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ITEM NO. RA1

PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION OF OREGON
STAFF REPORT
PUBLIC MEETING DATE: August9, 2022

REGULAR X CONSENT  EFFECTIVE DATE August 10, 2022
DATE: August 1, 2022

TO: Public Utility Commission

FROM: Scott Gibbens and Melissa Nottingham

THROUGH: Bryan Conway and Caroline Moore SIGNED

SUBJECT: PACIFIC POWER:
(Docket No. ADV 1391/Advice No. 22-005)
Amends Rule 8, Metering to include an Exemption for Master Metering.

STAFF RECOMMENDATION:

Approve Pacific Power’'s (PacifiCorp or Company) Advice No. 22-005 which amends
Rule 8 with the following stipulations, effective with service on and after August 10,
2022.

1. The Company must use good-faith efforts to discuss and propose any viable
solution for allowing qualifying tenants residing in any unit that is subject to this
exemption access to the proposed Schedule 7 energy prices on the same
forty-five-day timeline directed by the Commission in regards to ADV 1412.

2. The Company must provide the Commission with a report of the number of
buildings utilizing this exemption by August 2024.

DISCUSSION:

Issue

Whether the Oregon Public Utility Commission (Commission) should approve an
exemption process to the master meter prohibition currently in place in the Company’s
Rule 8 Tariff.
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Applicable Rule or Law

PacifiCorp makes this filing pursuant to ORS 757.205, OAR 860-022-0025, and
OAR 860-022-0030.

e ORS 757.205 requires public utilities file to all rates, rules, and charges with the
Commission.

e ORS 757.220 requires utilities to file changes to any rates, tolls, charges, rules,
or regulations with at least 30 days before the effective date of the changes. The
Commission may approve tariff changes on less than 30 days’ notice for good
cause shown.

e OAR 860-022-0025 requires that revised tariff filings include statements showing
the change in rates, the number of customers affected and resulting change in
annual revenue, and the reasons for the tariff revision.

e OAR 860-022-0030 requires that tariff filings which result in increased rate
include statements showing the number of customers affected, the annual
revenue under existing schedules, the annual revenue under proposed
schedules, the average monthly bills under existing and proposed schedules,
and the reasons supporting the proposed tariff.

Analysis

Background

PacifiCorp’s Rule 8, Metering, currently requires an individually metered service for
each unit in an apartment building. This requirement for each resident to be individually
metered is a requirement in PacifiCorp’s tariffs in all states the Company operates in.
The origin of this requirement was the passage of Public Utility Regulatory Policies Act
(PURPA) in 1978. PURPA 16 USC §2625(b) identifies policy goals that master
metering be prohibited or restricted to promote energy conservation. In Oregon,

ORS 455.420 implements this metering recommendation by requiring “[an] individual
electrical meter for each dwelling unit” except “where a building inspector...determines
that...installation of a single electrical meter for all dwelling units in such building would
facilitate an overall reduction in electrical consumption by such units.”

On April 27, 2022, PacifiCorp filed Advice No. 22-005 requesting amendments to

Rule 8, Metering, which would allow for master metering of apartments in certain
situations. In its application, the Company states that it has had several requests from
affordable housing developers in the last twelve months to approve master meter
installations for new apartment buildings.
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After discussions with the Company regarding concerns and potential outreach to
stakeholders, the Company filed replacement sheets on May 12, 2022, to extend the
effective date to August 10, 2022.

On July 20, 2022, Staff held a stakeholder workshop to elicit input from other parties
regarding the issues related to the Company’s proposal. Along with Staff and the
Company, representatives from the Community Energy Project and Sazan Group were
in attendance.

Company Proposal
As previously mentioned, the Company proposed to allow for the installation of master
metering in apartment buildings if the project meets certain criteria. These criteria are:

1. The required exemption to individual metering as required by the Oregon State
building code has been obtained by the builder.

2. The units are not sub-metered.

3. HVAC is provided through central systems to each individual residential unit, or if
an all-electric building, HVAC may be provided by individual or shared heat
pumps supplying both heating and cooling to each individual residential unit.

4. Electric load within each unit that is controlled by the tenant, excluding any
individual load from item three, will be less than 250 kWh per month.

Support for Proposal

The Company has provided several reasons in its application, through discovery, and
during the stakeholder workshop as to why Commission approval of the tariff change is
in the public interest.

The first is that the Oregon State building codes allow for such an exemption to the
individual metering requirement. This creates a mismatch between the Company’s tariff
and the state building codes.

Second, PacifiCorp states in its initial application that much of the interest from Oregon
developers is in the affordable housing market. The reduced costs of installing and
wiring separate meters for each unit would presumably make low-income housing
projects more viable economically, thus promoting development that may not otherwise
take place. Further, PacifiCorp believes that there is value to the tenants who may be
on fixed incomes or have tight budgets in the assurance that comes from having a fixed
cost for energy built into their monthly rent.
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Third, the Company states that central heating or high efficiency heat pumps can
promote energy efficiency, lower costs overall, and limit the potential for cross-
subsidization amongst residents in a building.

The Company also notes that the 250 kWh limit ensures the developer builds energy
efficient units with more eco-conscious appliances, which limits the risk the proposal will
result in excessive energy consumption when the direct price signal is lost.

The Company currently has a similar exemption process in place in Utah. In
discussions with the Company, they further explained that in addition to affordable
housing, the Company sees interest from developers to build residential units for
employee housing close to a large facility, and for student housing close to colleges and
universities. During the workshop, the representative from Sazan group further stated
that this exemption would be desirable for net-zero or other apartment complexes
designed with behind the meter solar installations sized to offset the power consumption
of the residence. Without being able to aggregate the load of the entire building, the
net-zero mandate can only be achieved through individual and more costly smaller solar
installations.

Risks and Concerns of Proposal

A primary risk from Staff's perspective is the loss of the direct relationship between the
utility and the consumer. If an energy-burdened consumer is no longer a customer of
the utility, the Company and the Commission lose some of their ability to directly apply
solutions and programs to mitigate the difficulty of paying for energy. Low-Income Rate
Assistance Program (LIRAP), Low-Income Home Energy Assistance Program
(LIHEAP), differential rates borne by House Bill (HB) 2475, arrearage management
programs, etc. would seemingly be unavailable options for tenants of master metered
buildings. Disconnection notices, Energy Trust of Oregon (ETO) offerings, and other
important information also become more difficult and convoluted to deliver.

In the net-metering space, this exemption could open up an avenue that was not
previously considered when net-metering and other distributed generation programs
were designed. Staff has not identified any particular concerns with this, but notes that
unintended consequences may exist.

The PURPA standard regarding master metering is designed to promote energy usage
awareness, providing a direct price signal for the energy used and incentivizing
conservation. The Company’s proposal would break the connection between energy
usage and cost. The Company’s proposal attempts to mitigate abuse of this
disconnection but does not guarantee it. Energy usage is only based on estimates of
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each unit’s energy consumption; there is no mechanism for identifying compliance with
the 250 kWh limit.

Staff Analysis

Staff generally understands and supports the arguments in support of the Company’s
proposal. Staff believes that there are potential circumstances that could warrant a
master metered service and that finding an appropriate solution to allow these situations
is likely in the public interest. However, Staff does have concerns, noted above, that the
Commission should consider prior to approval of the Company’s tariff change. Staff
issued 17 information requests to the Company in order to attempt to better quantify
and understand the potential risks associated with the Company’s proposal.

Staff reviewed Portland General Electric’s (PGE) tariff to identify if it had an exemption
process in place for master metered service. Staff found that an exemption does exist
with no stipulations. The tariff states:

Individual dwelling units in newly constructed multi-family residential
buildings will be individually metered and billed as Residential
Customers... In the case where service is supplied through one meter to
two or more new dwelling units, or to three or more existing dwelling units,
service will be classified as nonresidential service.'

Staff then reached out to PGE for clarification on its tariff and found that the Company
generally works with any developer who has obtained a waiver of the state building
codes to put a master metered residential building on nonresidential service.

Staff then worked to understand the potential scale of the issue. In response to Staff
Information Request (IR) No. 14, the Company noted that it has approved one
exemption request each year from 2018-2022, with the exception of 2021, for a total of
four in the last five years in Utah. The Company further states that it has received four
requests in the last 12 months in Oregon, with one requestor electing to individually
meter and the other three awaiting the result of this filing. In a separate information
response, the Company noted that at least two of the requests in Oregon were for
affordable housing projects.

In an interview airing on July 6, 2022, Oregon State Economist Josh Lehner provided
some brief thoughts on the housing and rental market in Oregon. In the interview,
Lehner summarily noted the impact that high interest rates are having on the
affordability of home ownership. He notes that there is not an over-supply of housing in
the state, so although demand has likely decreased, prices are not declining. This has

1 PGE Tariff No. E-18, Rule B, Sheet B-6 and B-7.
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a cascading effect on rents in the state, as certain individuals are priced out of
purchasing a home, and they must choose instead to rent. This increases demand for
rentals. In response to a caller who was having difficulty finding a place to rent, Lehner
goes on to explain the impact of the rental market on prospective renters.

Caller: This is Barbara Bullard from Milwaukee. | am a senior looking for
another house to move into and unfortunately the rents are all the same
amount of money as | get with my Social Security and my small retirement
fund. The answer is a tent on the side of the road. | don’t know what the
answer is, but | don’t think I’'m going to be able to ever pay as much as |
actually get in Social Security. Thank you.

Interviewer: Both Barbara there and Tyler, earlier, talked about renting,
which we haven’t focused on so far, but | want to just turn briefly to that at
least. What does everything we’ve been talking about in the housing
market mean for renters?

Lehner: It means the rental market will just get even tighter, if people are
being priced out of the ownership market. It means you have to have a
roof over your head as she was alluding to, or not. Unfortunately too many
of us, too many of our neighbors, don’t. That, at a base level, owning a
home is a choice. It’s a choice for the privilege to have the ability to have
the down payment and finance and things like that. But the same people
could take their strong finances and choose to rent as well. So that’s going
to just increase the demand in the rental market and vacancy rates and
the amount of time on the market for apartments or just all rental units in
the Portland area is back to where it was pre-COVID. So it’s just gonna
continue to see increases in rents statewide and in the Portland market in
the years ahead.?

Staff notes that while the scale of risks is potentially growing, the potential usefulness
and necessity of the exemption is also growing. This underscores the importance of the
risks and merits of the proposal.

Consumer/Utility Relationship

In relation to the loss of the direct connection between the Utility and the consumer,
Staff finds that some of the concerns have or could be mitigated. For disconnection
notices, OAR 860-021-0326 states that:

2 Think Out Loud, OPB Broadcast July 6, 2022, https://www.opb.org/article/2022/07/05/think-out-loud-
oregon-housing-rental-markets-oregon-very-tight/.
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When an energy utility’s records show that a residence is a master-
metered multi-family dwelling (including rooming houses), the utility must
notify the Commission’s Consumer Services Division at least five business
days before disconnecting the service. The utility will use reasonable
efforts to notify occupants of the impending disconnection and alternatives
available to them.

While ETO offerings and federally mandated programs like LIRAP and LIHEAP may be
difficult to address in this context, Staff does believe there is potential for additional
mitigation for some of the state level programs currently being implemented by the
Commission. Staff asked the Company about the potential for tenants in affordable
housing to access targeted programs for energy burdened customers. The Company
states in response to IR No. 15:

The Company has concerns with any program that it would be asked to
administer that is not directly linked and calculated from the actual
metered usage of the benefiting customer each month. In a master-
metered apartment complex, the tenant pays rent and the utilities are
included. As the tenant is not a customer of the Company, the Company
would not have an account to track when the tenant is in a unit, which unit
they are in, if or when the tenant moves, etc. The usage of the tenant is
not known, and an average per unit would be distorted by any non-unit
electrical usage under the master meter, such as laundry room, common
areas, hall and exterior lighting, and potentially electric vehicle charging.
The Company is, however, open to further dialog and collaboration with
stakeholders on this issue to see if there may be an acceptable solution
for incorporating a bill discount with master-metering.

Staff notes that the Commission recently elected to suspend and investigate
PacifiCorp’s Advice No. 22-008, which sought to establish Schedule 7, Low-Income
Discount at the July 26, 2022, public meeting, and thus conversations around how to
potentially allow for residents of master-metered buildings could occur with all the
relevant parties in a timely manner.

Thus, Staff recommends that the Commission’s approval require the Company to
analyze, discuss, and propose any viable solution to this issue on the same forty-five-
day timeline directed by the Commission in regards to ADV 1412. Staff also
encourages the Company to continue to work to identify ways in which tenants of these
dwellings could have access to additional programs like ETO, demand response, etc.
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Net Metering

Staff first notes that it has not identified any specific risks that would warrant rejection of
this filing based on concerns around net metering. Staff understands the challenges
that having to individually net meter solar in a multi-unit dwelling pose. Staff further
notes that it supports future discussions around these issues which might seek to
promote the applicability of this exemption for net metering. Staff examines this risk in
light of any potentially unforeseen or unintended consequences.

One mitigation strategy already proposed by the Company is to require that the units
not be sub-metered. While sub-metering would potentially allow for reduced
cross-subsidization risk, it also removes a large portion of the potential cost savings of
master metering. The proposal effectively prohibits a situation where the dwelling unit
could be individually metered but for a desire to aggregate load. While Staff notes that
this does not prohibit net metering for this application, it does somewhat limit it.

Conservation Risks
Staff notes that the Company’s proposed exemption requirements do address this risk
in some way.

The requirement to obtain a state building code exemption ensures that a state building
inspector has looked at the building plans and determined that a master meter will likely
result in reduced energy consumption.

The prohibition on sub metering also promotes conservation in a more indirect manner.
The landlord is ultimately responsible for setting a price for utilities in an accurate
manner in accordance with state law. If consumption is above the estimated amount,
the landlord could be short of full recovery for at least some time. It requires the
landlord to take on a certain level of risk, and pushes the design of the apartments
towards ensuring that energy abuse is not a major issue. This results in aligning the
owner’s incentives with the goals of PURPA to promote conservation.

Finally, the requirement that each unit have expected non-heating loads of less than
250 kWh is meant to limit the potential risk that tenants will use large amounts of
electricity. In order to examine the level of restriction a 250 kWh requirement is, Staff
analyzed individual level data for every multi-family customer within PacifiCorp Oregon
service territory from 2017-2022. Staff found that roughly 42 percent of all apartments
currently taking service from PacifiCorp average 250 kWh or less non-heating/cooling
energy consumption in a given month.® However, this metric does not account for any
apartments or condos that may have had reduced consumption over a six-month period

3 Staff assumed that 50 percent of energy usage was for heating/cooling so Staff utilized 500 kWh as the
relevant metric during winter months.
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due to vacancy.* Staff also looked at the number of multi-family residents that had not
surpassed 250 kWh non-heating consumption in any month, and found that about

20 percent had not eclipsed 250 kWh in each six-month interval. Staff finds that the
exemption is targeting housing developments that are more efficient or use less energy
than 50-80 percent of the existing rental units that the Company currently serves. This
somewhat supports the Company, which stated in response to Staff IR No. 13 that, “the
specific requirements that the Company proposes for individual metering exemption
eligibility in this filing will mitigate against excessive usage by only applying to
residential developments that are likely to have very low per resident usage levels.”

However, Staff does note that the data analyzed was of individually metered customers,
who presumably have to pay for every watt of electricity they use. Further Staff notes
that the usage included heating/cooling, and which required assumptions to be made to
estimate the non-heating/cooling load. Thus, Staff proposes that the Company provide
the Commission with a report of the number of buildings utilizing this exemption by
August 2024.

The report should identify the number of applications received and approved, and the
estimated demand associated with each application. If utilization is determined to
warrant further analysis of risk, Staff believes one possible solution could be to have the
Company then provide a report with estimated per unit consumption for any building
utilizing this exemption. This follow-up report should be timed to provide sufficient time
for actual consumption data to be collected and provide the Commission with assurance
that the limitation is functioning as intended.

Conclusion

Staff finds that Pacific Power’s proposed amendments to Rule 8 are in the public
interest with its proposed additional stipulations. Staff believes that an exemption
process is warranted given the direction from the state building codes. Staff notes that
the Company’s proposal addresses and mitigates many of the concerns. Staff believes
that the two additional recommendations, to address low-income rate application and a
report to ensure risks have not grown out of proportion, further help to ensure the
proposal is in the public interest. Finally, Staff encourages the Company to continue to
monitor and bring forward ideas to provide further safeguards as identified.

4 Staff examined all data in 6-month intervals (Jan-June, July-Dec) and aggregated data together due to
computer limitations and to reduce calculation times. Staff did remove months with no energy demand for
average calculations but made no other adjustments to the data.
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PROPOSED COMMISSION MOTION:

Approve Pacific Power’s (PacifiCorp or Company) Advice No. 22-005, which amends
Rule 8 with the following stipulations, effective with service on and after
August 10, 2022.

1. The Company must use good-faith efforts to discuss and propose any viable
solution for allowing qualifying tenants residing in any unit that is subject to this
exemption access to the proposed Schedule 7 energy prices on the same
forty-five-day timeline directed by the Commission in regards to ADV 1412.

2. The Company must provide the Commission with a report of the number of
buildings utilizing this exemption by August 2024.

Docket No. ADV 1391
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1. Metering — General

A.

Installation, Maintenance and Registration

The Company will install and maintain all meters and other equipment necessary for
measuring the electric power and energy used by the Customer and will inspect such
installations to maintain a high standard of accuracy.

The Company will, without charge, make a test of the accuracy of registration of a meter
upon the request of the Customer or their ESS, provided that the Customer does not
request such a test more frequently than once in twelve (12) months. If more than one
requested test is made in twelve (12) months, the Company may charge the Customer a
meter test charge as specified in Schedule 300. If results of the test show that such meter
is outside the 2% accepted tolerance standard under normal operating conditions, the
Company may not charge the Customer for the subsequent test(s).

An accurate record will be kept by the Company of all meter readings, and such record
shall be the basis for determination of all bills rendered for metered service.

If any meter shall fail to register correctly the amount of electric power or energy used by
the Customer, the amount of such use will be estimated by the Company from the best
available information.

Individual Metering

Separate premises, even though owned by the same Customer, will not be supplied
through the same meter, except as may be specifically provided for in the applicable rate
schedule.

Other than the exemptions in Section C, service to multi-unit residential buildings where
residency is permanent in nature and constructed subsequent to January 1, 1979, shall
be provided only if it is possible for the Company to directly meter and bill the occupant
of each dwelling unit.

Residential Use Exemptions to Individual Metering (criteria for Master-Metering)

Multiple residential units where the units do not have permanent facilities for sleeping,
bathing and cooking, which are supplied through a common meter, may not be sub-
metered and will be classified as nonresidential service.

Multiple residential units where residency is permanent in nature and constructed
subsequent to January 1, 1979, and have facilities for sleeping, bathing and cooking in
each unit, may be supplied through a common meter if the units meet all of the following
numbered criteria. The service will be classified as residential and billed on the applicable
general service rate schedule.

1. Documentation that the multiple residential units have received the necessary
exemptions to individual metering as required by the Oregon State Building Code,

2. The units are not sub-metered,

3. Space heating, ventilation, and cooling (HVAC) is provided through central
systems to each individual residential unit, or if an all-electric building HVYAC may
be provided by individual or shared heat pumps supplying both heating and
cooling to each individual residential unit, and

4, The electric load within each unit that is controlled by the tenant, excluding any
individual load from item 3., is projected to be 250 kWh or less per month and
the Company has been provided reasonable substantiation of the load projection.

(continued)

P.U.C. OR No. 36 Second Revision of Sheet No. R8-1

Canceling First Revision of Sheet No. R8-1

Issued May 12, 2022 Effective for service on and after August 10, 2022
Matthew McVee, Vice President, Regulation Advice No. 22-005

(N)
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I Metering — General (continued)

D.

Meter Verification Fee and Meter Labeling

When multiple meters are installed at a location with multiple units, it is the
developer/owner’s responsibility to permanently, and correctly, label each meter base
for the associated service address. The Company may check such meter installations
to verify they are correctly labeled. The Company will charge the Meter Verification Fee,
set forth in Schedule 300, to the developer/owner for each meter installation checked.
In the event all meters are labeled correctly for each unit, the Company will waive the
Meter Verification Fee for that building.

When a complaint is received from a Customer, landlord or governmental agency of
possible switched meters, the Company will check such meter installations to verify that
they are correctly labeled. The Company will charge the Meter Verification Fee, as set
forth in Schedule 300 to the developer/owner for each meter installation checked. If all
meters at a building are correctly labeled for each unit, the Company will waive the
Meter Verification Fees for that building. If a Customer or landlord requests more than
one meter installation verification within any 12-month period, the Company will require
the requesting party to pay the Meter Verification Fee as set forth in Schedule 300, in
advance. If the Company determines that the meter is switched or mislabeled, it will
refund the deposit to the Customer and the Company will charge the Meter Verification
Fee set forth in Schedule 300, to the developer/owner for each meter installation
checked.

If a developer/owner or landlord requests the Company to verify or certify that each
meter base is labeled correctly, including when locations with multiple units are sold,
the Company will charge the party requesting such verification or certification the Meter
Verification Fee, as set forth in Schedule 300.

Il Metering — Direct Access

A.

Direct Access Meter Requirement

The Company’s metering standard for Direct Access and Standard Offer Consumers is
for remotely interrogated interval metering equipment. Direct Access and Standard
Offer Consumers that do not have installed remotely interrogated interval meters may
be metered using other approved Company metering equipment. In the absence of a
meter installation backlog, the Company will endeavor to install standard meter
equipment within 30 days of acceptance of a DASR or receipt of written or electronic
authorization for Standard Offer Service. In the event of a backlog, the Company will
notify the Consumer or Consumer's ESS and provide an estimate of the installation
date. The Company will provide metering equipment for all Consumers.

Meter Charge

Direct Access and Standard Offer Consumers taking Company-specified metering
services are obligated to pay the direct access metering charges stated in Schedule
300. Consumers taking non-standard metering services as described in Section II.E of
this Rule are obligated to pay the metering charges specified in the applicable contract.

Standard Services

The Company will provide Standard Metering Services without charge to Large
Nonresidential Consumers and will provide Standard Metering Services at a charge
stated in Schedule 300 to Small Nonresidential Consumers. Standard Metering
Services provided in conjunction with Direct Access and Standard Offer Service include:

(continued)

P.U.C. OR No. 36 Second Revision of Sheet No. R8-2

Canceling First Revision of Sheet No. R8-2

Issued May 12, 2022 Effective for service on and after August 10, 2022
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Metering — Direct Access (continued)

C. Standard Services (continued)

1. An interval meter equipped with a communication modem.

2. Installation, removal, testing and maintenance of the meter.

3 Remote communication equipment. Calling fees will be passed through to the
Consumer.

4. The meter readings and the results provided to ESS’ will be the same as those
used as the basis for the Company’s charges.

5. The standard method of communicating results of meter reading is specified in

the standard form of the Company’s ESS Service Agreement.

D. Standard Meter Capabilities
These include interval and remote communication functions.

E. Non-Standard Services
An ESS may request that the Company provide non-standard metering capabilities,
functions or services.

1. Requests must be submitted to the Company in writing.
The Company will consider and approve or deny the request within ten (10)
business days.

3. The Company will file with the Commission rates and charges for non-standard
metering capabilities, functions or services within thirty (30) days of approving a
request.

Terms and conditions for approved non-standard metering capabilities, functions or
services will be incorporated into the Company’s ESS Service Agreement.

Non-Radio Frequency Metering Accommodation

A Customer may request an alternative to the Company’s standard radio frequency meter
installation from the following:

a. Relocation of the Customer’s meter base to a different location approved by the
Company and the installation of a standard meter;

b. Relocation of the Customer's meter base to a different location approved by the
Company and the installation of a Company approved non-radio frequency meter;

c. Exchanging a standard meter for a Company approved non-radio frequency meter.

A Customer selecting the option to relocate the meter base will be subject to the meter
installation requirements of this regulation as well as Electric Service Rule 13. If the relocation
requires a change in the existing service the Customer is responsible for charges to relocate the
service including but not limited to the installation of conduit, trenching, obtaining easements,
and any additional costs of removing and installing new facilities. If an acceptable meter location
cannot be provided on the premises, the Customer’s request will not be granted. The Customer
must provide written permission of the owner stating the Customer has obtained the owner’s
permission to proceed with relocating the meter base.

(continued)
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Non-Radio Frequency Metering Accommodation (continued)

Customers who elect to have a non-radio frequency meter will be subject to installation of the
non-radio frequency meter as set forth in Schedule 300. All applicable fees will be paid prior to
the installation of the non-radio frequency meter. The Schedule 300 charges for the installation
is in addition to any aforementioned costs to relocate the Customer’s service.

If a radio frequency meter is installed at the Customer’s premise prior to January 1, 2018 and
the Customer requests a non-radio frequency meter, the Customer will not be required to pay
the installation charge in Schedule 300.

Only non-radio frequency meters approved, obtained, installed, and owned by the Company will
be allowed. The Customer’s request to replace a radio frequency meter with a non-radio
frequency meter cannot be accommodated until an approved non-radio frequency meter can be
obtained by the Company.

All Customers with a non-radio frequency meter shall be responsible to pay the monthly meter
reading fee in Schedule 300, which will be included in the Customer’s monthly service billing.

Customers with non-radio frequency meters may be excluded from participating in Company
offered programs for which a standard radio frequency meter is required.

The Company may revoke the meter exchange accommodation of a non-radio frequency meter
by reinstalling the Company’s standard radio frequency meter for any of the following conditions:

a. Meter tampering;

Impeding Company access to the meter to obtain monthly meter readings, perform
maintenance or to disconnect meter for non-payment of electric service; or

c. Service has been disconnected for non-payment of electric service twice within a
12-month period.

Customers opting-out of the Company’s standard metering and are metered by a non-standard
meter and are otherwise eligible for service under Schedule 4 Residential Service or have a
meter without a demand register and are eligible for service under Schedule 23 General Service,
Small Non-Residential may contract with the Company for a triannual meter reading schedule.
Meter readings will be three times a year and monthly billings between meter readings will be
based on estimated usage assumptions. At the discretion of the Company, meter readings may
be more frequent without any additional charge to the Customers. Customers are required to
pay the triannual meter reading fee as stated in Schedule 300, and enroll in the Company’s
Equal Payment Plan as described in Rule 10 of this tariff.

The Company reserves the right to remove a Customer from the triannual read program for any
of the following reasons:

The Customer is disconnected for nonpayment of bills,
The Customer fails to abide by the terms of the Equal Payment Plan, or
Safe and unobstructed access is not provided to the Company.

This option is not available for service in conjunction with net metering or time-of-use schedules.
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