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ENTERED NOV § 7 2012
BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION

OF OREGON
UW 149
In the Matter of

CROOKED RIVER RANCH WATER ORDER
COMPANY

Request for a General Rate Revision.

DISPOSITION:  STIPULATION ADOPTED
I.  INTRODUCTION

Crooked River Ranch Water Company (Crooked River) filed its application on

February 15, 2012, requesting an increase in its water rates of $62,495 (10.6 percent),
Advice No. 12-1. Crooked River is a non-profit, mutual benefit corporation with
members that provides water service to about 1505 customers at Crooked River Ranch, a
12,000 acre umincorporated private resort community with a population of about 5,000.

On March 7, 2012, the Commission suspended Advice No. 12-1 for a period of nine
months, to complete its investigation, under ORS 757.210 and ORS 757.215.

A Public Comment Open House and Prehearing Conference were held in Crooked River
Ranch on April 5, 2012. Petitions to intervene were filed by Steven Cook and Barbara
Oakley. Their petitions were granted in rulings by the administrative law judge.

On September 28, 2012, the Staff of the Public Utility Commission of Oregon filed a
stipulation and supporting testimony. Parties to the stipulation are Crooked River, Staff,
Intervenors Cook and Oakley. No person has filed an objection to the stipulation, and the
time for doing so has passed. Staff’s testimony is received as evidence. The stipulation
is attached to this order as Appendix A.

II. STIPULATION

The parties propose a rate increase of one percent over adjusted test year revenues,
effective for service rendered on and after December 21, 2012. The increase results in a
net operating income of $0 and a zero percent return on rate base, reflecting Crooked
River’s non-profit, mutual benefit corporation status. The parties propose a monthly
metered customer base rate of $23.00 and a two-tier commodity rate, with the higher
second tier rate applicable to volumes greater than 6,000 cubic feet per month. They also
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propose Temporary Community Events and Water Hauier commodity rates. For both
rate schedules, the proposed rate is equal to the second tier rate on the Metered Customer
rate schedule.

In the stipulation, the parties agree that Crooked River’s tariffs contain the following
items:

¢ A Double Check Valve Assembly (DCVA) Installation Program
(Program) tariff to achieve compliance with the Cross Connection Control
Program requirements of the Oregon Health Authority’s Drinking Water
Section (DWS). The Program would be offered to all customers that do
not have a DCVA installed. Customers that opt out of the Program must
install a DCVA as required.

o A DCVA Maintenance, Repair and Testing Services (Services) tariff that will
apply to customers that opt out of the Program and customers that own their own
DCVAs, unless such customers opt-out.

¢ Miscellaneous service charges in Schedule No. 6 that, among other things,
includes the cost of a meter as part of the connection charge for new service.

The parties also propose that Crooked River combine its Assessment Fund into its
Contingency Fund to form a single reserve fund for improvements, repairs and
emergencies. The parties also agree that $43,240 of the combined Contingency Fund
may be used as working cash.

As part of the parties’ settlement, Crooked River agrees to remove its proposed Power
Cost Adjustment tariff and to the following conditions: (1) Crooked River will file a rate
case on or before January 5, 2016, (2) Crooked River will file a two-part annual report to
the Commission; and (3) within 30 days of the date of this order approving the
stipulation, Crooked River will transfer its Assessment Fund balance into the company’s
Contingency Fund.

III. STAFF TESTIMONY

Staff first recounts Crooked River’s regulatory history, noting that the Commission’s
jurisdiction is based on petitions filed by Crooked River’s customers in 2006. Only after
decisions by this Commission, the Oregon Court of Appeals, and the Jefferson County
Circuit Court, was the jurisdictional question finally settled in Order No. 11-060, entered
February 18,2011. A key part of that process was a sweeping change in Crooked River’s
board of directors and management. The regulatory history is relevant because some of
the ratemaking issues relate to the accounting practices of the prior management.

As noted above, the stipulation provides for a zero percent return on rate base for
Crooked River, as requested by the company. Crooked River is a nonprofit, mutual
benefit association, with members. All customers are members and owners. Staff
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describes how the stipulation provides the means for Crooked River to acquire capital to
fund major repairs, respond to emergencies, and make improvements with no return on
rate base.

Staff proposes that the Commission approve a System Program Fund for Crooked River
(Contingency Fund). Based on its study of the risk factors facing Crooked River, Staff
believes the benchmark for the company’s reserve account should be at least six months
of its annual operating expenses of $259,438. The current balance of the fund is $70,000.

Crooked River currently has an Assessment Fund remaining from a rate surcharge
imposed by its prior management. The fund has a remaining balance of $93,577. Statf
proposes that the Assessment Fund balance be transferred to the Contingency Fund,
resulting in a balance of $163,577, leaving a shortfall of $95,861, relative to the optimum
balance.

Although the purpose of the Contingency Fund is to provide for repairs and capital
expenditures, Staff intends that $43,240 of the fund be used for working cash.! Working
cash is based on one month of annual operating expenses.

Staff proposes that Crooked River report its Contingency Fund expenditures annually.
Capital expenditures from the fund will be considered Contributions in Aid of
Construction in future rate cases and not allowed in rate base.

Staff reports its adjustments to Crooked River’s proposed test year revenues. The effect
of Staff’s adjustments was to reduce test year revenue from $590,324 to $572,348.

Staff made a number of adjustments to Crooked River’s test period expenses, both
upward and downward. The net effect of Staff’s adjustments reduced test year expenses
from $563,636 to $518,863. In its testimony supporting the stipulation, Staff explains its
significant adjustments in detail. The final revenue requirement is $577,793.

As explained by Staff, DWS requires water systems to implement a Cross Connection
Control Program. DWS rules require the installation of a protective device for all
customers that represent cross connection hazards. The standard of what presents a
potential hazard is determined by each utility. '

A DCVA is a type of back-flow prevention device that protects water supply from cross
contamination. Crooked River determined that all connections present a potential health
hazard and requires that all customers have a DCVA installed on their service lines.

Crooked River proposed a $70,000 annual expense to provide for the installation of
DCVAs on 120 customer lines per year. Staff explains that the company can achieve the
same result through a separate tanff that would have the customers pay directly for their

'l rafemaking, wotking cash is a component of rate base and would earn a return, Because Crooked River
has a zero percent rate of return, it does not earn a return on its working cash.
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DCVA purchase and installation. The stipulation incorporates Staff’s proposed tariff
approach.

Staff notes that water meters typically are paid for by the utilities and their cost included
in rate base. Staff further notes the non-profit status on Crooked River and its earlier
practice of requiring customers to pay for their meters. Staff’s proposal to include the
meter cost in the service connection charge is incorporated in the stipulation.

Regarding Crooked River’s request for an automatic power cost adjustment clause, Staff
testified that such a clause is not necessary at this time, noting that purchased power costs
are not substantial risk for the company. :

Staff explains its proposed rate design in some detail. Key elements of the proposed rates
include consideration of the high seasonality of water use and conservation. Staff
describes how it derives its proposed base rates, consumption tiers, and commodity rates.

Regarding the terms of the stipulation, Staff explains several provisions where the parties
agreed to values that are different from the amounts proposed by Staff. The stipulated
changes increased the company’s proposed annual revenue requirement.

With regard to rate design, Staff notes that the stipulation provides for a higher allocation
of the revenue requirement to the base rate than Staff had proposed. According to Staff,
the parties reviewed the company’s revenue requirement expenses and agree that the base
rate is sufficient to meet Crooked River’s expenses during the low usage winter months.

With regard to the rate impact and in light of the rate design changes, the monthly bills
will decrease a small percentage for customers who use less than 300 cubic feet.
Customers who use more than 300 cubic feet will have their monthly bills increase by a
greater percentage the more water they use.

IV.  RESOLUTION

Given Crooked River’s contentious history, the Commission anticipated that its first
general rate case after the company’s change in management would be subject to careful
scrutiny from customers and Staff. Staff’s extensive testimony confirms that many issues
were raised and resolved in reaching the stipulation.

Staff’s proposals are explained and supported in detail. Staff also explains the terms of
the stipulation that differ from Staff’s proposals. The record is fully developed. We
- approve the stipulation in its entirety.
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V. ORDER

IT IS ORDERED that:
1. Advice No. 12-1 1s permanently suspended;

2. The stipulation between Crooked River Ranch Water Company, the Public Utility
Commission of Oregon Staff, Steven Cook, and Barbara Qakley, attached as
Appendix A is adopted.

3. Crooked River Ranch Water Company is authorized to file its tariffs in accord
with the stipulation, with an effective date of December 21, 2012.

NOV 672012

Made, entered, and effective

ﬁf\/}“b’u&{"- EAV@,M / \_‘é[g{z
! Susan K. Ackerman V John Sav;a/ge
Chair ‘

Stephen M. Bloom
Commissioner

A party may request rchearing or reconsideration of this order under ORS 756.561. A
request for rehearing or reconsideration must be filed with the Commission within 60 days
of the date of service of this order. The request must comply with the requirements in
OAR 860-001-0720. A copy of the request must also be served on each party to the
proceedings as provided in OAR 860-001-0180(2). A party may appeal this order by filing
a petition for review with the Court of Appeals in compliance with ORS 183.480 through
183.484.
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BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION
OF OREGON
UW 149
In the Matter of )

Crooked River Ranch Water Company ) STIPULATION
Application for General Rate Increase )

Crooked River Ranch Water Company's (CRRWC or Company) appearing
by and through its attorney Tommy Brooks; the Public Utility Commission of
Oregon Staff (Staff) appearing by and through its attorney, Jason W. Jones,
Assistant Attorney General; and Intervenors Steven Clook and Barbara Oakley
(Intervenors), hereafter collectively referred to as the Parties, enter into this
Stipulation in resolution of all issues in the case.

| 1.

The Parties support entering into evidence, without requiring any Party o
lay a foundation for its admission, this Stipulation and Attachments A (revenue
requirement) and B (tariffs) to this Stipulation and Staff's written testimony and
exhibits marked as Staff/100, Willis/1-37 and Staff/101, Willis/1-12.

2,

The Parties support and recommend the Commission adopt a one pefcent
increase over adjusted test year revenues. The increase resulis in a total revenue
requirement of $577,793, total revenue deductions of $577,793, and a net

operating income of $0. Additionally, the Parties support and recommend

APPENDIX A
Page 1 of 38
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the Commission adopt a zero percent return on rate base of $541,052. The
stipulated revenue requirement is included as Attachment A to this Stipulation.
| 3.

The Parties agree to and support the stipulated rates, fees, rules and
regulations contained in Attachment B to this Stipulation, CRRWC's tariff sheets
designated as PUC Oregon No. 2, Original Sheets Nos. 1 through 26.

4.

The Parties agree to and support a Metered Customer base rate and a two-
tiered commodity rate shown in Attachment B to this Stipulation, designated as
PUC Oregon No. 2, Schedule No. 1, Original Sheet No. 3, for metered customers.
The metered customers wili be charged a $23.00 monthly base rate and a first tier
rate of $0.83 per each 100 cubic feet {cf) of water use up to 8,000 cf per month.
The second tier rate is $0.23 for each 100 cf of water used abéve 6,000 cf per
month.

5.

The Parties agree to and support a Temporary Community Events
commodity rate shown in Attachment B to this Stipulation, designated as PUC
Oregon No. 2, Schedule No. 2, Original Sheet No. 4. Temporary Service for
Community Events will be charged a monthly commodity rate of $0.93 per each

100 cubic feet of water usage with no base rate.

APPENDIX A
Page 2 of 38
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6.
The Parties agree to and support a Water Haulers commadity rate shown in
Attachment B to this Stipulation, designated as PUC Oregon No. 2, Schedule
No. 3, Original Sheet No. 5. Water Haulers will be charged a monthly commodity
rate of $0.93 per each 106 cubic feet of water use with no base rate.
7.

The Parties agree to and support a Double Check Valve Assembly (DCVA)

~ Instaliation Program (Program) tariff to achieve compliance with the Oregon Health

Authority, Drinking Water Section's Cross Connection Cdn’trol Program
requirements. The Program is offered to all customers that currently do not have a
DCVA installed. Customers agreeing 1o the CRRWC Program will abid-e by the
proviSions set forth in Schedule No. 4, tariff sheets designated PUC Oregon No. 2,
Original Sheets Nos.8 and 7. Customers that opt out of the Program must install a
DCVA as required.
8.

~ The Parties also agree to and support a DCVA Maintenance, Repair, and
Testing Services (Services) tariff. CRRWC's Services are to be offered to
customers that opt out of CRRWC's DCVA I‘nstallaﬁon Program and customers
that own their own DCVAs. The Services charge will apply to customers unless
they notify CRRWC that they will "opt out" of CRRWC's Services. Customers |
agreeing 1o CRRWC Services will abide by the- provisions set forth in Schedule

No. 5, tariff sheets designated PUC Oregon No. 2, Original Sheets Nos. 8 and 9.

. APPENDIX A
"Page 3 of 38
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Q.

The Parties agree to and support CRRWC's Miscellaneous Services
Charges according to Schedule No. 6 as set forth in the tariff sheet designated
PUC Oregon No. 2, Original Sheet No. 10.

10.

CRRWC agrees to remove its proposed Power Cost Adjustment tariff,

consistent with Staff's recommendation and thé support of the other Parties.
11.

The Parties agree to and support that CRRWC will combine its Assessment
Fund into its Contingency Fund within 30 days of the date of the Commission order
in this docket, to form a single reserve fund for improvements, repairs, and
emergencies. The Parties also agree 1o and support that $43,240 of the combined
Contingency Fund may be used as working cash.

12.

The Parties agree to and support the following conditions:

C1. CRRWC will file a rate case with the Commission on or before January 5, 2016.
C2. CRRWC wil file a two-part annual report to the Commission. First, CRRWC
will provide a listing of all reserve account expenditures in line item format; and -
secondly, CRRWC will provide to the Commission annually, a report indicating the
working cash component used by CRRWC for each month of the preceding year,
broken out éeparate}y from the Contingency Fund expenditure listing referred to

above. Both reports are to be attached fo and filed with CRRWC's annual repott.

APPENDIX A
. Page 4 of 38
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C3. Within 30 days of the date of the order approving the Stipulation, CRRWGC will
transfer ifs Assessment Fund balance into the Contingency Fund, creating one
reserve account to be used for repairs, improvements, replacements, and
emergencies.

13.

The Parties agree to and support the rates being effective for service
rendered on and after December 21, 2012,

14,

By entering into this Stipulation, no Party shall be deemed to have
approved, accepted, or consented to the facts, principles, methods, or theories
employed by any other Party in arriving to this Stipulation.

15.

. The Parties have negotiated this agre.ement in good faith and recommend
that the Commission adopt this Stipulation in its entirety. The Parties have
negoftiated this Stipulation as an integrated document. Accordingly, if the
Commission rejects all or any material portion of this Stipulation, each Party
reserves the right, upon written notice to the Commission and all Parties to this
proceeding within 15 days of the date of the Commission’s order, to withdraw from
the Stipulation and request an opportunity for the presentation of additional

evidence and argument.

APPENDIX A
Page 5 of 38
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16.
The Parties understand that this Stipulation is not binding on the
Commissien in ruling on this application and does not foreclose the Commission

from addressing other issuies.

W

BATED this 27 day of September 2012.

Respectiully submitted,
ELLEN F. ROSENBLUM
Attorney General

GLACN &

Jason W. Jones, # 00059
Assistant Attorney General
Attorney for PUC Siaff -

APPENDIX A
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16.
The Parties understand that this Stipulation is not binding on the
Commission in ruling on this application and does not foreclose the Commission

from addressing other issues.

DATED this /Z day of September 2012.

Dennis Kirk
President
Crooked River Ranch Water Company

APPENDIX A
Page 7 of 38
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18.
The Parties understand that this Stipulation is not binding on the
Commission in ruling on this application and does not foreclose the Commission

from addressing cther issues.

DATED this /7% day of September 2012.

rdd

P A

Frank Day
Manager
Crooked River Ranch Water Company.

APPENDIX A
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16.
The Parties undersiand that this Stipuiation is not binding on the
Commission in ruling on this application and does not foreclese the Commission

from addressing other issues.

l
AL
DATED this 2.7 day of September 2012.

{7
LT

Tommy Brooks
Attorney
Crooked River Ranch Water Company

APPENDIX A
Page 9 of 38
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16.
The Parties understand that this Stipulation is not binding on the
Commission in ruling on this application and does not foreclose the Commission

from addressing other issues.

f#x
DATED ’{hils f 2 day of September 2012.

Steven Cook
Customer of Crooked River Ranch Water Company
Intervener ‘

APPENDIX A
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16.
The Parties understand that this Stipulation is not binding on the
Commission in ruling on this application and does not foreclose the Commission

from addressing other issues.

DATED this QQ%%ay of September 2012.

P

Ao

éwﬁi/{m Cﬁjg"f"h /
N\ - J

Barbara Oakley
Customer of Crooked River Ranch Water Company
[ntervener

bl APPENDIX A
- Page 11 of 38
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DOCKET NO. UW 149
Test Year: 2011

592,173
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£ ATTACHMENT A

77,792

518,083

s
518,877

Acel.
No. REVENUES
7| 461.4iResidential Water Sales
2 Refmbursements
3 Cell Tower Income
4 Labor
5 71| Miss. Revenues
5 Conneciions
7 TOTAL REVENUE
8
9 QOPERATING EXPENSES
10| 501| Salartes and Wages - Employees
11 Utilities (Garbage)
12| _B604| Emplovee Pension & Benigfits
13 Debt Service Bxp
141 611] Telephons/Comenunications
16| 815} Purchased Power
16 Contingengy Fund
17| 819] Office Supplies
15| 619.1) Postage
18] 620{ O8M Materisis/Suppties
201 621} Repairs to Water Plant
211 B3] Coniract Sves - Engineering
221 632 Confract Svcs - Accounting
231 633 Contract Svos - Legal
241 834| Contract Sves - Manegement Fees
25] 835] Confract Sves - Testing
28| 636! Coniract Sves - Labor
27 Contract Sves - Janitorial
281  638] Contract Sves - Meter Reading
29! 638 Contract Sves - Other
30 Contract - Labor Professiona)
31|  642| Rental of Equipment
32| 643 Small Tools
33| 648| ComputerEleckonic Expenses
34| 650! Transportation
35; 656 Vehicle Insurance
36 667| General Liability Ihsurance
371 658 Workers' Comp Insurance
38! 659} imsurance - Dther
38 £601 Public Relations/Advertising
401 866] Amortz. of Rate Case
41} 667] Gross Revenue Fee (PUC}
42 DCVA Program Expense Account
43 DCVA Installation/Capital Expendifili
44 \Aater Survey
45 Locates
46| 573[ Training and Certification
47| &r| Consumer Confidence Report
48| 678| General Expense
48 TOTAL OPERATING EXPENSE
50
51 OTHER REVENUE DEDUCTIONS
521 403} Depreciation Expense &
53] 407 Amertization Expense
54| 408.1; Properly Tax
55| 408.11 Payroll Tax
55| 408{Cel Tower Propery Tax
57| 408.1] Oragon Income Tax
581409.10; Federal lncome Tax
-1 59 TOTAL REVENUE DEDUCTIONS
&0 NET OPERATING INCOME
81
621 101] Utility Plant in Service
53 Less:
541 108.1| Depreciation Reserve
85! 71| Contributions in Aid of Corst
651 272| Amortization of GIAC
67 281| Accumuiated Deferrad Income Tax
&8 Net Utllity Plant
69 Plus: {working capitah
701 151} Matsrials and Supplies inventory
71 Worldng Cash {Total Op Exp £12)
72 TOTAL RATE BASE
73 Rate of Retun

Page 12 of 38



PUC Oregon No. 2

Page 1 of 26

Containing Rules and Regulations
Governing Water Utility Service

NAMING RATES FOR

Serving water in the vicinity of
Crooked River Ranch, Oregon

lzsus Date / Filing Dals ; Effective for Service on or after

Issued By Utility

Advice No.

(FOR PUC USE ONLY}

APPENDIX A
Page 13 of 38




Schedule No.

Table of Contents

Page 2 of 26

Page No.
THlE Page... oot 1
INAEX et 2
Residential/Commercial Metered Rates...........cco.ocoovve e 3
Temporary Community Event Water Service............co......... 4
Water Hauler Water Service ................ e r e 5
DCVA Installation Program ................ e reatr i —n i n—an—asane B-7
DCVA Maintenance, Repair & Testing Services 8-9
Miscellaneous Charges..........ccoovioorririeicce e 10
Rules and Regulations.......ccoooivecoiiiceiee et 11-26

issue Date / Filing Daie

Effective for Service on or after

issued By Uiility

Advice No.

(FOR PUC USE ONLY)
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SCHEDULE NO. 1

RESIDENTIAL/COMMERCIAL METERED RATES

Available: To customers of the Uiility at Crooked River Ranch, Oregon, and vicinity.

Applicable: To residential and commercial premises.

Base Rate
SERVICE METER SiZE MONTHLY BASE RATE USAGE ALLOWANCE MEASURING UNIT

All sizes - $23.00 nons 100 cubic feet

Commodity (Or Variable) Usage Rate

RATE UNITS LIMITS
Tier 1 $.83 Per each 100 cubic feet Up to 6,000 cubic fest per month
Tier 2 f_$.93 Per each 100 cubic feet 6,001 cubic feet and above per month

1. These rates are based on continuous service. Discontinuation of service may not be employed to |
-avoid monthly charges for service. See Rule No. 27, Veluntary Discontinuance.

2. Woater used during the construction of buildings, etc., shall be metered. Charges shall be made at the
rates specified in this schedule. When setting of a mefer is impracticable, the amount of water used
shall be estimated, and the charges shall be made at specified rates for the amounts so estimated.

{ssué Date / Filing Date Effective for Service on or after

issued By Utility

Advice No.

(FOR PUC USE ONLY)

APPENDIX A
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Page 4 of 26

SCHEDULE NO. 2

RATES FOR TEMPORARY WATER SERVICE FOR
COMMUNITY SPONSORED EVENTS

Purpose: To provide temporary water service to community sponsored events,

Available: To temporary community sponsored events where Crooked River Ranch Water
service is available. The location of the community sponsored event must have an
established service connection. , '

Applicable: To ail temporary community sponsored events.

TEMPORARY COMMUNITY EVENT WATER SERVICE
| MONTHLY RATE

$0.93 per 100 cubic feet |

Special Provisions:

1. Meters will be provided by Crooked River Ranch Water Company. .

Issue Date / Filing Date | Effective for Service on or after

tssued By Uity

Advice No.

(FOR PUC USE ONLY}

APPENDIX A
Page 16 of 38



SCHEDULE NO. 3

RATES FOR WATER HAULERS

ORDER NO. n}\:? - ‘_,er,

iginal Sheet No. 5

" Page 5 0f 26

Available: To water haulers in Jefferson County where the Utility’s facility and excess capacity
exist. Determination of adequacy of facilities and capacity is the sole discretion of
Crooked River Ranch Water Company. Each commercial water truck must be
equipped with a suitable hydrant meter, suitable backflow prevention devices, and a

fire hydrant wrench.

Applicable: To all water haulers

WATER HAULERS MONTHLY RATE

$0.93 per 100 cubic feet

Special Provisions:

1. Truck meters must be presented at Crooked River Ranch Water Company office between
the 21 and the 25" of each month. Bills for service are due in accordance with this tariff.

2. Commercial water haulers detected not using meters or proper equipment may be denied

service for one month for the first offense. Upon Commission approval, CRRWC may
deny service based upon evidence of a second offense.

issue Date / Filing Date

Effactive for Service on or after

issued By Utility

Advice No.

(FOR PUC USE ONLY)

APPENDIX A
Page 17 of 38
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PUC Oregon No. 2

Page 6 of 26
SCHEDULE NO. 4
DCVA INSTALLATION PROGRAM

Purpose: Crooked River Ranch Water Company (CRRWC) desires to offer a double check
valve assembly (DCVA) purchase and installation program to CRRWC's
customers.

Available: This program is available to customers of Crooked River Ranch Water Company,
in Croocked River Ranch, Oregon, and vicinity.

Applicable: To residential and commercial/industrial premises with 17 or smaller customer

service lines.

Requirements:

Oregon Administrative Rules Chapter 333, Division 061, administered by the Oregon Health
Authority, Drinking Water Section (DWE) requires CRRWC to implement a Cross Connection
Control Program. CRRWC is required to identify and notify all customers whose water
facilities represent a potentiai health hazard to CRRWC's water supply. It is up to CRRWC to
determine what a potential health threai is. CRRWC's policy is to require g DCVA for all
customer lines. CRRWC will notify customers of the required DCVA in a systematic manner
over the next 10 year. CRRW(C is offering a DCVA [nstallation Program.

Enrollment;

1. CRRWC wiil notify customers when their DCVAs are required. CRRWC will
AUTOMATICALLY ENROLL the customers in its DCVA Installation Program UNLESS the
customer signs the "OPT OUT" form provided in the notice and returns the form to CRRWC
within 30 days of receipt of the notification.

2. For customers who are automatically enrolled in the Program, CRRWC will schedule and
install an approved DCVA at the meter box and bill the customer for the service at cost.
Time payment arrangements are available by calling CRRWC.

Effective for Service on or afte

Issua Date f Filing Dale

issued By Utility

Advice No.

(FOR PUC USE ONLY)

APPENDIX A
Page 18 of 38
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PUC Oregon No. 2 Sheet Ng. 7

Page 7 of 26

3. Upon enroliment, the customer agrees to contribute ownership of the DCVA to CRRWC.

4. CRRWC will assume ownership of the DCVA and the accompanying respons%bilitieé for the
maintenance, repair, replacement if necessary, and all required testing. The customer will
not be billed for these services.

5. Customers who are ENROLLED in the Program will receive a 10-day advance notice of the
time and date the DCVA will be installed in their meter boxes.

8. Customers who OPT-OUT of the Program by signing the opt-out form and returning the form
to CRRWC within 30 days of receipt of the notice are required to make their own
arrangements to have an approved DCVA installed on the customer water line within 60 days
of the daté of CRRWC's notice requiring a DCVA,

[ {ssue Date / Filing Date Effective for Service on or affer

| issued By Utility

Advice No.

(FOR PUC USE ONLY]

APPENDIX A
Page 19 of 38
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SCHEDULE NO. 5

DCVA MAINTENANCE, REPAIR, AND TESTING SERVICE
For Customer-Owned DCVAs

Purpose:  Crooked River Ranch Water Company (CRRWC) desires to offer a DCVA
" maintenance, repair, and testing service.

Available: This program is available ONLY to customers that own their own DCVAs.

Applicable: To residential and commercial/industrial premises with 1” or smaller DCVAs.

Program Description:

Under this program, CRRWC will provide maintenance, repair, and required annual testing of
customer-owned DCVAs:

1. Annual Testing — CRRWC will perform the required annual testing of the DCVA by a state
certified tester pursuant to Oregon Administrative Rules 333-061-0070 through OAR 333-
081-0072.

2. Maintenance and Repair Service — CRRWC will provide maintenance and repairs on
customer-owned DCVAs.

Fees:

1. Cost for this service is $2.76 per month or $33.12 per year. CRRWC will bill the customer
either monthly or yearly at the customer choice.

Provisions:

1. The customer is under no obligation to use CRRWC's DCVA Maintenance, Repair and
Testing Setrvice.

2. CRRWC will provide each customer owning their own DCVAs with notification of CRRWC's
DCVA Maintenance, Repair, and Testing Service being offered. The notification shall include
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(1) an agreement for service that allows the customer to indicate which payment
arrangement is desired, and (2) an OPT-0OUT written refusal of the Utility’s service.

3. Customers that own their own DCVA will AUTOMATICALLY BE ENROLLED in CRRWC's
DCVA Maintenance, Repair, and Testing Service, UNLESS the customer signs the OPT-
OUT form provided by CRRWC and returns the signed form within 30 days of receiving
CRRWC's DCVA Maintenance, Repair, and Testing Service offer.

4. Customers that opt-out of CRRWC's DCVA Maintenance, Repair and Testing Service will be
responsible for all maintenance, repair, and required testing of their DCVAs, and must
annually notify CRRWC cof the certified backflow test contractor engaged to do the testing
and the date the backflow test is scheduled.

5. CRRWC reserves the right to propose before the PUC any change in the amount charged for
. CRRWC's DCVA Maintenance, Repair, and Testing Service.

6. Customers will be given the choice of accept ng or rejectmg a new agreement in advance of
any rate increase to this program.

7. CRRWC will separately itemize the DCVA Maintenance, Repair, and Testing Service fee on
the customer bills.
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SCHEDULE NO. 6

- MISCELLANEOUS SERVICE CHARGES

This schedule lists the miscellaneous charges included in the utility’s Rules and Regulations; refer to
the appropriate rules for an explanation of charges and condifions under which they apply.

Connection Charge for New Service {Rule Nos. 8 & 9)
Standard %-inch service

Nonstandard % inch service

Larger than % inch

Irrigation hookup (if provided on separate system)

Meter Test (Rule No. 21}
First test within 12-month period
Second test within 12-month period

Pressure Test (Rule No. 41}
First test within 12-month pericd
Second test within 12-month period

Late-Payment Charge (Rule No. 22}

Interest Rate on Deposi for Service (Rule No. &)
Pursuant to CAR 860-035-0040(2)

Returned Payment Charge (Rule No. 23)

Trouble-Cail Charge (Rule No. 37)
During normat office hours
After normal office hours on special request

Disconnection/Reconnect Charge (Rule Nos. 27, 29 & 30)
During normal office hours
After normal office hours on special request

Unauthorized Restoration of Service (Rule No. 31)

Damage/Tampering Charge (Rule No, 35)

Disconnect Field-Visit Charge (Rule No. 30)

At cost, including meter
At cost, including metfer
At cost, including meter
At cost, including meter

N/C
$25

N/C
$25

Pursuant to CAR 860-036-0130
(as of 1/1/12 - 1.7%)

Pursuant to OAR 860-036-0050
{as of 1/1/12 - 0.1%)

$27

$25
$50

$25

$40

Reconnection charge plus costs
At cost

525
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RULES AND REGULATIONS

Rule 1: Jurisdiction of the Commission

The Rules and Regulations contained herein shall be subject to the rules and regulations cf the Public
Utility Commission of Oregon.

Rule 2: Definitions

B. “'App[icant*" shall mean any person, business, or crganization that applies for service or reapplies for
service at a new or existing location after service has been discontinued, except as noted in the
definifion of “Customer.”

C. "Commission” shall mean the Public Utility Commiission of Oregon.

D. “Custorner” shall mean any person, business, or organization who has applied for, been accepted to
receive, or is currently receiving service. A customer who voluntarily discontinues service at the
same ot different premises within 20 (fwenty) days after discontinuance retains customer status.

E. “Residential customer premises” shall mean any dwelling and its land including, -but not limited fo, a
house, apartment, condominium, townhouse, cottage, cabin, mobile home, or trailer house.

F. "Commercial customer premises” shall mean any premises at which a customer carries on any major
activity of gaining a livelihood or performing a public service. Such activity may be of a business,
industrial, professional, or public hature.

G. “Main” éhaii mean the pipe laid in the street, alley, or other right-of-way for the distribution of water to
customers. it shall not include service lines.

H. “Service connection” shall mean the pipe, stops, fittings, meter, and meter box laid from the main to
the property fine of the premises served.

I, “Customer line” shall mean the pipe, stops, and fittings leading from the property fine to the premises
served., :

J. “Point of Delivery” is the property Iiné or the outlet swivelfunion of the meter defining where the
service connection stops and the customer line starts.
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APPLICATION FOR SERVICE

Rule 3 Customer/Applicant Information (OAR 880-038-0015)

The Utility shall provide or be able to provide customers or applicants with the following information:

Instructions on how to read meters, either in writing or by explanation;

Application and contract forms;

Utility rules and regulations;

Commission ruies and regulations;

Approved tariffs;

Rights and Responsibilities Summary for Gregon Utility Consumers;

Notices in foreign languages, if available;

The Utility's business address, telephons number, and emergency telephone number;
Notices approved by the Commission.

TIeTMmoow»

Rule 4: Application for Service (OAR 860-036-0035)

Application for water service must be made for each individual service. The application shall identify the
applicant, the premises to be served, the billing address if different, the fype of use to which the water is
to be put, and an agreement fo conform to the Rules and Regulations of the Utility as a condition for
receiving such service. The applicant shall, at thistime, pay any scheduled fees or deposits. An
application is a request for service and shall not be accepted until the applicant establishes credit as set
forth in OAR 880-036-0040. '

An application for service must be made where!

A. An applicant, who has not previously been servad by the Utility, requests service; or

B. Service has been involuntarily discontinued in accordance with the Utility and Commission rules,
and service is requested; or

C. Service has been voluntarily discontinued and a request to restore service has not been made
within 20 days; or

D. There is a change in the type of use to which the water is put, or the number of premises served.

Rule 5:  Establishment of Credit and Deposits (OAR 860-036-0040, 0045, 0050, and 0055)

In accordance with the Commission’s rules for credit establishment and deposits, an applicant for new
service or a customer seeking continued service may be required to make a deposit to secure payment of
bills for service. The deposit shall not exceed one-sixth (1/6) the amount of reasonable estimated billings
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for one years use of service at the premises during the prior year or upon the type and siie of the
customer's equipment that will use the service. (OAR 860-036-0040 and 0045)

The Utllity shall pay interest on deposits at the rate established by the Commission. After the customer
has paid its water service bills for 12 consecutive months without having had service discontinued for
honpayment, and did not have more than two occasions in which a shut-off notice was issued, and the
customer is not then delinquent in the payment of bills, the Utility shall promptly and automatically refund
the deposit plus accrued interest by {check ong} (OAR 860-036-0050 and 0055):

[711. lssuing the customer a refund chack, or
2. Crediting the customer’s account.
(The customer is entitled to a refund check upon request.)

Rule 6: Customer Service Line

The customer shall own and maintain the customer service line and promptly repair all breaks and leaks.
For non-metered service, the cusiomer service line begins at the property line or utility-owned shut off
valve. For metered service, the customer service line begins on the customer’s side of the meter or
utility-owned shut off valve. The Utility shall not be responsible for any damage or poor service due to
inadequacy of the customer line or any portion of the customer’s plumbing. All leaks in the customer line,
faucets, and all other parts of the plumbing owned or controlled by the customer shall be promptly
repaired so as not to waste waier.

Rule 70 Separate Control of Service

All prerhises supplied with water will be served through service lines so placed as to enable the Utility fo

control the supply to each individual premise using a valve placed within and near the line of the street,
the Utility right-of-way, or at the meter.

Rule 8 Service Connections {OCAR 860-0356-0060)

The service connection is that portion of the water system between the Utility’s main line and the
customer's service line at the customer's property line. The service connection includes all material and
installation (hot tap, pipes, fittings, meter, etc.) necessary to provide water service to the customer. The
Utility shall own, operate, maintain, and replace the service connection when necessary and promptly
repair all breaks and ieaks. The customer shali not be responsible for any damage or poor service due
to inadequacy of the Utility’s service lines or any portion of the Utility’s plumbing.

A. The Utility shall install the service connection and charge the customer for the cost of the service
connection, including the meter. The customer shall pay for the meter and service connection and
contribute the utility plant to the Ulility. The contributed plant will be excluded from rate base.
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Rule 9:  Service Connection Charge

An applicant requesting permanent water service to a premise not previously supplied with permanent
service by the Utility may be required to pay the cost of the service connection, including or exciuding the
meter as provided in Rule No. 8 and the Utility's Miscellaneous Service Charges in this tariff.

Rule 10: Main Lina Extension Policy {OAR 860-035-0065)

The Utility shall specify the size, character, and location of pipes and appurtenances in any main line
extension. Main line extensicns shall normally be along streets, roads, highways, or other satisfactory
rights-of-way. All construction work shall conform to all applicable rules, regulations, codes, and industry
standards. Each main line extension shall normally extend along applicant’'s property line {o the point the
applicant’s service line would be at a 90-degree angle to the sireet or main line.

Rule 11: Main Line Advances and Refunds Policy

Each new customer requesting a main line extension shall advance the Utikity 'i:he cost-based amount
hecessary to extend the main line to provide service.

s after construction of the requested main line extension, the Utility shall also
co!lect from any additional applicants whose connect to the main line extension an amount per foot equal
to the new applicant’s proportionate share of the main line extension cost for that portion used. The
Utility will then refund the share differential amount to those custormers who previously shared the cost of
said main line extension. Refunds shall not exceed the amount originally advanced.

. No part of the distribution system installed prior to the request for a main line extension shall be used to
calculate any customer advance or refund.

Rule 12: Tvpes of Use

Water service may be supplied for residential, commercial, irrigation, "‘temporary construction, special
contracts, fire prevention, and other uses. The Utility shall file separate rate schedules for each type of
use and basis of supply.

Rule 13: Multiple Residences/Commercial Users

An apartment building, mobile home park, motel, trailer camp, duplex, townhouse, or any property
consisting of mere than one residential/commercial unit, if served through one service line, shall
be considered to be equivalent to the number of dwalling units when determining the customer count.
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Rule 14: Utility Access to Private Property (OAR 860-036-0120(3)(b} and OAR 860-036-0205(3))

Customers shall provide access during reasonable hours to utility-owned service lines that may extend
onto the premises of the customer for the purposes of reading meters, maintenance, inspections,
or removal of Utility property at the time service is 1o be discontinued. Where the customer does
not cooperate in providing reasonable access o the meter or tothe premises, as required by law
or to determine if a health or safety hazard exists, it is grounds for disconnection.

Rule 15: Restriction on Entering a Custemer Residence (OAR 8670—036—0085}

No water utility employee shall enter the residence of its customers without proper authorization except in
an emergency-when life or property is endangered.

REFUSAL OF SERVICE

' Rule 168: Refusal of Service Due fo Cusiomer Accounts (CAR 880-036-0080(1-31)

The Utility may refuse to serve an applicant until receipt of full payment of overdue amounts, or other
obligations related to a prior account of the applicant with the Utility, when the following circumstances
exist:
A. The applicant seeks commercial service and has amounts owing from a prior account with the
utility; or
B. The applicant seeks residential service and has amounts owing from a prior residential account
with the utility and the account was terminated for theft of service; or
C. The applicant seeks residential service and the applicant:
1. Has a roommate that has a past due bill with the utility; and
2. Lived with the roommate at the time the past due bill was incurred; or
D. The applicant failed to comply with the payment terms set forth in section (2)(c) of this rule; or
E. The applicant's prior account was terminated more than 20 days before the applicant applied for
service.

" Except for residential customers or applicants who were disconnected for theft of service, a water utility
shall provide service to a residential applicant upon receipt of payment equal to at least one-half of any
overdue amount. The halance of the amount owed to the utility shall be paid within 30 days of the date
service is initiated. '

Service shall not be refused for matters not related to water servica Residential service shall not be
refused due to obligations connected with nonresidential service.

If service is refused under this rule, the Utility shall inform the applicant or customer of the reasons for the
refusal and of the Commiission’s dispute resolution process.
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Rule 17: Refusal of Service Due fo Ufility Facilities {OAR 860-036-0030(7))

The Utlity shall not accept an application for service or materially change service tc a customer if
the Utility does not have adeqguate faciiities or water resources fo render the service applied for, or if the
desired service is of a character that is likely to unfavorably affect reasonable service to other customers.

- A. The applicant's facilities do net comply with the codes, rules, or regulations of the appropriate
governing authorities or the best practices governing safe and adequate water service, or with the
reasonable rules and regulations of the water utility;

B. The water utility does not have adequate facilities, resoutces, or capacity to provade the requested
service without impairing service to other customers; or
C. The water utility is prohibited by law from providing the service.

For refusal of service under this rule, the Utility shall provide a written letter of refusal to the applicant
informing applicant that the details upon which the Utllity's decision was based may be requested.
A copy of such notice will be sent to the Commission. The details will include, but not be limited to:

Current capacity -and load measured in gallons or cubic feet per minute;
Current capacity and load measured in pounds per square inch;
Cost to the Ulility for additional capacity in order to provide the additional service; and

Information regarding the appeal process of the Ulility's refusal to provide service is available
through the Commission’s dispute resolution process pursuant to OAR 860-036-0025.

oW

Rule 18: Refusal of Service Due to Customer Facilities (OAR 8680-036-0080(4-8))

The Uiility shall refuse service to an applicant or customer whose facilities do not comply with applicable
plumbing codes or, if in the best judgment of the Utility, are of such a character that safe and satisfactory
service cannot be given.

If service is refused under this rule, the Utility will provide written notification to the customer within

10 working days stating the reason(s) for refusal and providing information regarding the Commission’s
complaint process. A copy of the notification will also be sent to the Commission.

METERS

Rule 19:  Utility Meters (CAR 860-036-0105)

The water utility shall own, maintain, and operate all meters. Meters placed in service shall be adequate
in size and designh for the type of service, set at convenient locations, accessible to the Utility, subject to
the utility’s control, and placed in a meter box or vault between the street curb and property line. Each
meter box cr vault shall be provided with a suitable cover.
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Where additional meters are furnished by the Utility or relocated for the convenience of the customer, a
reasonable charge may be made in accordance with a schedule approved by the Commission.

The water utility shall have the right to set meters or other devices for the detection and prevertion
of fraud or waste without notice to the customer.

Each customer shall provide the Utility with regular access to the meter on the customer's property.
Failure to permit access at reasonable times and after reasonable notice by the Utility requesting access
is grounds for disconnection. (CAR 860-036-0120) Should damage result to the meter from molesting,
tampering, or willful neglect on the part of the customer, the utility shall repair or replace the meter and
may bill the customer for the reasonable cost. (OAR 860-036-0105(7)). Broken meters shall be repaired
or replaced within 30 days of discovery.

Rule 20: Meter Testing (OAR 860-036-0110)

The meter shall be tested prior to or within 30 {thirty) days of installation t¢ determine it is accurate to
register not more than a 2 percent error. No meter shall be allowed to remain in service if it registers an
error in excess of 2 percent (fast or slow) under normal operating conditions. The Utility shall maintain a
record of all meter tests and resulis. Meter test result recerds shall include:

information necessary to identify the meter;

Reason for making the test;

Date of test;

Method of testing;

Meter readings;

Test results; and _

Any other information required to permit convenient checking of methods employed.

OMMUO WP

Rule 21 Customer-Requested Meter Test (OAR 860-036-0115)

A customer may request that the Utility test the service meter. Such test shall be made within 20 working
days of the receipt of the request. The customer or the customer’s representative has the right to be
present during the test, which is to be scheduled at a mutually agreeable fime. A written report shall be
provided to the customer stating:

Customer’s name; ,

Date of the customer’s request;

Address at which the meter has been installed:
Meter identification number;

Date of actual test; and

mooOwp
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F. Test results.

The first meter test in a twelve-month period is at nc cost fo the customer. if a customer requesis a
meter test more often than once in any 12-month period, the fee listed on the Miscellansous Service
Charges Schedule may be required to recover the cost of the test. If the meter is found to register more
than 2 percent fast or slow under conditions of normal operation, the Ulility shall refund the fee to
the customer.

BILLING

Rule 22: . Billing Information & Late-Payment Charge (OAR 860-036-0120, OAR 860-036-0125 & OAR 850-
036-0130)

All bills, including closing bills, are due and payable at the Utility office within 15 days when rendered by
deposit in the mail or other reasonable maans of delivery, unless otherwise specified on the bill. The
date of presentation is the date on which the Utility mails the bill.

The bill shall be rendered immediately thereafter. (OAR 860-036-0120(3) requires water utilities to bill at
monthly intervals. However, a Utility may request, upon application, spemai authority from the
Commissiott to bill at intervals other than monthly.)

The Utility will keep at least 10 years of all billings records {flat or metered rates) and three years of meter
readings. The Utility shall make a reasonable effort to prepare opening and closing bills from actual
meter readings. When there is good reason for deoing so, estimated bills may be submitted. Any
estimated billings shall be clearly designated as such. When requested, the Utility shall demons’zrate to
the Commission the reason for the estimated billing.

All water service bills shall show:

A. Beginning and ending meter readings for the billing petiod;
. Beginning and ending dates of the period of service o which the bill applies;

. For all metered bills, beginning and ending meter readings for the period for which the bilt
is rendered;

B
C
D. Number of units of service supplied stated in gallons or cubic feet;
E. Schedule number undar which the bilt was computed;
F. Delinguent date of the bill; :

G. Total amount due; and

H. Any other information necessary for the computation of the bill.
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; | d or delivered the
bilt. {OAR 860-036-0125 requires a minimum of 15 days.)

A late-payment charge may be assessed against any account that has an Unpaid balance when the next
bill is being prepared. The charge will be computed on the delinquent balance owing at the time of
preparing the subsequent month’s bill at the lafe-payment rate specified in the Miscellaneous Service
Charges Schedule. The late-payment rate is determined annually by the Commission, and the Utility will
be notified of the rate.

If an account is permitted to become delinquent, the Utility may disconnect water service by giving proper
notice to the customer as provided in Rules 28/29, pricr to or after the Utility assesses the late payment
charge.

Rule 23: Returned Paymeni Charge
The Returned Payment Charge listed on the Miscellaneous Service Charges Schedule shall be billed for

each occasion a customer submits any type of noncash payment {(check, debit, electronic, etc.) that Is not
honored, for any reason, by a bank or other financial institution.

Rule 24: Prorating of Bills

Initial and final bills will be prorated according to the number of days service was rendered and on the
basis of a 31-day month. For metered services, a reasonable effort will be made to read the meter upon
opening and closing a customer's account. Consumption will be charged at scheduled rates. Any
minimum monthly charge will be prorated.

Rule 2_5: Adjustment of Bills {860-036-0135)

When an underbilling or overbilling occurs, the Utility shall provide written notice to the customer detailing
the circumstances, pericd of time, and the amount of the adjustment. If it can be shown that the error
was due to an identifiable cause, the date of which can be fixed, the overcharge or undercharge shall be
computed back to such date. If no date can be fixed, the Utility shall refund the overcharge or rebill the
undercharge for no more than six months’ usage. In no event shall an overbilling or underbilling be for
more than three years’ usage. No billing adjustment shall be required if a meter registers less than 2
percent error under conditions of normal operation.

When a customer is required to repay an underbilling, the customer shall be entitled to enter into a time-
payment agreement without regard to whether the customer already participates in such an agreement.
if the customer and the Utility cannot agree upon payment terms, the Commission shall establish terms
and conditions fo govern the repayment obligation. The Utility shall provide written notice advising the
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customer of the opportunity to enter infe a time-payment agreement and of the Commission’s complaint
process.

Rule 26: Transfer Billings (860-0356-0140)

if a water utility indentifies a balance a customer owes from the customer’s prior account for Oregon
service, the water utility shall have the option to transfer the amount to the customer’s current account.
The water uiility will give the customer prior notice of the transfer, including:

A. The amount due under the prior account; and

B. The period when the balance was incurred; and

C. The service address under which the bill was incurred.

The utility has the option to send a separate notice te the customer giving the same information, but
collecting the amount for the prior account separately from the customer’'s current account. If the
customer has an amount remaining on an existing time-payment agreement, the customer may enter into
a new time-payment agreement to include the transfer.

This rule also applies to customers who change service locations, and who applied for the new service
within 2C days of closing the prior account (thereby retaining customer status).

DISCONNECTION OF WATER SERVICE

Rule 27: Voluntary Disoonti‘nuance (OAR 8§60-035-0210)

Except for emergencies, customers who {for any reason) wish to have service discontinued shail provide
the Utility at least five business-days’ advance notice of the request fo discontinue service, The customer
is responsible fo identify the date of disconnection and for all services rendered until the water utility
recasives the customer’s notice and the service is discontinued on the requestad date.

Rates are based on continuous service. Disconnect and reconnect transactions de not relieve a
customer from the obligation to pay the base rate or minimum charge that accumulates during the period
of time the service is voluntarily disconnected for up to 12 months. Should the customer wish to
recommence service within 12 months at the same premise, the customer will be required to pay the
acoumulated minimum monthly charge or base rate as if service had been continuous. The reconnection
charge listed on the Miscellaneous Service Charges Schedule will be applicable at the time of
reconnection.

Rule 28: Emergency Disconnection (CAR 860-038-0215)

The Utility may terminate service in emergencies when life or property is endangered without following
the procedures set forth in OAR 860-036-0245. Immedliately thereafter, the water utility will notify the
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customer and the Commission. When the emergency termination was through no fault of the customer,
the utifity shall not charge the customer for disconnection or restoration of service.

Rule 29: Disconnection of Water Service Charge for Cause (OAR 860-036-0205 and 0245)

When a customer fails fo comply with the Utility's rules and regulations, or permits a bill or charge for
regulated services to become delinguent (except for nonpayment of a ime-payment agreement), the
Utility shall give at least five business days’ written notice before water service may be shut off. The
notice shall state:

The reason(s) for the proposed disconnection;

The eatliest date for disconnection;

The amount to be paid to avoid disconnection;

An explanation cf the time-payment provision of OAR 860-036-0125;
Information regarding the Commission’s dispute resclution process; and
The Commission's Consumer Services toll-free number, 1-800-522-2404.

TMO oW

Prior to disconnection on the day that the Utility intends to disconnect service, the Utility must make a
good-faith effort {o physically contact the customer to be disconnected or an adult at the customer’s
premise to be disconnected o advise the customer or adult of the proposed disconnection. If contact is
not made, the Utility shall leave a nctice in a conspicuous place at the customer's premise informing the
customer that service has been or is about to be disconnected. The Utility shall document its efforts to
contact the customer or an adult at the premises and make that documentation available to the customer
upon request,

Service shall not be shut off for non-emergencies on a Friday or the day of a state- or Utility-recognized
holiday or the day prior o such holiday. (OAR 860-036-0220) The Uiility shali not disconnect residential
service due to the failure to pay or meet obligations associated with nonresidential service. (OAR 880-
036-0225)

Residential customers who are noftified of pending disconnection may choose between two Time
Payment Agreement options. The Utility will offer such customers a choice of a levelized-payment plan
and an equal-pay amrearage plan. A Uiility and customer may mutually agree to an alternate payment
arrangement provided it be in writing and signed by all parties.

Disconnection for Failure to Gomply With a Time Payment Agreement

A fime-payment agreement disconnection occurs when a customer fails to comply with the terms
of a written time-payment agreement between the customer and the Utility, or the Utility permits a time-
payment agreement charge to become delinquent, The Ulility shall give the customer a 15-day written
notice and a 5-business day written notice before the water service may be disconnected,
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Rule 30; Disconnection and Reconnection of Water Service and Field Visit Charge

Risconnection Charge

When service was disconnected pursuant to CAR 860-036-0245 or OAR 860-036-0250, the water ulility
may charge the disconnect fee stated in its tariff. If a customer requests water be turned off temporarily
by the water company the customer will be subject o Rule 27 of this tariff and subject tc the
Disconnection Charge in Schedule 6, Miscellaneous Fees.

Reconnecticn Charge

Service must be reconnected after the customer or applicant has requested reconnection, paid all
applicable charges, provided necessary credit information, and satisfied all requirements for service.
When service was disconnected pursuant to OAR 880-036-0245 or OAR 860-036-0250, the water utility
may charge the reconnection fee stated in its tariff. If a customer requests water be turned on, the
customer will be subject to the Reconnection Charge in Schedule 6, Miscellaneous Fees, unless
exempted by the Commission or Commission rules.

Field Visit Charge _

A water utility may assess a field visit charge whenever the water utility visils a residential service
address intending io reconnect or disconnect service, but due to customer action, the water utility is
unable to compiete the reconnection or disconnection at the time of the visit. The field visit charge must
be either filed in its tariffs or included in its statement of rates, whichever is applicable.

A field visit charge may not be assessed to a customer for delivery of any disconnect notice when the
Utility has a viable address for the customer. If a Utility delivers a disconnect notice, it is responsible to
document ifs efforts to send the disconnect charge by mail and demonstrate fo the Commission the
reaschabileness of delivering any disconnect nofice to the customer’s residence.

Rule 31: Unauthorized Restoration of Service

After the water has been disconnected or shut off at the curb stop or at the meter, if any person not
authorized by the water utility should turn it on, the water service may be disconnected without notice.
Service shall not be reconnected uniil all arrearages, and dlsconnectton and reconnection charges are
paid in full,

Rule 32: Unauthorized Use

No person shall be allowed to make connection to the Uiility mains, or to make any alteration to service
connections, orto turn a curb stop off or on to any premises without written permission of the Utility.
Meter tampering, diverting service, or any other unauthorized use of service will automatically cause a
disconnection of the water service and may result in meter removal. All applicable fees, costs of
disconnection and reconnection, past-due billings, and service charges listed on the Miscellanecus
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Service Charges Schedule must be paid in full before any service is restored. An advance deposit
for restoration of service may be required.

Rule 33; Interruption of Service (OAR 860-036-0075)

The Utility shall have the right to shut off the water supply temporarily for repairs and other necessary

purposes. The Ulility shall use all reasonable and practicable measures to notify affected customers in

advance of such discontinuance of service except in the case of emergency repairs. The Utility shall not

be liable for any inconvenience suffered by the customer or damage to the customer’s propertty arising
~ from such discontinuance of service.

The Utility shall keep a record of all service interruptions affecting its whole system or a major section
thereof, including the time and date of interruption, duration, and cause or purpese of interruption.

Rule 34. Water Supply/Usage Restrictions {OAR 880-036-0325)

The Utility shall exercise due diligence to fumish a continuous and adequate supply of water to its
customers. If water restrictions are necessary to equitably apportion its available water supply among its
customers with due regard to public healih and safety, the Uility shall provide written notification to its
customers and the Commission including:

Reason for the restriction; ,

Nature and extent of the restriction;

Effective date of the restriction; and

Probable date of termination of such restriction.

Cow>

Rule 35: Damages/Tampering

Should damage result to any of the Utility’s property from molesting or willful neglect by the customer to a
meter or meter box located in the cusiomer’'s building, the Ulility will repair or replace such equipment
and will bill the customer for the costs incurred.

'SERVICE QUALITY

Rule 38: System Maintenance (DAR 860-036-0305)

The Utility shall have and maintain its entire plant, disiribution system, and hydrants in such condition that
it will furnish safe, adequate, and reasonable continucus service. The Utility shall inspect its facilities in
such manner and with such frequency as may be necessary to ensure a reasonably complete knowledge
of its condition and adequacy at all times.
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The Utility shail keep such records of all routine maintenance as considered necessary for the proper
maintenance of its system, including regular flushing schedules, exercising of valves, and valve
inspections.

Rule 37  Trouble Call

The trouble-call charge listed on the Miscellaneous Service Charges Schedule may be billed whenever a
customer requests that the Utility visit the customer’s premises to remedy a service problem and the
problem is due o the cusiomer’s facilities.

Rule 38: Water Purity (OAR 860-038-0310}

The Utllity shall deliver water for domestic purposes free from bodily injurious physical elements and
disease-producing bacteria and shall cause such tests to be made and precautions taken as will ensure
the constant purity of its supply. The Utility shall keep a record of all water quality tests, results,
monitoring, and reports. '

The Utllity shall deliver domestic water that is reasonably free from elements that cause physical damage
fo customer propertly such as pipes, valves, appliances, and personal property. A water supply that
causes such damage will be remedied until the conditions are such as to not reasenably justify the
necessary investment.

Rule 3% Woaler Pressure {QAR 880-036-0315)

Each water ufility shall maintain pressure at a minimum of 20 pounds per square inch (psi) for health
reascns to each customer at all times. The 20 psi standard is not presumed to be adequate service and
do not restrict the authority of the Commission to require improvements where water pressure or flow is
inadequate.

In general, 40 psi of water pressure in the water mains is usually adequate for the purposes of {his rule.
However, adeguate pressure may vary depending on each individual water system and customers’
circumstances. In the case of a dispute, the Commission will determine the appropriate water pressure
for the water utility.

Rule 40: Pressure Surveys (OAR 860-036-0320)

The Wility shall have a permanently placed pressure gauge located on a main that is representative of
the system’s pressure. A portable gauge in good working condition shall be available for checking
pressure conditions in any part of the distribution area.
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Rule 41: Custcmer—Requésted Pressure Test {OAR 880-036-0320)

Upon customer request, the Utility will perform a water pressure test within 20 working days of the
request. The first pressure test in any 12-month period shall be at no charge. If the customer requests
more than one pressure test within any 12-month period, a deposit to recover the reasonable cost of the
additional test may be required of the customer. The deposit shall be returned if the pressure test
indicates less than 20 psi. The customer or designated representative has the right to be present at the
pressure test, and said test shall be conducted at a mutually agreeable time.

For metered service, the pressure will be tested at a point adjacent to the meter on the customer’s
service lina.

For non-metered service, the pressure will be tested at the customer's service line or hose bibb or other
reasonable point likely to best reflect the actual service pressure.

Rule 42: Maps/Records (CAR 860-036-0335)

The Utility shall keep on file current maps and records of the entire plant showing size, location,
character, and date of instaliation of major plant items, including shut-off valves.

Ruie 43:  Ulility Line Location (One Call Program) (OAR 850-036-0345)

The Utility and its customers will comply with the requirements of OAR 952-001-0010 through
and including OAR 952-001-0090 (One Call Program) regarding identification and notification
of underground facilities. :

Rule 44: Cross Conneclion/Backflow Prevention Proqram/CRRWGC DCVA !nstallatidn Program

The Utility will comply with the rules and regulations for the Cross Connection/Backflow Prevention
Program, as provided for in ORS Chapter 333 and the Utility’s approved Backflow Prevention Program. -

CRRWC wili offer a DCVA Instatfation Program (Program) to customers. Customers will automatically be
enrolled in the Program unless the customer signs and returns an opt-out form within 30 days of the
customer receiving the Program offer. Details of the Program are found in PUC No. 2, Original Sheets
Nos. 6 and 7, Schedufe No. 4.
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Rule' 45 CRRWC DCVA Maintenance, Repair. and Tesfing Services

CRRWC will offer customers that own their own DCVAs a DCVA Maintenance, Repair and Testing
Service (Service). Customers will automatically be enrolied in this Service unless the customer signs and
returns an opt-out form within 30 days of the customer receiving the Service offer. Details of the Program
are found in PUC No. 2, Criginal Sheets Nos. 8 and 8, Schedule No. 5.
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