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BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION 

 
OF OREGON 

 
AR 660 

 
In the Matter of ) 
 ) STAFF’S COMMENTS ON 
Adoption of Rules Relating to ) RULES PENALTY 
Resource Adequacy. ) 
 ) 

   

Introduction 

On September 21, 2023, the Oregon Public Utility Commission (Commission) approved 

Staff’s request to open a formal rulemaking on resource adequacy and issue a notice of proposed 

rulemaking.1  Notice of a proposed rulemaking was published in the Oregon Bulletin for 

December 2023, with a comment deadline of January 25, 2024.2   

Commission Staff submit these comments respectfully recommending a modification to 

proposed rule OAR 860-095-0040(11), State Program Requirements, to conform with the 

statutory language setting forth the Commission’s authority to impose penalties under O.R.S. § 

756.990. 

Penalties versus Fines 

Proposed OAR 860-095-0040 describes the State Program Requirements.3  The intent of 

proposed OAR 860-095-0040(11) is to provide the penalty for noncompliance under the State 

Program pursuant to the Commission’s authority set forth in O.R.S. § 756.990.  The proposed 

language states: 
 

 

 
1 In the Matter of the Public Utility Commission of Oregon, Investigation into Resource 
Adequacy in Oregon (UM 2143), and Adoption of Rules Relating to Resource Adequacy (AR 
660), Docket No. 660, Order 23-340 (September 22, 2023).  
2 Resource Adequacy Rulemaking, Chapter 860 Public Utility Commission, Notice of Proposed 
Rulemaking, Oregon Bar Bulletin for December 2023 (filed November 27, 2023). 
3 Id. at 9. 
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(11) A State Participant whose plan is not approved 60 days after the Commission 
identified deficiencies shall be subject to a fine, revocation of Electric Service 
Supplier certification, or some other appropriate penalty determined by the 
Commission. 
  

(a) The Commission shall assess fines on a per-MW basis for monthly 
capacity or transmission deficiencies and based on the fining 
methodology of a Qualified Regional Program. 
 

(b) Revocation of Electric Service Supplier certification shall only be considered 
after twice failing to cure a deficiency and following an investigation by the 
Commission.4  

 

This proposed language uses the term fine to describe a potential penalty the Commission may 

levy against a State Program participant for noncompliance.  However, a fine is generally 

associated with criminal penalties.5  More importantly, the use of the term fine could lead to 

confusion regarding agency fees, which requires legislative approval.6  The proposed resource 

adequacy rules should reflect the language of O.R.S. § 756.990, which grants the Commission 

the authority to impose penalties.   

Proposed Modification to Address Ambiguity   

A simple language modification to proposed OAR 860-095-0040 could eliminate any 

ambiguity while retaining the original intent for the Commission to impose penalties for 

noncompliance with resources adequacy rules.  Staff suggests that OAR 860-095-0040(11) be 

modified to read as follows: 
  
(11) A State Participant whose plan is not approved 60 days after the Commission 
identified deficiencies shall be subject to an appropriate penalty as determined by the 
Commission a fine, including revocation of Electric Service Supplier certification or 
some other appropriate penalty determined by the Commission. 
  

(a) The Commission shall assess fines penalties on a per-MW basis for monthly 
capacity or transmission deficiencies and based on the fining methodology of a 
Qualified Regional Program.  
 
 

 
4 Id. (emphasis added). 
5 See O.R.S. § 161.625. 
6 See O.R.S. § 291.055.  
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(b) Revocation of Electric Service Supplier certification shall only be considered 
after twice failing to cure a deficiency and following an investigation by the 
Commission. 

Conclusion 

For the forgoing reasons, Staff respectfully recommends that the Commission adopt the 

modification set forth above or a different modification that would address the language issue 

regarding penalties for noncompliance.  

Staff may file additional comments on other aspects of the proposed resource adequacy 

rules before the comment deadline of January 25th, 2024.   

 

DATED this 10th day of January 2024. 

      Respectfully submitted, 

      ELLEN F. ROSENBLUM 
      Attorney General 
 
      /s/ Betsy Bridge 
             
      Betsy Bridge, OSB No. 090050 
      Assistant Attorney General 

       Of Attorneys for Staff of the Public Utility  
Commission of Oregon 


