ENTERED Jun 17 2020

BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION

OF OREGON

UM 1631

In the Matter of

NORTHWEST NATURAL GAS COMPANY, dba NW NATURAL,

ORDER

Petition for Partial Waiver of OAR 860-021-0410(4), Emergency Medical Certificates for Residential Electric and Gas Service.

DISPOSITION: TIME LINE SPECIFIED IN ORDER NO. 20-138 AMENDED

On April 27, 2020, the Commission issued Order No. 20-138, adopting a Staff recommendation, approving Northwest Natural Gas Company, dba NW Natural's partial waiver request of OAR 860-021-0410(4) for a period of 60 days, commencing April 22, 2020. This rule addresses the duration of an Emergency Medical Certificate for qualifying residential customers with documented health conditions. The Emergency Medical Certificate has the effect of preventing a utility from disconnecting a customer from service in the event of non-payment. A waiver of OAR 860-021-0410(4) effectively extends the duration of Emergency Medical Certificates, preventing disconnection where disconnection might have occurred absence the waiver.

On June 15, 2020, NW Natural filed a motion to amend Order No. 20-138 to extend the temporary partial waiver of OAR 860-021-0410(4) an additional 90 days, which would result in the waiver expiring on September 19, 2020. NW Natural asserts there is good cause to approve this motion given the continuing COVID-19 public health emergency.

The Chief Administrative Law Judge has been delegated the authority to modify time lines specified in a Commission order. Exercising that authority, I amend Order No. 20-138 to change expiration of the rule waiver from June 21, 2020 to September 19, 2020.

Made, entered, and effective

Jun 17, 2020

Nolan Moser

Chief Administrative Law Judge

OF OREGOT

¹ See In the Matter of Public Utility Commission of Oregon, The Delegation of Certain Duties an Powers of the Public Utility Commission of Oregon, Docket No. CD 24, Order No. 19-032, Appendix E (Jan 31, 2019).

A party may request rehearing or reconsideration of this order under ORS 756.561. A request for rehearing or reconsideration must be filed with the Commission within 60 days of the date of service of this order. The request must comply with the requirements in OAR 860-001-0720. A copy of the request must also be served on each party to the proceedings as provided in OAR 860-001-0180(2). A party may appeal this order by filing a petition for review with the Circuit Court for Marion County in compliance with ORS 183.484.