BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION

OF OREGON

NC 252

PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION OF OREGON,)	
Complainant,)	
v.)	ORDER
POY-A EXCAVATION, LLC (an Oregon)	
limited liability company),)	
Defendant.)	

DISPOSITION: MONETARY PENALTIES ASSESSED

On November 12, 2008, the Public Utility Commission of Oregon filed a complaint against Defendant. The complaint charged Defendant with three violations of law, OAR 952-001-0050 and OAR 952-001-0090, by failing to notify the Oregon Utility Notification Center of a proposed excavation prior to excavating.

Defendant was notified in the complaint, served on November 12, 2008, that failure to answer or otherwise appear within 20 days after service would be deemed a default. Furthermore, all material allegations of the complaint would be deemed admitted, hearing waived, penalties imposed, and the matter disposed of by appropriate order without further notice. Defendant failed to file an answer or otherwise plead or appear within the time specified.

From the foregoing, it is concluded that Defendant is in default, all material allegations of the complaint are deemed admitted, hearing waived, and that, pursuant to ORS 757.993, civil monetary penalties should be assessed against Defendant in the amount of \$3,000.

ORDER

IT IS ORDERED that:

- 1. Civil monetary penalties in the amount of \$3,000 are assessed against Poy-A Excavation, LLC (an Oregon limited liability company).
- 2. Defendant shall pay the sum of \$3,000, due and payable within 30 days from the date of service of this order. Payment shall be by company check made out to the Public Utility Commission of Oregon, and the memo line of the company check shall state the "NC" docket number in the caption of this order. (Mail payment to: Public Utility Commission of Oregon, PO Box 2153, Salem, OR 97308.)

Made, entered, and effective

MAR 0 4 2009

Lee Beyer
Chairman

Commissioner

Ray Baum
Commissioner

<u>Petition for Mitigation</u> Under ORS 757.993(5), you may request reduction of penalties ordered by filing a Petition for Mitigation with the Commission <u>within 15 days</u> of the date of service of this order.

A party may request rehearing or reconsideration of this order pursuant to ORS 756.561. A request for rehearing or reconsideration must be filed with the Commission within 60 days of the date of service of this order. The request must comply with the requirements in OAR 860-014-0095. A copy of any such request must also be served on each party to the proceeding as provided by OAR 860-013-0070(2). A party may appeal this order by filing a petition for review with the Court of Appeals in compliance with ORS 183.480-183.484.