
  ORDER NO. 09-388 
 
  ENTERED 10/01/09 
 

BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION 
 

OF OREGON 
 

NC 274 
 
 

PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION OF 
OREGON,  
 

Complainant, 
 

 v. 
 
EUGENE WATER & ELECTRIC 
BOARD, 
 

Defendant. 

  
 
 
 
 

ORDER 

 
 

DISPOSITION:  STIPULATION ADOPTED   
 

On August 28, 2009, the Public Utility Commission of Oregon filed a 
complaint against Defendant.  The complaint charged Defendant with one violation of 
law, OAR 952-001-0080, and requested a penalty of $1,000.  On September 1, 2009, a 
copy of the complaint was served. 

 
On September 9, 2009, the parties to this proceeding entered into a 

stipulation, which is attached as Appendix A. 
 
Under the terms of the stipulation, Defendant admits that the violation was 

committed as alleged in the Complaint and agrees that the Commission may enter an 
order assessing civil monetary penalties.  Defendant contends that the violation was the 
result of actions by a third party contractor, but accepts responsibility for payment of the 
fines as an operator subject to OAR 952-001-0080.   

 
The parties further agree that a portion of the penalties should be 

suspended, unless Defendant fails to comply with any provision of the stipulation or 
violates any rule adopted by the Oregon Utility Notification Center (OUNC) under 
ORS 757.552 for a period of one year following the date of the Commission’s final order 
in this proceeding.   
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The stipulation is adopted.  From the foregoing, it is concluded that no 

hearing is required.  Under the terms of the stipulation, the allegations of the complaint 
are true, and Defendant has violated Oregon Administrative Rule(s) as alleged.  Pursuant 
to the provisions of ORS 757.993, penalties should be assessed against Defendant under 
the terms and conditions of the stipulation. 
  

ORDER 
 

 IT IS ORDERED that: 
 
1. The stipulation, attached as Appendix A, is adopted. 
 
2. Civil monetary penalties shall be assessed against Eugene Water & 

Electric Board in the amount of $1,000 for one violation of law. 
 
3. Defendant shall pay the sum of $200, due and payable within 

30 days from the date of service of this order.  Payment shall be by 
money order or company check made out to the Public Utility 
Commission of Oregon, and the memo line of the money order or 
company check shall state the “NC” docket number in the caption 
of this order.  (Mail payment to:  Public Utility Commission of 
Oregon, PO Box 2153, Salem, OR 97308.) 

 
4. Payment of the balance of the penalties ($800) shall be suspended, 

unless: 
 
(a) Defendant fails to comply with paragraph 3 above; or  
(b) A showing is made that Defendant has violated, within one 

year of the date of this order, any rules administered by the 
Oregon Utility Notification Center. 










