
  ORDER NO. 10-419 
  ENTERED 10/25/10 
 

BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION 
 

OF OREGON 
 

NC 295 
 
 

PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION OF 
OREGON,  
 

Complainant, 
 

 v. 
 
QWEST CORPORATION, (a Colorado 
corporation), 
 

Defendant. 

  
 
 
 
 

ORDER 

 
 

DISPOSITION:  STIPULATION ADOPTED   
 

On September 23, 2010, the Public Utility Commission of Oregon filed a 
complaint against Defendant.  The complaint charged Defendant with one violation of 
law, OAR 952-001-0070, and requested a penalty of $5,800.  On September 23, 2010, a 
copy of the complaint was served. 

 
On October 13, 2010, the parties to this proceeding entered into a 

stipulation, which is attached as Appendix A. 
 
Under the terms of the stipulation, Defendant admits that the violations 

were committed as alleged in the Complaint and agrees that the Commission may enter 
an order assessing civil monetary penalties.  Defendant contends that the violations were 
the result of actions by a third party contractor, but accepts responsibility for payment of 
the fines as an operator subject to OAR 952-001-0070.   

 
The parties further agree that a portion of the penalties should be 

suspended, unless Defendant fails to comply with any provision of the stipulation or 
violates any rule adopted by the Oregon Utility Notification Center (OUNC) under 
ORS 757.552 for a period of one year following the date of the Commission’s final order 
in this proceeding.   
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The stipulation is adopted.  From the foregoing, it is concluded that no 

hearing is required.  Under the terms of the stipulation, the allegations of the complaint 
are true, and Defendant has violated Oregon Administrative Rule(s) as alleged.  Pursuant 
to the provisions of ORS 757.993, penalties should be assessed against Defendant under 
the terms and conditions of the stipulation. 
  

ORDER 
 

 IT IS ORDERED that: 
 
1. The stipulation, attached as Appendix A, is adopted. 
 
2. Civil monetary penalties shall be assessed against Qwest 

Corporation, (a Colorado corporation) in the amount of $5,800 for 
one violation of law. 

 
3. Defendant shall pay the sum of $3,300, due and payable within 

30 days from the date of service of this order.  Payment shall be by 
money order or company check made out to the Public Utility 
Commission of Oregon, and the memo line of the check shall 
state the “NC” docket number in the caption of this order.  (Mail 
payment to:  Public Utility Commission of Oregon, PO Box 2153, 
Salem, OR 97308.) 

 
4. Payment of the balance of the penalties ($2,500) shall be 

suspended, unless: 
 
(a) Defendant fails to comply with paragraph 3 above; or  
(b) A showing is made that Defendant has violated, within one 

year of the date of this order, any rules administered by the 
Oregon Utility Notification Center. 










