
 
 
 
 

December 3, 2020 
 
 
Public Utility Commission of Oregon 
Attn: Filing Center  
201 High Street, S.E. 
P.O.  Box 1088  
Salem, OR 97308-1088 
 
RE: Advice No. 20-44, Rule E, Establishing Credit / Treatment of Deposits related 

to the Effects of the COVID-19 Pandemic on Utility Customers 
 
Portland General Electric Company (PGE) submits this filing pursuant to Oregon Revised 
Statutes 757.205 and 757.210, and Oregon Administrative Rule (OAR) 860-022-0025, for 
filing proposed tariff sheets associated with Tariff P.U.C. No. 18, with a requested 
effective date of January 1, 2021: 
 

Second Revision of Sheet No. E-2 
Second Revision of Sheet No. E-3 
Third Revision of Sheet No. E-5 

 
At its November 3, 2020 public meeting, the Public Utility Commission of Oregon adopted 
Staff’s recommendation in Docket No. UM 2114, Investigation into the Effects of the 
COVID-19 Pandemic on Utility Customers. On November 5, 2020 the Commission issued 
Order No. 20-401 in Docket No. UM 2114, Investigation into the Effects of the COVID-19 
Pandemic on Utility Customers formally approving Staff’s recommendation. 
 
The purpose of this filing is to update PGE’s Rule E Establishing Credit / Treatment of 
Deposits pursuant to the outline in the Staff Report approved by Order 20-401 included a 
recommendation that the Commission approve the Stipulated Agreement on the Effects 
of COVID-19 Pandemic on Energy Utility Customers. 
 
PGE added footnotes referencing that the Company will waive new deposit requirements 
associated with late or nonpayment, arrearages, or credit related issues for new or 
existing residential customers, through October 1, 2022 as outlined in OPUC Order No. 
20-401. Also, the Company will not apply service disconnection and reconnection fees to 
residential customers until October 1, 2022. In addition, the Company will not accrue and 
collect late payment fees, interest, and penalties for all residential customers retroactive 
to the date of the start of the Company's disconnect moratorium and through October 1, 
2022 as outlined in OPUC Order No. 20-401. 
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To satisfy the requirements of OAR 860-022-0025, PGE responds as follows: 

The changes do not increase, decrease, otherwise change existing rates, or impact 
revenues. The proposed updates to Rule E, Establishing Credit / Treatment of Deposits 
related to the Effects of the COVID-19 Pandemic on Utility Customers provide additional 
protections for PGE customers during this time of need and hardship. 
 
Due to the requested effective date and the less than 30-day notice, PGE is also 
submitting an application requesting a waiver of legal statutory notice, pursuant to ORS 
757.220 and OAR 860-022-0020. 
 
Please direct questions to Mary Widman at (503) 464-8223. Please direct all formal 
correspondence and requests to the following email address pge.opuc.filings@pgn.com 
 
 

Sincerely, 
 

\s\ Robert Macfarlane 
 
Robert Macfarlane 
Manager, Pricing and Tariffs 

 
 
Enclosures 



Portland General Electric Company Second Revision of Sheet No. E-2 
P.U.C. Oregon No. E-18 Canceling First Revision of Sheet No. E-2 
 

3) A letter from the Applicant’s employer, income provider or authorized 

representative verifying the Applicant’s ability to pay.  A letter from an 

employer must state that the Applicant is currently employed and has been 

employed the entire 12 months prior to the application, and must contain a 

telephone number for an authorized representative of the employer.  The 

Company must be able to verify the Applicant’s employment; or 

4) Payment of a Deposit as detailed below in Section C. 

C. Residential Deposit Requirements(1) 

In general, the Commission Credit Rules require that deposits be equal to two 

months' estimated billings (1/6 of the estimated annual usage) at the service 

address.  When a deposit is required, the charges specified in Schedule 310 may 

apply.  A deposit is required if any of the following is true about the Applicant or 

Customer: 

1) Does not establish credit as set forth in Subsections (1) through (3) of 

Section B above; 

2) Received equivalent Electricity Service from the Company or the same type 

of utility service from an Oregon-regulated utility within the preceding 24 

months and, at the time service was terminated, the Customer owed an 

account balance that was not paid according to its terms. This does not 

apply to Customers who registered a dispute with the Commission within 

60 days after service terminated and who promptly paid all undisputed or 

adjudicated amounts; 

3) Was previously terminated for Theft of Service by the Company or any 

Oregon-regulated utility or was otherwise found to have tampered with 

the meter, other utility facilities or diverted utility service; 

4) Was previously exempted from paying a deposit based upon false 

information given at the time of application; or 

5) Moves and the anticipated bill at the new residence will be at least 20% 

greater than that upon which any current deposit was based. 

 
 

(1) The Company will waive new deposit requirements associated with late or nonpayment, 
arrearages, or credit related issues for new or existing residential customers, through October 1, 
2022 as outlined in OPUC Order No. 20-401. 

 
  
Advice No. 20-44 
Issued December 3, 2020 Effective for service 
James F. Lobdell, Senior Vice President on and after January 1, 2021 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
(C) 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
(N) 
 
(N) 
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D. Timing and Payment of Residential Deposit (1) 

An Applicant or Customer who is required to pay a deposit or additional deposit 

may: 

1) Pay the deposit in full prior to receiving service;  

2) Enter into an agreement to pay the deposit in three installments, except 

where a deposit is required to reconnect service after disconnection for 

nonpayment (OAR 860-021-0335), in which case the whole deposit is due 

prior to reconnection; or 

3) Provide a letter of guaranty. 

If the Applicant or Customer chooses to enter into a deposit installment agreement 

they must do so within five business days from the date of notice from the 

Company that a deposit is required.  Except for the last payment, installments must 

be the greater of $30 or 1/3 of the deposit.  The Applicant or Customer must pay 

the first installment immediately.  The remaining installments will be due 30 and 60 

days after the first installment payment.  If a Customer has an existing deposit on 

file with the Company, and an additional amount is being added to the deposit due, 

any additional installment payment(s) will be adjusted to include the additional 

deposit; however, two payments will not be required within the same 30 day period. 

If a Customer fails to abide by the terms of a deposit installment agreement, the 

Company may disconnect service after making a good-faith effort to contact the 

Customer in person or by mailing a notice no less than six business days before 

disconnection.  Should disconnection for nonpayment of a deposit occur, the 

Customer is required to pay: the full amount of the unpaid deposit balance, any 

applicable Reconnection charge, Late Payment Charge, and 1/2 of any past due 

amount before service is restored (2).  The balance of the past due amount is to be 

paid within 30 days of the date service is restored.  A Customer may continue with 

an existing time payment agreement by paying all past-due installments along with 

the full deposit and other applicable charges [OAR 860-21-0205(7)]. 

(1) The Company will waive new deposit requirements associated with late or nonpayment, 
arrearages, or credit related issues for new or existing residential customers, through October 1, 
2022 as outlined in OPUC Order No. 20-401 
(2) The Company will not apply service disconnection and reconnection fees to residential 
customers until October 1, 2022. In addition, the Company will not accrue and collect late payment 
fees, interest, and penalties for all residential customers retroactive to the date of the start of the 
utility's disconnect moratorium and through October 1, 2022 as outlined in OPUC Order No. 20-
401. 

  
Advice No. 20-44 
Issued December 3, 2020 Effective for service 
James F. Lobdell, Senior Vice President on and after January 1, 2021 

(C) 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
(C) 
 
 
 
 
 
(N) 
 
 
 
 
 
 
(N) 



Portland General Electric Company Third Revision of Sheet No. E-5 
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 F. Treatment and Refund of Residential Deposits (1) 

 The Company will furnish a receipt upon payment of deposit and will hold the 

deposit until credit is satisfactorily established or re-established.  For the purposes 

of this section of the rule, credit is considered to be established or re-established 

if, at the end of 12 months after a deposit is paid in full: 

1) The account is current; 

2) The Customer has not been issued more than two 5 day disconnection 

notices during the previous 12 months; and 

3) The Customer was not disconnected for nonpayment, meter tampering, or 

diversion of electricity service during the previous 12 months. 

 

In the event the Customer moves to a new address within the Company's Service 

Territory and the Company is holding a deposit in accordance with this rule, the 

deposit, plus accrued interest, will be transferred to the new account. 

G. Interest Accrual 

Deposits will accrue interest at a rate prescribed by order of the Commission and 

set forth in Schedule 300.  If a deposit is held beyond 12 months, accrued interest 

will be paid by a credit to the Customer's account on the next bill for service 

following the anniversary of the accrual date.  Interest will be prorated on deposits 

held by the Company for less than a full 12 months. 

H. Delinquent Accounts 

When residential service is voluntarily closed, the Company will refund a Customer 

deposit with interest accrued at the rate as listed in Schedule 300, except that such 

refund will first be applied to reduce or eliminate any unpaid balance(s) on any 

other Customer account(s). 

 

The Company is under no obligation to draw on deposits to cure delinquency of an 

active Customer account. 

 
 
 
 
 

(1) The Company will waive new deposit requirements associated with late or nonpayment, 
arrearages, or credit related issues for new or existing residential customers, through October 1, 
2022 as outlined in OPUC Order No. 20-401. 

 
  
Advice No. 20-44 
Issued December 3, 2020 Effective for service 
James F. Lobdell, Senior Vice President on and after January 1, 2021 

(C) 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
(N) 
 
(N) 



LESS THAN STATUTORY NOTICE APPLICATION 
 

This document may be electronically filed by sending it as an attachment to an electronic mail  
message addressed to the Commission's Filing Center at puc.filingcenter@state.or.us. 

 
 

BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION OF OREGON 

   
IN THE MATTER OF THE APPLICATION OF ) UTILITY L.S.N. APPLICATION 

Portland General Electric Company 
) 

NO.        
 

(UTILITY COMPANY) )      (LEAVE BLANK) 

TO WAIVE STATUTORY NOTICE. )  

NOTE: ATTACH EXHIBIT IF SPACE IS INSUFFICIENT. 

1. GENERAL DESCRIPTION OF THE PROPOSED SCHEDULE(S) ADDITION, DELETION, OR CHANGE. (SCHEDULE INCLUDES 
ALL RATES, TOLLS AND CHARGES FOR SERVICE AND ALL RULES AND REGULATIONS AFFECTING THE SAME) 

The purpose of this filing is to update PGE’s Rule E Establishing Credit / Treatment of Deposits pursuant to the outline in 
the Staff Report approved by Order 20-401 included a recommendation that the Commission approve the Stipulated 
Agreement on the Effects of COVID-19 Pandemic on Energy Utility Customers.      

2. APPLICANT DESIRES TO CHANGE THE SCHEDULE(S) NOW ON FILE KNOWN AND DESIGNATED AS: (INSERT SCHEDULE 
REFERENCE BY NUMBER, PAGE, AND ITEM) 

First Revision of Sheet No. E-2 
First Revision of Sheet No. E-3 
Second Revision of Sheet No. E-5      

3. THE PROPOSED SCHEDULE(S) SHALL BE AS FOLLOWS: (INSERT SCHEDULE REFERENCE BY NUMBER, PAGE AND ITEM) 
Second Revision of Sheet No. E-2 
Second Revision of Sheet No. E-3 
Third Revision of Sheet No. E-5 

4. REASONS FOR REQUESTING A WAIVER OF STATUTORY NOTICE: 

A Waiver of Statutory Notice is requested due to the requested effective date of January 1, 2021 

5. REQUESTED EFFECTIVE DATE OF THE NEW SCHEDULE(S) OR CHANGE(S): January 1, 2021 

 

. AUTHORIZED SIGNATURE 

 

TITLE 

\s\ Robert Macfarlane 
Manager, Pricing & Tariffs 

DATE 

December 3, 2020 

PUC USE ONLY 

  APPROVED   DENIED EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED SCHEDULE(S) OR CHANGE 

      

AUTHORIZED SIGNATURE DATE 

      
PUC FORM FM260 (2-2015) 

□ □ 
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