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SUBJECT: CENTURYTEL OF OREGON, INC.: 
(Docket No. ADV 1316/Advice No. 374) 
Deletes residential Emergency Line Service and standardizes Copy of Bill 
charge terminology. 

STAFF RECOMMENDATION: 

Staff recommends that the Public Utility Commission of Oregon (Commission) allow the 
tariff changes filed by CenturyTel of Oregon, Inc. dba Centurylink (CenturyTel or 
Company) to become effective on November 17, 2021. 

DISCUSSION: 

Whether the Commission should allow CenturyTel's filed tariff changes to become 
effective. 

Applicable Rule or Law 

Telecommunications utilities are required under ORS 759.175 to submit filings to the 
Commission whenever they intend to change their rates, terms, or conditions of service. 

CenturyTel is regulated under a Price Plan pursuant to ORS 759.255 and Order 
No. 18-359 in Docket No. UM 1908. Section 8.a.i of the Price Plan requires CenturyTel 
to file all tariff changes with the Commission at least 30 days prior to the effective date 
of the change. 
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Pursuant to OAR 860-032-0020, a telecommunications utility may request to abandon a 
regulated service for which there are no current customers by filing a tariff change which 
deletes the regulated service. 

Analysis 

This filing was submitted on October 1, 2021, with a proposed effective date of 
November 17, 2021, in compliance with the 30-day filing requirement specified in the 
Price Plan. With this filing, the Company proposes to delete the residential Emergency 
Line Service offering from its tariff, and standardize the naming for the Copy of Bill 
charge. 

Emergency Line Service was previously introduced with Advice No. 358, effective 
January 31, 2018. This service consists of a residential access line with unlimited 
incoming calls, but with outgoing calls limited to those placed to 711 and 911. In the 
Advice Letter submitted with this filing, the Company states that "[d]uring its availability 
there have been no requests for the service and there is no anticipated demand." The 
Company further states that "[e]limination of this service option therefore does not 
impact customers." 

The Company also proposes to modify the Copy of Bill terminology as shown in 
Section 3.5 of its tariff. The Copy of Bill charge enables customers to request an 
additional copy of their regular monthly bill for a fee. The charge per copy is currently 
$7 .00 for business customers and $4.00 for residential customers. The Company 
proposes to add the text "(A.K.A. DUPLICATE BILL CHARGE)" next to the existing 
"COPY OF BILL" text. The Company states that the purpose of this change is to 
standardize the name "for consistency across all Centurylink ILECs." This text change 
does not result in any change to the amount of the charge. 

Conclusion 

Staff finds that this filing complies with applicable statutes, rules, and the terms of 
CenturyTel's Price Plan, and should be allowed to become effective. 

PROPOSED COMMISSION MOTION: 

Allow CenturyTel's filed tariff changes to become effective on November 17, 2021. 

CenturyTel.37 4. DeletesEmergencyLine. PMM 



CenturyTel of Oregon, Inc. d/b/a Centurylink 

OR PUC No. 6 

3.2 RESTORAL CHARGES 

NONRECURRING CHARGES 

Section 3 
4th Revised Page 4 

Cancels 3rd Revised Page 4 

Non-recurring service charges will apply as required to restore the service of a customer, which has 
been temporarily denied for nonpayment in accordance with the terms of this tariff. In case service 
has been denied for nonpayment of charges due, in addition to the charges for restoration, the 
customer will be required to pay all the last past due current exchange bill at the time of restoration 
of service. The charges for restoration will also apply in instances when payment is offered to an 
installer who is on the premises to disconnect a service for nonpayment. 

3.3 RETURNED CHECK CHARGE 

A. A service charge will be billed to any customer whose check is not honored by a bank or other 
financial institution because the account is closed or does not have sufficient funds to cover 
such check, or for any other reason. 

B. Charge per each returned check incident: $16.75 

3.4 LATE PAYMENT CHARGE 

A. A late payment charge will be applied to any amounts on a customer's bill not paid and carried 
over to the next bill. 

B. The late payment rate will be established by the Oregon Public Utility Commission in 
accordance with Oregon Administrative Rule (OAR) 860-021-0126. 

3.5 COPY OF BILL (A.K.A. DUPLICATE BILL CHARGE) 

A printed additional copy of regular monthly billing may be provided to customers upon request 
where such information is available and facilities permit. 

A nonrecurring charge applies for each printed copy furnished. 

Residence 

Charge per copy $ 4.00 

Advice No: 37 4 
Issued: October 1, 2021 
Issued by: CenturyTel of Oregon, Inc. d/b/a CenturyLink 
OR2021-20 

Received 
Filing Center 

OCT 01 2021 

Business 

$ 7.00 

Effective: November 17, 2021 

(T) 
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5.9 RESERVED 

Advice No: 37 4 
Issued: October 1, 2021 

BASIC EXCHANGE ACCESS SERVICE 

Issued by: CenturyTel of Oregon, Inc. d/b/a Centuryli[lk 
OR2021-20 Received 

Filing Center 
OCT 01 2021 

Section 5 
3rd Revised Page 15 

Cancels 2nd Revised Page 15 

Effective: November 17, 2021 

(C) 

(D) 

(D) 
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BASIC EXCHANGE ACCESS SERVICE 

5.10 VACATION NUMBER RESERVATION 

GENERAL 

Section 5 
1st Revised Page 15.1 

Cancels Original Page 15.1 

Vacation Number Reservation provides for temporary suspension of service at customer request for 
a period of not less than one (1) month and not to exceed nine (9) months in a twelve (12) month 
period. Vacation Number Reservation applies only to residential and business access line rates. It 
does not apply to Key, PBX, Centrex lines, or Trunks, calling features or bundled services. The 
customer's account must be current to be placed on Vacation Number Reservation. After service 
has been restored, there will be a minimum of one (1) month's charge for full service before the 
service can again be put on Vacation Number Reservation. 

CONDITIONS 

A. Telephone service will be completely disconnected during the period of Vacation Number 
Reservation; there will be no dial tone. 

B. If the customer has not requested that the service be restored after nine (9) months of Vacation 
Number Reservation, the service will revert back to the standard rate; however, full service 
(dial tone) will not be restored until the customer requests such by contacting the Telephone 
Company. The customer will be notified of the date of the discount expiration in advance. 

C. There will be no charge to activate Vacation Number Reservation. Applicable nonrecurring 
charges will apply each time Vacation Number Reservation is restored to full service. 

RATES 

The charge for Vacation Number Reservation is  Fifty (50) percent of  the regular flat rated monthly 
access line rate. 
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