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Update to Charges and Credits under Rule H, New Service Attachments 
and Distribution Line Installations or Alterations. 

STAFF RECOMMENDATION: 

Staff recommends that the Public Utility Commission of Oregon (Commission) approve 
Idaho Power Company’s (Idaho Power or Company) Advice No. 21-13, which updates 
its Rule H, New Service Attachments and Distribution Line Installations or Alterations, 
effective with service rendered on and after March 15, 2022. 

DISCUSSION: 

Issue 

Whether the Commission should approve Idaho Power’s Advice No. 21-13, which 
updates its Rule H, by modifying charges and allowances related to new service 
attachments and distribution line installations or alterations. 

Applicable Law 

ORS 757.205 requires public utilities to file schedules showing all rates, tolls, and 
charges for service that have been established and are in force at the time.  Pursuant to 
ORS 757.210, the Commission may approve tariff changes if they are deemed to be 
fair, just, and reasonable. 
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Filings that make any change in rates, tolls, charges, rules or regulations must be filed 
with the Commission at least 30 days before the effective date of the changes.  
ORS 757.220; OAR 860-022-0015.  Tariff filings to be effective on less than 30 days 
following notice of the change may be authorized with a waiver of less than statutory 
notice pursuant to ORS 757.220 and OAR 860-022-0020.  
 
Analysis 
 
Background 
Connection of a new customer to an electric utility requires a transformer (which may be 
shared with other customers) and an overhead or underground conductor that connects 
to the meter base.  Idaho Power’s term for those collective items is “Standard Terminal 
Facilities” (STF).  A portion of STF costs are recovered through every customer’s basic 
rates.  As the STF’s costs are recovered through the general revenue requirement, it 
would be inappropriate for a new customer to also be charged up front for those same 
basic facilities.  On the other hand, up-front charges to the new customer are 
appropriate to the degree that the connection costs exceed basic STF costs. 
 
Idaho Power’s Rule H, New Service Attachments and Distribution Line Installations and 
Alterations, plays a dual role at the time of a new service installation.  First, it 
establishes the costs and charges of all elements that may be involved with a new 
installation, such as the cost per foot of a conductor.  Second, Rule H establishes the 
basic STF cost, or allowance, above which the installation costs must be borne by the 
new customer.  Idaho Power annually updates costs of the various individual elements 
and the allowances to maintain their currency. 
 
Idaho Power filed Advice No. 21-13 on December 28, 2021, requesting updates to its 
Rule H, New Service Attachments and Distributions Line Installations or Alterations.  
Idaho Power seeks to update all Rule H charges and credits associated with new 
service attachments and distribution line installations or alterations to keep tariff rates 
current with actual costs. 
 
Generally these charges have increased.  Idaho Power notes that increases in 
materials, labor, and trench costs are the primary drivers for the changes.  As one 
example, Idaho Power notes in its application that the material costs for 2- and 3-inch 
risers increased by approximately 25 and 29 percent, respectively, and the labor rate for 
Rule H work increased from $71.00 to $75.00 per hour.  While the trenching cost 
associated with Company-installed 1/0, 4/0, and 350 underground cable has increased 
by 62 percent, Idaho Power indicates that less than one percent of customers chose to 
have the Company install trench and conduit for underground service attachments in 
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2021.1  Staff notes that the blended distance charge per foot increased 33 percent, 
32 percent, and 34 percent for Company-installed 1/0, 4/0, and 350 underground cable, 
respectively.2 
 
Additionally, Idaho Power proposes to increase the Single and Three Phase allowances 
from $2,262 to $2,455 and from $5,485 to $6,109, respectively.  The Company states 
that these increases were largely driven by the increased costs of transformers and 
labor, which are partially offset by a decrease in the general overhead rate from 
14.50 percent to 13.75 percent.3 
 
Overall, the Company is requesting changes to Rule H charges and allowances that 
range from four percent (two charges) to 34 percent (Distance Charge per foot for 
Company-installed 350 underground cable). 
 
Staff notes that the Company is not proposing any change in the methodology used to 
calculate either the customer charges or customer allowances, and this filing merely 
updates those values to maintain alignment with input costs. 
 
Review 
Staff has reviewed the filing to ensure that all changes to the tariff correspond with the 
calculated change in costs, as well as the calculated allowance offset.  Staff finds that 
the proposed updates have been correctly calculated and that the corresponding tariff 
updates are correct. 
 
Conclusion 
 
Based on Staff’s review of Idaho Power’s filing, Staff concludes that the proposed 
revisions are correct and consistent with applicable law.  Staff additionally finds that the 
proposed changes result in rates that are fair, just, and reasonable.  Staff recommends 
Idaho Power’s updated Rule H go into effect. 
 
 
PROPOSED COMMISSION MOTION: 
 
Approve Idaho Power’s Advice No. 21-13, updating its Rule H, New Service 
Attachments and Distribution Line Installations or Alterations, effective with service 
rendered on and after March 15, 2022. 

                                            
1 Pages 1 – 2 of Idaho Power’s filing.  For a list of all charges and their change from 2021 levels, see 
page 4 of the filing (Page 1 of the Summary of Charges). 
2 Id. 
3 Page 3 of Idaho Power’s filing. 


