ENTERED: MAR 5 2002

This is an electronic copy. Attachments may not appear. BEFORE THE UTILITY COMMISSION OF OREGON UM 1012

In the Matter of the Imposition of Annual)	
Regulatory Fees Upon Public Utilities)	ORDER
Operating Within the State of Oregon.)	

DISPOSITION: FEE LEVEL SET FOR CALENDAR YEAR 2002

In accordance with ORS 756.310, it is hereby determined that it is necessary during the year 2002 to impose a fee on natural gas, water, and wastewater utilities in the amount of twenty-five hundredths of one percent (2.5 mills) of gross operating revenues derived within the State of Oregon during the year 2001.

In addition, pursuant to OAR 860-011-0022, each regulated electric utility shall pay a calculated fee derived from a rate applied to kilowatt-hours delivered to retail electric customers during 2001.

These fees are deemed necessary to defray the cost of performing duties imposed by law upon the Commission.

The fees as imposed by this order shall be due and payable on or before April 1, 2002, the date specified in a notice to be mailed to each public utility after the effective date of this order and at least 15 days prior to April 1, 2002.

The Commission adopted staff's recommendation, as attached and incorporated herein by reference as Appendix A, at the March 5, 2002 public meeting.

ORDER

IT IS ORDERED that natural gas, water and wastewater utilities operating in the state of Oregon shall pay to the Public Utility Commission during the year 2002 a fee of twenty-five hundredths of one percent (2.5 mills) of such public utilities' gross operating revenues derived within the State of Oregon during the year 2001. In no case shall such fee be less than \$10.

Each regulated electric utility shall pay the calculated fee set forth by the rate determined by the OPUC and applied to kilowatt-hours delivered to retail electric customers during 2001. The fee rate is 0.1734 mills for Portland General Electric Company, 0.1799 mills for PacifiCorp, and 0.1257 mills for Idaho Power Company. In no case shall such fee be less than \$10.

<u> </u>
Lee Beyer Commissioner
Joan H. Smith

A party may request rehearing or reconsideration of this order pursuant to ORS 756.561. A request for rehearing or reconsideration must be filed with the Commission within 60 days of the date of service of this order. The request must comply with the requirements in OAR 860-014-0095. A copy of any such request must also be served on each party to the proceeding as provided by OAR 860-013-0070(2). A party may appeal this order to a court pursuant to applicable law.