master meter serving sub metered accounts. 
There will be a monthly charge for readying and preparing a memo bill for each sub-meter as 
indicated in Schedule No. 4, Miscellaneous Service Charges. This monthly charge will be the 
responsibility of the master meter customer. 

Rule 23: Prorating of Bills 

Initial and final bills will be prorated according to the number of days service was rendered and on 
the basis of a 31-day month. For metered services, a reasonable effort will be made to read the 
meter upon opening and closing a customer's account. Consumption will be charged 
at scheduled rates. Any minimum monthly charge will be prorated. 

Rule 24: Adjustment of Bills (OAR 860-036-1440) 

When an overbilling occurs, the Utility will refund or credit amounts incorrectly collected. No 
refund or credit will be issued for incorrect billings which occurred more than three years before 
the incorrect billing was discovered. 

When an underbilling occurs, the Utility will issue a bill to collect amounts owing for the 12-month 
period ending on the date on which the water utility issued the last incorrect bill. When such under 
collected amounts are billed to customers, the Utility will provide written notice to the customer 
detailing: 

A. The circumstances and time period of the billing error; 
B. The corrected bill amount and the amount of the necessary adjustment; 
C. The Commission's consumer complaint process; and 
D. The right for a current or former customer to enter into a time-payment agreement with the 

Utility. 
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The Utility will not bill for services provided more than two years before the underbilling was 
discovered. No billing adjustment will be required if a meter registers less than two percent error 
under conditions of normal operation. The Utility may waive rebilling or issuing a refund check 
when the costs make such action uneconomical. 

Rule 25: Transfer Billings (OAR 860-036-1450) 

If the Utility determines that a customer owes an amount from a closed account the customer 
previously held with the Utility, the Utility may transfer the closed account balance to the 
customer's current account. 

The Utility will give the customer prior notice of the transfer, including: 

A. The amount due under the prior account; and 
B. The period when the balance was incurred; and 
C. The service address under which the bill was incurred. 

If the customer has an amount remaining on an existing time-payment agreement, the customer 
may enter into a new time-payment agreement to include the transfer. The Utility will not transfer 
a balance owing on a non-residential account to a residential account. 

This rule also applies to customers who change service locations, and who applied for the new 
service within 20 days of closing the prior account (thereby retaining customer status). 

DISCONNECTION OF WATER SERVICE 

Rule 26: Voluntary Discontinuance (OAR 860-036-1560) 

A customer requesting disconnection of service must provide the Utility with at least seven 
calendar days' advance notice. The customer is responsible for all service provided for seven 
calendar days following the request for disconnection or until service is disconnected, whichever 
comes first; or if the customer identified a specific date for disconnection in excess of seven 
calendar days, the customer is responsible for service rendered up to and including the requested 
date of disconnection. 

Rates are based on continuous service. Disconnect and reconnect transactions do not relieve a 
customer from the obligation to pay the base rate or minimum charge that accumulates during the 
period of time the service is voluntarily disconnected for up to 12 months. Should the customer 
wish to recommence service within 12 months at the same premise, the customer will be required 
to pay the accumulated minimum monthly charge or base rate as if service had been continuous. 
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The reconnection charge listed on the Miscellaneous Service Charges Schedule will be applicable 
at the time of reconnection. 

Nothing in this rule prevents the Utility from temporarily interrupting service to protect the health 
and safety of its customers or to maintain the integrity of its system. 

Rule 27: Emergency Disconnection (OAR 860-036-1630) 

The Utility may terminate service in emergencies when life or property is endangered without 
following the procedures set forth in OAR 860-036-1630. Immediately thereafter, the Utility will 
notify the customer and the Commission. When the emergency termination was through no fault 
of the customer, the Utility shall not charge the customer for disconnection or restoration of 
service. 

Rule 28: Disconnection of Water Service Charge for Cause (OAR 860-036-1500, -1510, -1520, -
1530. and 1550) 

The Utility may disconnect service when: 

A. A customer fails to pay charges due for services rendered under a water utility tariff or 
statement of rates; 

B. A customer fails to pay a deposit, fails to timely provide a surety under 
OAR 860 036-1230 or comply with its terms, or fails to comply with the terms of a deposit 
installment agreement under OAR 860-036-1240; 

C. A customer fails to comply by the terms of a payment agreement under 
OAR 860 036-1240(3) or 860-036-1420; 

D. A customer provides false identification to establish or to continue service; 
E. A customer has facilities that do not comply with the applicable codes, rules, regulations, or 

the best practices governing safe and adequate water service, including compliance with 
the water utility's Cross Connection Control Program; 

F. A customer fails to provide reasonable access to the meter or premises; 
G. A customer tampers with water utility facilities or engages in theft of service or unauthorized 

use of water; 
H. A customer fails to comply with water restriction requirements under OAR 860-036-1670; or 
I. The Commission approves the disconnection of service. 

If the disconnection is due to failure to pay a deposit, secure a surety agreement, abide by a 
deposit installment agreement, abide by the terms of a payment arrangement, or due to the theft 
of service, tampering with utility property, diverting water, or unauthorized use of water, the Utility 
will provide one 7-day written disconnection notice prior to disconnection. For other 
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disconnections, the Utility will provide two written notices in advance of disconnection: one 
15-day notice and one 7-day notice. 

If the disconnection is due to a customer's failure to comply with a water use restriction imposed 
under OAR 860-036-1670, the utility may disconnect the customer without issuing either a 15-
calendar day or 7 calendar day disconnection notice. 

The notices shall include: 

A. The name, mailing address, telephone number, emergency telephone number, and email 
address or website of the Utility, 

B. State that the customer's water service is subject to disconnection on or after a specific 
date; 

C. Provide the grounds for the proposed disconnection; 
D. State what actions the customer must take in order to avoid disconnection; and 
E. A statement that the customer may dispute the disconnection by contacting the 

Commission's Consumer Services Section. 

If the disconnection notice is for nonpayment, the notice shall also include: 

A. The amount the customer must pay to avoid disconnection; 
B. Provide information about the customer's eligibility for a time-payment agreement provided 

in OAR 860-036-1420 for residential customers, unless the customer is being disconnected 
for failing to comply with an existing time-payment agreement or has engaged in theft of 
service, tampering with utility property, diverting water, or unauthorized use of water; and; 
and 

C. A statement that once service is disconnected, the water utility will reconnect service only 
after the customer reapplies for service and pays all applicable charges. 

The ?-calendar day and 15-calendar day advance written notices of disconnection will be hand­
delivered in person to the customer or adult at the premises, or sent by the US Mail to the 
customer's billing address and designated representative. Mailed notices are considered served 
two calendar days after deposited in the US Mail, excluding Sundays and postal holidays. If the 
customer has requested to receive notices electronically, the Utility will provide an electronic 
notice in addition to the written notices. 

Within 48 hours of disconnection, the Utility will make a good-faith effort to contact the customer or 
an adult at the residence and provide notice of the proposed disconnection. If contact is not 
made, the Utility shall leave a notice in a conspicuous place at the customer's premise informing 
the customer that service has been disconnected. 
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Disconnection of Water Service to Tenants: 

A. If a water utility's records show that a residential billing address is different from the service 
address, the water utility must mail a duplicate notice to the service address, unless the 
utility has verified that the service address is occupied by the customer. 

B. If a water utility's records show that the service location is a master-metered, multi-dwelling 
service address, the water utility must provide a duplicate of the ?-calendar day 
disconnection notice to each unit at the service address. The disconnection notice must be 
addressed to "Tenant." The envelope must bear a bold notice stating, "IMPORTANT 
NOTICE REGARDING DISCONNECTION OF WATER UTILITY SERVICE." Tenant 
notices may not include the dollar amount owing. 

C. The water utility must notify the Consumer Services Section at least seven calendar days 
before disconnecting service to a master-metered, multi-dwelling premise. 

Time Payment Agreements (OAR 860-036-1420) 

Customers who are notified of pending disconnection, due to reasons other than theft of service, 
tampering, unauthorized use of water, or failure to abide by the terms of a Time Payment Plan, 
may choose between two Time Payment Agreement options. The Utility will offer such customers 
a choice of a levelized-payment plan and an equal-pay arrearage plan. 

The Utility and customer may mutually agree to an alternate payment arrangement provided it be 
in writing and signed by all parties. 

Disconnection for Failure to Comply With a Time Payment Agreement 
( OAR 860-036-1510( 4 )(b)) 

A time-payment agreement disconnection occurs when a customer fails to comply with the terms 
of a written time-payment agreement between the customer and the Utility, or the Utility permits a 
time-payment agreement charge to become delinquent. The Utility will give the customer a 
7- day written notice before the water service may be disconnected. 

Issue Date / Filing Date 

Issued By Utility 

Advice No. 23-1 

I Effective for Service on or after I September 1, 2023 

SALMON VALLEY WATER COMPANY 

APPENDIX A 
Page 29 of62 



Attachment B 

PUC Oregon No. 5 
ORDER NO. 23-317 

Original Sheet No. 22 

Rule 29: Disconnection, Reconnection and Field Visit Charge (OAR 860-036-1580) 

Disconnection and Reconnection Charges 
When service was disconnected pursuant to (OAR 860-036-1500), the Utility may charge the 
disconnect fee and reconnect fee stated in its tariff prior to reconnecting service. 

Field Visit Charge 
The Utility may assess a field visit charge whenever the Utility visits a residential service address 
intending to reconnect or disconnect service, but due to customer action, the Utility is unable to 
complete the reconnection or disconnection at the time of the visit. The field visit charge is listed 
in the tariff. 

Rule 30: Unauthorized Restoration of Service (OAR 860-036-1590) 

After the water has been disconnected or shut off at the curb stop or at the meter, if any person 
not authorized by the Utility should turn it on, the water service line may be disconnected as 
provided by OAR 860-036-1500. 

Rule 31: Unauthorized Use (OAR 860-036-1590) 

No person shall be allowed to make connection to the Utility mains, or to make any alteration to 
service connections, or to turn a curb stop off or on to any premises without written permission of 
the Utility. If the Utility discovers that a customer tampered with or engaged in unauthorized use 
of utility property facilities, the Utility shall notify the customer of the violations and may take one or 
more of the following actions: 

A. Repair or restore the facilities and charge the customer the costs incurred; 
B. Adjust the customer's prior billing for loss of revenue under applicable tariffs or schedule of 

rates; 
C. Initiate a service disconnection as provided by OAR 860-036-151 O; 
D. Require a new application for service that accurately reflects the customer's proposed 

water use; and 
E. Assess a deposit for restored or continued service. 

Rule 32: Interruption of Service (OAR 860-036-1630, -1640) 

The Utility may perform an unscheduled interruption of service as necessary to protect the health 
and safety of its customers or to maintain the integrity of its system. If an unscheduled interruption 
of service is required, the water utility must: 
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A. Make a reasonable effort to notify the customers affected and the Consumer Services 
Section in advance of the interruption; 

B. Report the unscheduled interruption to the Consumer Services Section at the contact 
information provided in OAR 860-001-0020(2), and 

C. Restore service as soon as it is reasonably possible after resolving the issue, unless other 
arrangements are agreed to by the affected customers. 

The Utility may schedule water service interruptions for maintenance and repairs in such a 
manner that reasonably minimizes customer inconvenience. The Utility will provide advance 
written notice to all customers affected by any scheduled service interruption, and will post the 
notice in the utility's office and on its website, if available. The notice will include: 

A. The name, mailing address, telephone number, emergency telephone number, and email 
address or website of the Utility; 

B. The date, time, and estimated duration of the scheduled interruption; 
C. The purpose of the interruption; 
D. A statement cautioning customers to avoid using water during service interruptions to 

prevent debris in the customers' service lines; and 
E. The contact information for the Consumer Services Section provided in 

OAR 860 001-0020(2). 

Notices of scheduled interruptions of service must be served by a door hanger or personal 
delivery to an adult at the affected premises at least five calendar days in advance of the service 
interruption or by US Mail at least ten calendar days prior to the service interruption. 
In addition electronic notice must be provided to customers who requested to receive notices 
electronically. 

Rule 33: Water Usage Restrictions (OAR 860-036-1670) 

The Utility shall exercise due diligence to furnish a continuous and adequate supply of water to its 
customers. During times of water shortage, the Utility will equitably apportion its available water 
supply among its customers with regard to public health and safety. In times of water shortages, 
the Utility may restrict water usage after providing written notice to its customers and the 
Consumer Services Section. Notice will also be posted in the Utility's office and on its website, if 
available. The notification must state the reason and nature of the restrictions, the date restrictions 
will become effective, the estimated date the restrictions end, and that failure to comply with the 
restrictions is grounds for disconnection. 

If a customer fails to comply with the water restrictions after receiving written notification, the Utility 
will provide a separate written warning letter to the customer including: 
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A. The date; 
B. The name, mailing address, telephone number, emergency telephone number, and email 

address or website of the Utility; 
C. The customer's name, account number, mailing address, service address if different; 
D. The water use restrictions and statement of how the customer is violating those restrictions; 
E. A statement that the customer's water service is subject to disconnection on or after a 

specific date; 
F. A warning to the customer that failure to immediately comply with the restrictions may result 

in disconnection of service; and 
G. A statement that the customer may dispute disconnection by contacting the Consumer 

Services Section. The notice must include the Consumer Services Section's contact 
information provided in OAR 860-001-0020(2). 

If a customer fails to comply with the water restrictions after receiving written notification and the 
warning letter, the Utility will consult with the Consumer Services Section to determine if 
disconnection is appropriate. 

Rule 33A: Damages/Tampering 

Should damage result to any of the Utility's property from molesting or willful neglect by the 
customer, the Utility will repair or 
replace such equipment and will bill the customer as per Schedule 3. 

SERVICE QUALITY 

Rule 34: Adequacy of Water Service (OAR 860-036-1600) 

The Utility will maintain its facilities according to industry rules, regulations, and standards and in 
such condition to provide safe, adequate, and continuous service to its customers. 

The Utility will not intentionally diminish the quality of service below the level that can reasonably 
be provided by its facilities. 
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Rule 35: Trouble Call 

The trouble-call charge listed on the Miscellaneous Service Charges Schedule may be billed 
whenever a customer requests that the Utility visit the customer's premises to disconnect or 
reconnect service to remedy a service problem and the problem is due to the customer's facilities. 

Rule 36: Water Purity (OAR 860-036-1610) 

The Utility will provide a domestic water supply that is free from bodily injurious physical elements 
and disease-producing bacteria and reasonably free from elements that cause physical damage to 
customer property, including but not limited to pipes, valves, appliances, and personal property. 

Rule 37: Water Pressure (OAR 860-036-1650) 

The Utility will maintain adequate water pressure. In general, water pressure measuring between 
45 and 80 pounds per square inch in the water mains is considered adequate. However, 
adequate pressure may vary depending on each individual water system. 

The Utility may temporarily reduce or increase water pressure for fire flows, noticed repairs and 
maintenance, scheduled or emergency flushing, and unscheduled or emergency repairs and 
outages. 

Rule 38: Pressure Surveys (OAR 860-036-1650) 

The Utility will maintain permanent pressure recording gauges at various locations to measure the 
system's water pressure, and will have a portable gauge to measure water pressure in any part of 
the system. The Utility will maintain all pressure gauges in good operating condition, test 
periodically for accuracy, and recalibrate or replace when necessary. 

Rule 39: Customer-Requested Pressure Test (OAR 860-036-1660) 

Upon customer request, the Utility will perform a water pressure test within seven calendar days 
of the request. The first pressure test in any 12- month period will be at no charge. If the 
customer requests an additional pressure test within any 12-month period at the same premises, 
the Utility will assess the customer a charge in accordance with the service charges set forth in 
Schedule 4 of the tariff. The pressure will be measured at a point adjacent to the meter on the 
customer service line or other reasonable point most likely to reflect the actual service pressure. 

The Utility will provide a written report to the customer within seven calendar days of the pressure 
test. The report will include: 
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A. The name, mailing address, telephone number, emergency telephone number, and email 
address or website of the Utility; 

B. The customer's name and service address where the pressure was tested; 
C. The date the pressure test was requested and the date the pressure test was performed; 
D. The name of the company or employee performing the test; 
E. The place where the pressure was measured; 
F. The actual pressure reading; and 
G. The conclusion based on the test result. 

Rule 40: Utility Line Location (One Call Program) 

The Utility and its customers will comply with the requirements of OAR 952-001-0010 through 
and including OAR 952-001-0090 (One Call Program) regarding identification and notification 
of underground facilities. 

Rule 41: Cross Connection/Backflow Prevention Program (OAR 860-036-1680) 

All customers must comply with the Utility's Cross Connection Control Program to protect the 
water system from contamination. A customer's failure to comply is grounds for disconnection 
under OAR 860-036-1500. 

The Utility will comply with the rules and regulations for the Cross Connection/Backflow Prevention 
Program, as provided in ORS Chapter 333 and the Utility's approved Backflow Prevention tariff or 
statement of rates. 

Inspections will be made by certified personnel where there is a reasonable cause to believe 
that a cross connection or a potential cross connection exists on the customer's premise. 

A customer that has another water supply that cross connects with the Utility's system or 
has conditions that present the possibility of contamination or pollution to the Utility's water supply 
must either eliminate the cross connection or install a cross connection control 
device (device). 

The device and its installation or the elimination of the cross connection shall be in accordance 
with standard practices pertaining to cross connection control approved by the Oregon Health 
Authority and the National Safe Drinking Water Act. 

The entire cost of the installation and equipment will be at the expense of the customer. Any 
corrective measure, disconnection, or change on the customer's property shall be at the sole 
expense of the person in control of said property. 
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The Utility will regulate the location, installation and testing of all devices. The Utility will inspect 
the installation prior to providing water service. The annual testing of the device shall be by 
licensed/certified personnel. All devices in service must be tested annually. 

The Utility will determine the frequency of testing based upon the severity of the hazard. 
Customer failure to install, maintain, and test the device as required are grounds for 
disconnection of water service. 
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SCHEDULE NO. 1 

RESIDENTIAL, COMMERCIAL AND MULTI-FAMILY METERED RATES 

Available: To customers of the Utility at Welches, Oregon, and vicinity. 

Applicable: To residential, commercial and multi-family customers. 

Base Rate 
SERVICE METER SIZE MONTHLY BASE RA TE USAGE ALLOWANCE 

5/8 inch or 3/4 inch $52.27 0 

1 inch $99.98 0 

1½ inches $203.36 0 

2inches $960.38 0 

C ammo 1:y sage R t ae 
COMMODITY RA TE NO. OF UNITS MEASURING UNIT 

$4.313 Per Unit 1 unit = 100 cubic feet 

Special Provisions: 

1. These rates are based on continuous service. Discontinuation of service may not be 
employed to avoid monthly charges for service. See Rule No. 26, Voluntary Discontinuance. 

2. Water used during the construction of buildings, etc., shall be metered. Charges shall be 
made at the rates specified in this schedule. When setting of a meter is impracticable, the 
amount of water used shall be estimated, and the charges shall be made at specified rates 
for the amounts so estimated. 

3. Multi-family customers' monthly water service charge will be assessed at the number of units 
served times the monthly base rate plus the commodity charge. Example: If the premise 
serves 8 units, the base charge will be 8 times the base rate plus the commodity charge 
applied to the amount of water usage. 
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NON-METERED FLAT RATES 

Available: To customers of the Utility at Welches, Oregon, and vicinity. 

Applicable: To non-metered flat rate customers. 

FLAT RATES 

MONTHLY FLAT RATE 

$86.48 

Special Provisions: 

Attachment B 

Original Sheet No. 4 

1. These rates are based on continuous service. Discontinuation of service may not be 
employed to avoid monthly charges for service. See Rule No. 26, Voluntary Discontinuance. 

2. Water used during the construction of buildings, etc., shall also be billed at the applicable flat 
rate shown above. 
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SCHEDULE NO. 3 

RATES FOR COMMERCIAL WATER HAULERS 

AVAILABLE: To commercial water haulers where the Utility's facilities and excess capacity exist. 
Determination of adequacy of facilities and capacity is in the sole discretion of the Utility. 
Each commercial water truck must be inspected by the Utility and be equipped with a 
suitable hydrant meter, suitable backflow prevention devices, and a fire hydrant wrench. 

APPLICABLE: To all commercial water haulers. 

COMMERCIAL WATER HAULERS RATE 

$4.313 per 100 cubic feet 

SPECIAL PROVISIONS: 

1. Truck meters must be presented at the Utility's office between the 1st and the 5th of 
each month. Bills for service are due in accordance with the tariff. Failure to present 
meter in accordance with this provision will be considered grounds for termination of 
service under Rule 18 of this Tariff. 

2. Commercial water haulers detected not using meters or proper equipment may be 
denied service for one month for the first offense, and denied service completely for 
a second offense. 

3. Commercial water haulers shall fill only from designated hydrants at designated times 
that have been determined by the Utility to have excess capacity. Failure to comply 
with this requirement will be considered grounds for termination of service. 

4. Continued use of the Utility's facilities following termination of service shall be 
considered theft of services under OAR 860-036-1590. 
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SCHEDULE NO. 4 

MISCELLANEOUS SERVICE CHARGES 

This schedule lists the miscellaneous charges included in the Utility's Rules and Regulations; refer 
to the appropriate Rules for an explanation of charges and conditions under which they apply. 

Connection Charge for New Service (Rule Nos. 8 & 9) 
Standard ¾-inch service 
Nonstandard ¾-inch service 
Larger than ¾-inch 
Irrigation hookup (if provided on separate system) 

At cost 
At cost 
At cost 
At cost 

Reading Submeters & Preparing Memo Bill (Rule No. 22A) $10.00 

Meter Test (Rule Nos. 19 & 20) 
First test within 12-month period 
Second test within 12-month period 

Pressure Test (Rule No. 39) 
First test within 12-month period 
Second test within 12-month period 

Late-Payment Charge (Rule No. 21) 

Deposit for Service (Rule No. 5) 

Returned-Check Charge (Rule No. 22) 

Trouble-Call Charge (Rule No. 35) 
During normal office hours 
After normal office hours on special request 

Disconnection/Reconnect Charge (Rule Nos. 28 & 29) 
During normal office hours 
After normal office hours on special request 

Unauthorized Restoration of Service (Rule No. 30) 

Damage/Tampering Charge (Rule No. 33A) 

Disconnect Site-Visit Charge (Rule No. 29) 

N/C 
$25.00 

N/C 
$25.00 

Pursuant to OAR 860-036-1430 

Pursuant to OAR 860-036-1220 

$20.00 

$25.00 per hour 
$35.00 per hour 

$25.00 
$35.00 

Disconnection/Reconnection 
charge plus costs 

At cost 

$20.00 
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Schedule No. 5 is an "Automatic Adjustment Clause" as defined in ORS 757.210. 
It is subject to review by the Commission at least once every two years. 

PURPOSE: To define procedures for periodic revision in rates due to changes in the 
Utility's purchased commodity power cost, to describe how a rate change for 
purchased commodity power cost is calculated, and identify any other 
requirements. 

APPLICABLE: The commodity power cost adjustment applies to the following schedules 
contained in the Utility's tariffs: Schedules 1 and 3. 

Changes under the applicable schedules are subject to increases or decreases that may be 
made without prior hearing to reflect the changes in the Utility's purchased power costs 
resulting from adjustments in the rate of the Utility's power suppliers. Such adjustments may 
be shown in the applicable rate schedules or may be incorporated directly in the applicable 
rate schedules. 

The Utility may file purchased power cost adjustments periodically to be effective upon the 
date its power suppliers implement rate changes. If the Utility chooses to file for power cost 
increases, it is obligated to file for decreases in power costs. 
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RULES AND REGULATIONS 

Rule 1: Jurisdiction of the Commission 

Water systems are subject to regulation as provided under ORS Chapter 757 

Rule 2: Definitions 

A. "Applicant" means a person who does not meet the definition of a customer, who applies for 
service with a water utility. 

B. "Commission" shall mean the Public Utility Commission of Oregon. 

C. "Commercial service" means water service provided by the water utility that the customer 
uses in the promotion of a business or business product that is a source of revenue or 
income to the customer or others using the premises. 

D. "Customer" means a person who is currently receiving water service and is entitled to certain 
rights as a customer under these rules. A residential customer retains customer status for 20 
calendar days following voluntary disconnection of service and must be treated as a 
customer if he or she reapplies for service within that 20 calendar day period. 

E. "Customer's service line" is defined as the facilities used to convey water from the point of 
connection to the customer's point of usage. The customer owns and maintains the customer 
service line. 

F. "Residential service" means water service provided for domestic or irrigation purposes in a 
residential area and is not considered a commercial service. 

G. "Served" for purpose of delivery of any required notice or document, unless otherwise 
specifically noted, means: delivered in person, by personal contact over the telephone, or in 
writing delivered to the party's last known address. If delivered by US Mail, the notice is 
considered served two calendar days after the date postmarked, the date of postage 
metering, or deposit in the US Mail, excluding Sundays and postal holidays. 

H. "Utility" shall mean: SALMON VALLEY WATER COMPANY, INC. 

I. "Water service connection" is defined as the facilities used to connect a water utility's 
distribution network to the point of connection at the customer's service line. The water utility 
owns and maintains the water service connection. 
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APPLICATION FOR SERVICE 

Rule 3: Information for Applicants and Customers (OAR 860-036-1100) 

The Utility shall provide or be able to provide customers or applicants with the following 
information: 

A. A copy of its approved tariffs or statement of rates; 
B. A copy of the utility's rules and regulations applicable to the type of service being 

provided; and 
C. The option to receive electronic copies of all written notices to be issued on the 

customer's account. 

Rule 4: Application for Service (OAR 860-036-1200) 

Application for water service must be made for each individual property to be served. The 
application shall identify the name of the applicant, the service address, the billing address, the 
contact information where the applicant can be reached, the type of water service requested and 
its intended use, and the name to be used to identify the account, if different than the applicant's 
actual name. The applicant shall, at this time, pay any scheduled fees or deposits. An 
application is a request for service and shall not be accepted until the applicant establishes 
credit as set forth in OAR 860-036-1210. 

An application for service must be made where: 

A. An applicant, who has not previously been served by the Utility, requests service; or 
B. Service has been involuntarily discontinued in accordance with the Utility and 

Commission rules, and service is requested; or 
C. Service has been voluntarily discontinued and a request to restore service has not been 

made within 20 days; or 
D. There is a change in the type of use to which the water is put, or the number of 

premises served. 

Rule 5: Establishment of Credit, Surety Agreements, Deposits, Interest, and Refunds of 
Deposits (OAR 860-036-1210, 1220, 1230, 1240, 1250, and 1260) 

The utility may require an applicant or customer to pay a deposit as a guarantee of payment for 
services provided. Amounts held by a water utility may not exceed one-sixth of the actual or 
estimated annual billing for the premises. (OAR 860-036-1220) 
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The water utility may adjust the deposit amount when a customer moves to a new location within 
the water utility's service area, and the anticipated bill at the new residence will be at least 20 
percent greater than the basis of the existing deposit. (OAR 860-036-1220(5)) 

The Utility must inform any residential applicant or customer who is required to pay a deposit of 
the opportunity to provide a written surety agreement in lieu of paying the deposit. A surety 
agreement obligates another qualifying residential customer of the same utility to pay an amount 
up to the required deposit if the secured account is later disconnected and a balance remains 
owing following the due date for the closing charges. To qualify as a surety, the other residential 
customer must have had 12 months of continuous service with the Utility without a late payment. 
(OAR 860-036-1230) 

The Utility shall pay interest on deposits at the rate established by the Commission. After the 
customer has paid its water service bills for 12 consecutive months without having had service 
discontinued for nonpayment, or did not have more than two occasions in which a shut-off notice 
was issued, and the customer is not then delinquent in the payment of bills, the Utility shall 
promptly and automatically refund the deposit plus accrued interest by (check one) 
(OAR 860-036-1250 and 1260): 

D 1. Issuing the customer a refund check, or 
[8:12. Crediting the customer's account; however, a customer is entitled to a refund upon 

request pursuant to OAR 860-036-1260 

Rule 6: Customer Service Line (OAR 860-036-1300(2)) 

The customer shall own and maintain the customer service line and promptly repair all breaks 
and leaks. For non-metered service, the customer service line begins at the property line or 
utility-owned shut-off valve. For metered service, the customer service line begins on the 
customer's side of the meter or utility-owned shut-off valve. The Utility shall not be responsible 
for any damage or poor service due to inadequacy of the customer service line or any portion of 
the customer's plumbing. All leaks in the customer service line, faucets, and all other parts of 
the plumbing owned or controlled by the customer shall be promptly repaired so as not to waste 
water. 

Rule 7: Separate Control of Service 

All premises supplied with water will be served through service lines so placed as to enable the 
Utility to control the supply to each individual premise using a valve placed within and near the 
line of the street, the Utility right-of-way, or at the meter. 
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Rule 8: Water Service Connections (OAR 860-036-1300) 

The water service connection is defined as the facilities used to connect the Utility's distribution 
network to the point of connection at the customer's service line. The Utility owns, operates, 
maintains, and replaces the service connection when necessary and promptly repairs all breaks 
and leaks. The customer shall not be responsible for any damage or poor service due 
to inadequacy of the Utility's service lines or any portion of the Utility's plumbing. 

Rule 9: Service Connection Charge (OAR 860-036-1300(3)) 

An applicant requesting permanent water service to a premise not previously supplied with 
permanent service by the Utility may be required to pay the cost of the service connection, 
including or excluding the meter as provided in Rule No. 8 and the Utility's Miscellaneous 
Service Charges in this tariff. 

Rule 10: Main Line Extension Policy (OAR 860-036-1310) 

A main line extension is defined as the extension of the Utility's main line necessary to provide 
service to a customer when the property does not currently have main line frontage. 

The Utility shall specify the size, character, and location of pipes and appurtenances in any main 
line extension. Main line extensions shall normally be along streets, roads, highways, or other 
satisfactory rights-of-way. All construction work shall conform to all applicable rules, regulations, 
codes, and industry standards. Each main line extension shall normally extend along applicant's 
property line to the point the applicant's service line would be at a 90-degree angle to the street 
or main line. 

Main line extension charges, if any, are stated in the Utility's tariff or statement of rates. 

The Utility maintains a main line extension policy that lists all applicable charges; and describes 
the advance and refund provisions, including a description of the mechanisms for collecting and 
rebating the amount charged equitably among the customers who paid for the cost of the line, 
and provides the time period during which the advance and rebate provisions apply. 

Rule 1 0A: Main Line Advances and Refunds Policy 

Each new customer requesting a main line extension shall advance the Utility the cost-based 
amount necessary to extend the main line to provide service. For a period of five years after 
construction of the requested main line extension, the Utility shall also collect from any additional 
applicants whose connect to the main line extension an amount per foot equal to the new 
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applicant's proportionate share of the main line extension cost for that portion used. The Utility 
will then refund the share differential amount to those customers who previously shared the cost 
of said main line extension. Refunds shall not exceed the amount originally advanced. 

No part of the distribution system installed prior to the request for a main line extension shall 
be used to calculate any customer advance or refund. 

Rule 11 : Types of Use 

Water service may be supplied for residential, commercial, irrigation, temporary construction, 
special contracts, fire prevention, and other uses. The Utility shall file separate rate schedules 
for each type of use and basis of supply. 

Rule 12: Multiple Residences/Commercial Users 

An apartment building, mobile home park, motel, trailer camp, duplex, townhouse, or any 
property consisting of more than one residential/commercial unit, if served through one service 
line, shall be considered to be equivalent to the number of dwelling units when determining the 
customer count. 

Rule 13: Utility Access to Private Property (OAR 860-036-1370, -1500) 

Customers shall provide regular access to Utility-owned service lines that may extend onto the 
customer's premises for the purposes of reading meters, maintenance, inspections, or removal 
of Utility property at the time service is to be discontinued. Where the customer does 
not cooperate in providing reasonable access to the meter or to the premises, as required by law 
or to determine if a health or safety hazard exists, it is grounds for disconnection. 

Rule 14: Restriction on Entering a Customer Residence (OAR 860-036-1330) 

No Utility employee shall enter the residence of its customers without proper authorization 
except in an emergency when life or property is endangered. 

REFUSAL OF SERVICE 

Rule 15: Refusal of Service Due to Customer Accounts (OAR 860-036-1270) 

The Utility may refuse to provide service if: 

A. The applicant has amounts owing under a tariff or statement of rates; or 
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B. The applicant for residential service has a roommate with amounts owing under a tariff or 
statement of rates, and the applicant lived with the roommate at the time the amounts 
owing were incurred. 

Exception: If the applicant for residential service was a former residential customer with 
amounts owing, was involuntarily disconnected for non-payment, and applies for service within 
20 calendar days of the disconnection, the Utility must provide service upon receipt of one-half of 
the amount owed with the remainder due within 30 calendar days. If the former customer fails to 
pay the remaining amounts within 30 calendar days, the Utility may disconnect service after 
issuing a 7-calendarday disconnection notice in accordance with OAR 860-036-1510(4). 

If service is disconnected, the Utility may refuse to restore service until it receives full payment of 
all amounts owing, including reconnection charges allowed under OAR 860-036-1580. 

Service shall not be refused for matters not related to water service. 

Residential service shall not be refused due to obligations connected with nonresidential service. 
If service is refused under this rule, the Utility shall inform the applicant or customer of the 
reasons for the refusal and of the Commission's dispute resolution process. 

Rule 16: Refusal of Service Due to Utility Facilities (OAR 860-036-1270) 

The Utility shall not accept an application for service or materially change service to a customer 
if the Utility does not have adequate facilities, resources or capacity to render the service applied 
for, or if the desired service is of a character that is likely to unfavorably affect reasonable 
service to other customers. 

For refusal of service under this rule, the Utility shall provide a written letter of refusal to the 
applicant within seven calendar days, informing applicant that the details upon which the Utility's 
decision was based may be requested. 

The details will include, but not be limited to: 

A. Provide the information required by OAR 860-036-1100(2); 
B. Explain the specific reasons for refusing water service; 
C. Inform the applicant of the right to request details upon which the Utility's decision was 

based;and 
D. Inform the applicant of the right to dispute the refusal by contacting the Consumer 

Services Section at the contact information provided in OAR 860-001-0020(2). 
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Rule 17: Refusal of Service Due to Customer Facilities (OAR 860-036-1270) 

The Utility will refuse service to an applicant whose facilities do not comply with applicable 
plumbing codes or, if in the best judgment of the Utility, are of such a character that safe and 
satisfactory service cannot be given. 

If service is refused under this rule, the Utility will provide written notification to the applicant 
within seven calendar days stating the reason(s) for refusal and providing information regarding 
the Commission's complaint process. 

METERS 

Rule 18: Utility Meters (OAR 860-036-1350) 

The Utility purchases, owns, maintains, and operates all meters. Meters placed in service will be 
adequate in size and design for the type of service, set at convenient locations, accessible to the 
Utility, subject to the Utility's control, and placed in a meter box or vault between the street curb 
and property line. Each meter box or vault will be provided with a suitable cover. 

Where additional meters are installed by the Utility or relocated for the convenience of the 
customer, the actual cost incurred for any meter relocation requested by the customer will be 
assessed. 

The Utility shall have the right to set meters or other devices for the detection and prevention 
of fraud or waste without notice to the customer. 

Each customer shall provide the Utility with regular access to the meter on the customer's 
property. For example, access is not provided if a meter is blocked by barriers including 
vehicles, fences, rocks, bushes, trees or other objects. Failure to permit access at reasonable 
times and after reasonable notice by the Utility requesting access is grounds for disconnection. 
(OAR 860-036-1500). In general, 24" is considered sufficient clearance from obstacles to allow 
meter access. 

Should damage result to the meter from molesting, tampering, or willful neglect on the part of the 
customer, the Utility shall repair or replace the meter and may bill the customer for the 
reasonable cost. 
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Rule 19: Meter Testing (OAR 860-036-1350) 

The meter will be tested prior to or within 30 days of installation to determine it is accurate to 
register not more than two percent error. No meter will be allowed to remain in service if it 
registers an error in excess of two percent (fast or slow) under normal operating conditions. The 
Utility will maintain a record of all meter tests and results. Meter test result records will include: 

A. Meter identification number and location; 
B. Reason for making the test; 
C. Method of testing; 
D. The beginning and ending meter readings; 
E. Test results and conclusion; and 
F. All data taken at the time of the test. 

Rule 20: Customer-Requested Meter Test (OAR 860-036-1360) 

A customer may request that the Utility test the service meter once every 12 months at no cost. 
Such test shall be made within seven calendar days of the receipt of the request unless the 
customer fails to provide the Utility reasonable access to the meter. The customer or the 
customer's representative has the right to be present during the test, which is to be scheduled at 
a mutually agreeable time. Within seven calendar days of performing the requested meter test, 
report shall be provided to the customer stating: 

A. The name of the customer requesting the test and the service address where the meter 
was tested; 

B. The date the meter test was requested and the date the meter test was performed; 
C. The name of the person performing the test; 
D. The meter identification number and location; 
E. The beginning and ending meter readings; and 
F. The actual test results and conclusion. 

If a customer requests a meter test more often than once in any 12-month period, and the test 
results indicate that the meter is registering within the two percent performance standard, the 
customer may be assessed a reasonable charge for the test if the charge is included in the 
Miscellaneous Service Charges Schedule. If the meter registers outside the two percent 
performance standard, the Utility may not charge the customer for the meter test. 
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BILLING 

Rule 21: Billing Information and Late-Payment Charge (OAR 860-036 1100(2), 1400, and 1430) 

All bills, including closing bills, are due and payable at the Utility office within at least 15 days 
when rendered by deposit in the mail or other reasonable means of delivery, unless otherwise 
specified on the bill. The date of presentation is the date on which the Utility mails the bill. 

As near as practical, meters shall be read (check one)~ monthly, D bimonthly, or 
D quarterly on the corresponding day of each meter reading or billing period. The bill will be 
rendered immediately thereafter. The Utility will provide its customers with timely billings every 
month or as indicated in its tariffs or statement of rates. 

All water service bills will show: 

A. Separate line items for past due balance, payments and credits, new charges, late fees, 
and total account balance; 

B. The date new charges are due; 
C. Calculation of new charges including base or flat rate, usage billing tiers and rates, 

beginning and ending meter readings, the dates the meter was read, rate schedule, billing 
period, and number of days in the billing period; 

D. The date any late payment charge was applied and an explanation of the terms of the late 
payment charge; and 

E. Any other information necessary for the computation of the bill. 

A late-payment charge may be assessed against any account that has an unpaid balance when 
the next bill is being prepared. The charge will be computed on the delinquent balance owing at 
the time of preparing the subsequent month's bill at the late-payment rate specified in the 
Miscellaneous Service Charges Schedule. The late-payment rate is determined annually by the 
Commission, and the Utility will be notified of the rate. 

If an account is permitted to become delinquent, the Utility may disconnect water service by 
giving proper notice to the customer as provided in Rules 28 & 29, prior to or after the Utility 
assesses the late payment charge. 

Rule 22: Returned Payment Charge 

The Returned Payment Charge listed on the Miscellaneous Service Charges Schedule shall be 
billed for each occasion a customer submits any type of noncash payment (check, debit, 
electronic, etc.) that is not honored, for any reason, by a bank or other financial institution. 
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Rule 22A: Master Meter with Memo Bill 

A customer under special agreement with the Utility may be metered with a master 
meter. The master meter customer will be responsible for total payment of the master meter 
water bill. 

The Utility will read the sub-meters and send memo bills to the master meter customer 
and sub-metered tenants. Memo bills are not official bills from the Utility. A memo bill 
shows the sub-metered tenants' individual water consumption and the Utility's applicable 
rate for use by the master meter customer when collecting payments from sub-metered 
tenants. 

The total aggregate monthly base charges of all sub-metered accounts shall not exceed the 
total aggregate monthly base charge of the master meter serving sub metered accounts. 
There will be a monthly charge for readying and preparing a memo bill for each sub-meter as 
indicated in Schedule No. 4, Miscellaneous Service Charges. This monthly charge will be the 
responsibility of the master meter customer. 

Rule 23: Prorating of Bills 

Initial and final bills will be prorated according to the number of days service was rendered and 
on the basis of a 31-day month. For metered services, a reasonable effort will be made to read 
the meter upon opening and closing a customer's account. Consumption will be charged 
at scheduled rates. Any minimum monthly charge will be prorated. 

Rule 24: Adjustment of Bills (OAR 860-036-1440) 

When an overbilling occurs, the Utility will refund or credit amounts incorrectly collected. No 
refund or credit will be issued for incorrect billings which occurred more than three years before 
the incorrect billing was discovered. 

When an underbilling occurs, the Utility will issue a bill to collect amounts owing for the 12-month 
period ending on the date on which the water utility issued the last incorrect bill. When such 
under collected amounts are billed to customers, the Utility will provide written notice to the 
customer detailing: 

A. The circumstances and time period of the billing error; 
B. The corrected bill amount and the amount of the necessary adjustment; 
C. The Commission's consumer complaint process; and 
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D. The right for a current or former customer to enter into a time-payment agreement with 
the Utility. 

The Utility will not bill for services provided more than two years before the underbilling was 
discovered. No billing adjustment will be required if a meter registers less than two percent error 
under conditions of normal operation. The Utility may waive rebilling or issuing a refund check 
when the costs make such action uneconomical. 

Rule 25: Transfer Billings (OAR 860-036-1450) 

If the Utility determines that a customer owes an amount from a closed account the customer 
previously held with the Utility, the Utility may transfer the closed account balance to the 
customer's current account. 

The Utility will give the customer prior notice of the transfer, including: 

A. The amount due under the prior account; and 
B. The period when the balance was incurred; and 
C. The service address under which the bill was incurred. 

If the customer has an amount remaining on an existing time-payment agreement, the customer 
may enter into a new time-payment agreement to include the transfer. The Utility will not 
transfer a balance owing on a non-residential account to a residential account. 

This rule also applies to customers who change service locations, and who applied for the new 
service within 20 days of closing the prior account (thereby retaining customer status). 

DISCONNECTION OF WATER SERVICE 

Rule 26: Voluntary Discontinuance (OAR 860-036-1560) 

A customer requesting disconnection of service must provide the Utility with at least seven 
calendar days' advance notice. The customer is responsible for all service provided for seven 
calendar days following the request for disconnection or until service is disconnected, whichever 
comes first; or if the customer identified a specific date for disconnection in excess of seven 
calendar days, the customer is responsible for service rendered up to and including the 
requested date of disconnection. 

Rates are based on continuous service. Disconnect and reconnect transactions do not relieve a 
customer from the obligation to pay the base rate or minimum charge that accumulates during 
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the period of time the service is voluntarily disconnected for up to 12 months. Should the 
customer wish to recommence service within 12 months at the same premise, the customer will 
be required to pay the accumulated minimum monthly charge or base rate as if service had been 
continuous. The reconnection charge listed on the Miscellaneous Service Charges Schedule 
will be applicable at the time of reconnection. 

Nothing in this rule prevents the Utility from temporarily interrupting service to protect the health 
and safety of its customers or to maintain the integrity of its system. 

Rule 27: Emergency Disconnection (OAR 860-036-1630) 

The Utility may terminate service in emergencies when life or property is endangered without 
following the procedures set forth in OAR 860-036-1630. Immediately thereafter, the Utility will 
notify the customer and the Commission. When the emergency termination was through no fault 
of the customer, the Utility shall not charge the customer for disconnection or restoration of 
service. 

Rule 28: Disconnection of Water Service Charge for Cause (OAR 860-036-1500, -1510, -1520, -
1530, and 1550) 

The Utility may disconnect service when: 

A. A customer fails to pay charges due for services rendered under a water utility tariff or 
statement of rates; 

B. A customer fails to pay a deposit, fails to timely provide a surety under 
OAR 860 036-1230 or comply with its terms, or fails to comply with the terms of a deposit 
installment agreement under OAR 860-036-1240; 

C. A customer fails to comply by the terms of a payment agreement under 
OAR 860 036-1240(3) or 860-036-1420; 

D. A customer provides false identification to establish or to continue service; 
E. A customer has facilities that do not comply with the applicable codes, rules, regulations, 

or the best practices governing safe and adequate water service, including compliance 
with the water utility's Cross Connection Control Program; 

F. A customer fails to provide reasonable access to the meter or premises; 
G. A customer tampers with water utility facilities or engages in theft of service or 

unauthorized use of water; 
H. A customer fails to comply with water restriction requirements under OAR 860-036-1670; 

or 
I. The Commission approves the disconnection of service. 
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If the disconnection is due to failure to pay a deposit, secure a surety agreement, abide by a 
deposit installment agreement, abide by the terms of a payment arrangement, or due to the theft 
of service, tampering with utility property, diverting water, or unauthorized use of water, the 
Utility will provide one 7-day written disconnection notice prior to disconnection. For other 
disconnections, the Utility will provide two written notices in advance of disconnection: one 
15-day notice and one 7-day notice. 

If the disconnection is due to a customer's failure to comply with a water use restriction imposed 
under OAR 860-036-1670, the utility may disconnect the customer without issuing either a 15-
calendar day or 7 calendar day disconnection notice. 

The notices shall include: 

A. The name, mailing address, telephone number, emergency telephone number, and email 
address or website of the Utility, 

B. State that the customer's water service is subject to disconnection on or after a specific 
date; 

C. Provide the grounds for the proposed disconnection; 
D. State what actions the customer must take in order to avoid disconnection; and 
E. A statement that the customer may dispute the disconnection by contacting the 

Commission's Consumer Services Section. 

If the disconnection notice is for nonpayment, the notice shall also include: 

A. The amount the customer must pay to avoid disconnection; 
B. Provide information about the customer's eligibility for a time-payment agreement 

provided in OAR 860-036-1420 for residential customers, unless the customer is being 
disconnected for failing to comply with an existing time-payment agreement or has 
engaged in theft of service, tampering with utility property, diverting water, or 
unauthorized use of water; and; and 

C. A statement that once service is disconnected, the water utility will reconnect service only 
after the customer reapplies for service and pays all applicable charges .. 

The ?-calendar day and 15-calendar day advance written notices of disconnection will be hand­
delivered in person to the customer or adult at the premises, or sent by the US Mail to the 
customer's billing address and designated representative. Mailed notices are considered served 
two calendar days after deposited in the US Mail, excluding Sundays and postal holidays. If the 
customer has requested to receive notices electronically, the Utility will provide an electronic 
notice in addition to the written notices. 
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Within 48 hours of disconnection, the Utility will make a good-faith effort to contact the customer 
or an adult at the residence and provide notice of the proposed disconnection. If contact is not 
made, the Utility shall leave a notice in a conspicuous place at the customer's premise informing 
the customer that service has been disconnected. 

Disconnection of Water Service to Tenants: 

A. If a water utility's records show that a residential billing address is different from the 
service address, the water utility must mail a duplicate notice to the service address, 
unless the utility has verified that the service address is occupied by the customer. 

B. If a water utility's records show that the service location is a master-metered, 
multi-dwelling service address, the water utility must provide a duplicate of the ?-calendar 
day disconnection notice to each unit at the service address. The disconnection notice 
must be addressed to "Tenant." The envelope must bear a bold notice stating, 
"IMPORTANT NOTICE REGARDING DISCONNECTION OF WATER UTILITY 
SERVICE." Tenant notices may not include the dollar amount owing. 

C. The water utility must notify the Consumer Services Section at least seven calendar days 
before disconnecting service to a master-metered, multi-dwelling premise. 

Time Payment Agreements (OAR 860-036-1420) 

Customers who are notified of pending disconnection, due to reasons other than theft of service, 
tampering, unauthorized use of water, or failure to abide by the terms of a Time Payment Plan, 
may choose between two Time Payment Agreement options. The Utility will offer such 
customers a choice of a levelized-payment plan and an equal-pay arrearage plan. 

The Utility and customer may mutually agree to an alternate payment arrangement provided it 
be in writing and signed by all parties. 

Disconnection for Failure to Comply With a Time Payment Agreement 
( OAR 860-036-1510( 4 )(b)) 

A time-payment agreement disconnection occurs when a customer fails to comply with the terms 
of a written time-payment agreement between the customer and the Utility, or the Utility permits 
a time-payment agreement charge to become delinquent. The Utility will give the customer a 
7- day written notice before the water service may be disconnected. 
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Rule 29: Disconnection, Reconnection and Field Visit Charge (OAR 860-036-1580) 

Disconnection and Reconnection Charges 
When service was disconnected pursuant to (OAR 860-036-1500), the Utility may charge the 
disconnect fee and reconnect fee stated in its tariff prior to reconnecting service. 

Field Visit Charge 
The Utility may assess a field visit charge whenever the Utility visits a residential service address 
intending to reconnect or disconnect service, but due to customer action, the Utility is unable to 
complete the reconnection or disconnection at the time of the visit. The field visit charge is listed 
in the tariff. 

Rule 30: Unauthorized Restoration of Service (OAR 860-036-1590) 

After the water has been disconnected or shut off at the curb stop or at the meter, if any person 
not authorized by the Utility should turn it on, the water service line may be disconnected as 
provided by OAR 860-036-1500. 

Rule 31: Unauthorized Use (OAR 860-036-1590) 

No person shall be allowed to make connection to the Utility mains, or to make any alteration to 
service connections, or to turn a curb stop off or on to any premises without written permission of 
the Utility. If the Utility discovers that a customer tampered with or engaged in unauthorized use 
of utility property facilities, the Utility shall notify the customer of the violations and may take one 
or more of the following actions: 

A. Repair or restore the facilities and charge the customer the costs incurred; 
B. Adjust the customer's prior billing for loss of revenue under applicable tariffs or schedule 

of rates; 
C. Initiate a service disconnection as provided by OAR 860-036-151 O; 
D. Require a new application for service that accurately reflects the customer's proposed 

water use; and 
E. Assess a deposit for restored or continued service. 

Rule 32: Interruption of Service (OAR 860-036-1630, -1640) 

The Utility may perform an unscheduled interruption of service as necessary to protect the 
health and safety of its customers or to maintain the integrity of its system. If an unscheduled 
interruption of service is required, the water utility must: 
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A. Make a reasonable effort to notify the customers affected and the Consumer Services 
Section in advance of the interruption; 

B. Report the unscheduled interruption to the Consumer Services Section at the contact 
information provided in OAR 860-001-0020(2), and 

C. Restore service as soon as it is reasonably possible after resolving the issue, unless 
other arrangements are agreed to by the affected customers. 

The Utility may schedule water service interruptions for maintenance and repairs in such a 
manner that reasonably minimizes customer inconvenience. The Utility will provide advance 
written notice to all customers affected by any scheduled service interruption, and will post the 
notice in the utility's office and on its website, if available. The notice will include: 

A. The name, mailing address, telephone number, emergency telephone number, and email 
address or website of the Utility; 

B. The date, time, and estimated duration of the scheduled interruption; 
C. The purpose of the interruption; 
D. A statement cautioning customers to avoid using water during service interruptions to 

prevent debris in the customers' service lines; and 
E. The contact information for the Consumer Services Section provided in 

OAR 860 001-0020(2). 

Notices of scheduled interruptions of service must be served by a door hanger or personal 
delivery to an adult at the affected premises at least five calendar days in advance of the 
service interruption or by US Mail at least ten calendar days prior to the service interruption. 
In addition electronic notice must be provided to customers who requested to receive notices 
electronically. 

Rule 33: Water Usage Restrictions (OAR 860-036-1670) 

The Utility shall exercise due diligence to furnish a continuous and adequate supply of water to 
its customers. During times of water shortage, the Utility will equitably apportion its available 
water supply among its customers with regard to public health and safety. In times of water 
shortages, the Utility may restrict water usage after providing written notice to its customers and 
the Consumer Services Section. Notice will also be posted in the Utility's office and on its 
website, if available. The notification must state the reason and nature of the restrictions, the 
date restrictions will become effective, the estimated date the restrictions end, and that failure to 
comply with the restrictions is grounds for disconnection. 

If a customer fails to comply with the water restrictions after receiving written notification, the 
Utility will provide a separate written warning letter to the customer including: 
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A. The date; 
B. The name, mailing address, telephone number, emergency telephone number, and email 

address or website of the Utility; 
C. The customer's name, account number, mailing address, service address if different; 
D. The water use restrictions and statement of how the customer is violating those 

restrictions; 
E. A statement that the customer's water service is subject to disconnection on or after a 

specific date; 
F. A warning to the customer that failure to immediately comply with the restrictions may 

result in disconnection of service; and 
G. A statement that the customer may dispute disconnection by contacting the Consumer 

Services Section. The notice must include the Consumer Services Section's contact 
information provided in OAR 860-001-0020(2). 

If a customer fails to comply with the water restrictions after receiving written notification and 
the warning letter, the Utility will consult with the Consumer Services Section to determine if 
disconnection is appropriate. 

Rule 33A: Damages/Tampering 

Should damage result to any of the Utility's property from molesting or willful neglect by the 
customer, the Utility will repair or replace such equipment and will bill the customer as per 
Schedule 3 

SERVICE QUALITY 

Rule 34: Adequacy of Water Service (OAR 860-036-1600) 

The Utility will maintain its facilities according to industry rules, regulations, and standards and in 
such condition to provide safe, adequate, and continuous service to its customers. 

The Utility will not intentionally diminish the quality of service below the level that can reasonably 
be provided by its facilities. 
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Rule 35: Trouble Call 

The trouble-call charge listed on the Miscellaneous Service Charges Schedule may be billed 
whenever a customer requests that the Utility visit the customer's premises to disconnect or 
reconnect service to remedy a service problem and the problem is due to the customer's 
facilities. 

Rule 36: Water Purity (OAR 860-036-1610) 

The Utility will provide a domestic water supply that is free from bodily injurious physical 
elements and disease-producing bacteria and reasonably free from elements that cause 
physical damage to customer property, including but not limited to pipes, valves, appliances, and 
personal property. 

Rule 37: Water Pressure (OAR 860-036-1650) 

The Utility will maintain adequate water pressure. In general, water pressure measuring 
between 45 and 80 pounds per square inch in the water mains is considered adequate. 
However, adequate pressure may vary depending on each individual water system. 

The Utility may temporarily reduce or increase water pressure for fire flows, noticed repairs and 
maintenance, scheduled or emergency flushing, and unscheduled or emergency repairs and 
outages. 

Rule 38: Pressure Surveys (OAR 860-036-1650) 

The Utility will maintain permanent pressure recording gauges at various locations to measure 
the system's water pressure, and will have a portable gauge to measure water pressure in any 
part of the system. The Utility will maintain all pressure gauges in good operating condition, test 
periodically for accuracy, and recalibrate or replace when necessary. 

Rule 39: Customer-Requested Pressure Test (OAR 860-036-1660) 

Upon customer request, the Utility will perform a water pressure test within seven calendar days 
of the request. The first pressure test in any 12- month period will be at no charge. If the 
customer requests an additional pressure test within any 12-month period at the same premises, 
the Utility will assess the customer a charge in accordance with the service charges set forth in 
Schedule 4 of the tariff. The pressure will be measured at a point adjacent to the meter on the 
customer service line or other reasonable point most likely to reflect the actual service pressure. 
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The Utility will provide a written report to the customer within seven calendar days of the 
pressure test. The report will include: 

A. The name, mailing address, telephone number, emergency telephone number, and email 
address or website of the Utility; 

B. The customer's name and service address where the pressure was tested; 
C. The date the pressure test was requested and the date the pressure test was performed; 
D. The name of the company or employee performing the test; 
E. The place where the pressure was measured; 
F. The actual pressure reading; and 
G. The conclusion based on the test result. 

Rule 40: Utility Line Location (One Call Program) 

The Utility and its customers will comply with the requirements of OAR 952-001-0010 through 
and including OAR 952-001-0090 (One Call Program) regarding identification and notification 
of underground facilities. 

Rule 41: Cross Connection/Backflow Prevention Program (OAR 860-036-1680) 

All customers must comply with the Utility's Cross Connection Control Program to protect the 
water system from contamination. A customer's failure to comply is grounds for disconnection 
under OAR 860-036-1500. 

The Utility will comply with the rules and regulations for the Cross Connection/Backflow 
Prevention Program, as provided in ORS Chapter 333 and the Utility's approved Backflow 
Prevention tariff or statement of rates. 

Inspections will be made by certified personnel where there is a reasonable cause to believe 
that a cross connection or a potential cross connection exists on the customer's premise. 

A customer that has another water supply that cross connects with the Utility's system or 
has conditions that present the possibility of contamination or pollution to the Utility's water 
supply must either eliminate the cross connection or install a cross connection control 
device (device). 

The device and its installation or the elimination of the cross connection shall be in accordance 
with standard practices pertaining to cross connection control approved by the Oregon Health 
Authority and the National Safe Drinking Water Act. 
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The entire cost of the installation and equipment will be at the expense of the customer. Any 
corrective measure, disconnection, or change on the customer's property shall be at the sole 
expense of the person in control of said property. 

The Utility will regulate the location, installation and testing of all devices. The Utility will inspect 
the installation prior to providing water service. The annual testing of the device shall be by 
licensed/certified personnel. All devices in service must be tested annually. 

The Utility will determine the frequency of testing based upon the severity of the hazard. 
Customer failure to install, maintain, and test the device as required are grounds for 
disconnection of water service. 
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