ORDER NO. 16 478

ENTERED DEC 1 2 2016

BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION

OF OREGON

NC 356

PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION OF OREGON,

Complainant,

v.

ORDER

CENTURYLINK COMMUNICATIONS, LLC,

Defendant.

DISPOSITION: MONETARY PENALTIES ASSESSED

On October 7, 2016, the Public Utility Commission of Oregon filed a complaint against defendant. The complaint charged defendant with violations of law under OAR 952-001-0070 for failing to notify the Oregon Utility Notification Center of a proposed excavation prior to excavating.

Defendant was notified in the complaint, served on October 7, 2016, that failure to answer or otherwise appear within 20 days after service would be deemed a default. Furthermore, all material allegations of the complaint would be deemed admitted, hearing waived, penalties imposed, and the matter disposed of by appropriate order without further notice. Defendant failed to file an answer or otherwise plead or appear within the time specified.

From the foregoing, it is concluded that defendant is in default, all material allegations of the complaint are deemed admitted, hearing waived, and that, under ORS 757.993, civil monetary penalties should be assessed against defendant in the amount of \$5,000.

ORDER

IT IS ORDERED that:

- 1. Civil monetary penalties in the amount of \$5,000 are assessed against CenturyLink Communications, LLC.
- Defendant shall pay the sum of \$5,000, due and payable within 30 days from the date of service of this order. Payment shall be by <u>money order</u> made out to the **Public Utility Commission of Oregon**, and the <u>memo line of the money order</u> <u>shall state the "NC" docket number</u> in the caption of this order. (Mail payment to: Public Utility Commission of Oregon, PO Box 2153, Salem, OR 97308.)

DEC 1 2 2016 Made, entered, and effective Lisa D. Hardie John Savage Commissioner Chair Stephen M. Bloom Commissioner

<u>Petition for Mitigation</u> Under ORS 757.993(5), you may request reduction of penalties ordered by filing a Petition for Mitigation with the Commission <u>within 15 days</u> of the date of service of this order.

A party may request rehearing or reconsideration of this order under ORS 756.561. A request for rehearing or reconsideration must be filed with the Commission within 60 days of the date of service of this order. The request must comply with the requirements in OAR 860-001-0720. A copy of the request must also be served on each party to the proceedings as provided in OAR 860-001-0180(2). A party may appeal this order by filing a petition for review with the Court of Appeals in compliance with ORS 183.480 through 183.484.