ORDER NO. 09-100

ENTERED 03/30/09
BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION

OF OREGON

uw 131

In the Matter of )
)

MILL MAR ESTATESWATER, INC. ) ORDER
)
)

Application for a General Rate Revision.

DISPOSITION: STIPULATION ADOPTED
. INTRODUCTION

Mill Mar Estates Water, Inc. (Mill Mar or Company) is asmall investor-
owned water utility located in Shady Cove, Oregon that provides domestic residential
water serviceto 25 customers.

In Commission Order No. 08-354, entered July 3, 2008, the Public Utility
Commission of Oregon asserted financial regulation of Mill Mar. The Commission
found that, pursuant to ORS 757.061, Mill Mar was a public utility, Mill Mar charged
above the statutorily-established residential threshold for water utility rates, and over 20
percent of Mill Mar’s customers had petitioned the Commission requesting that the utility
be regulated. The Commission ordered Mill Mar to file appropriate tariffs within 60
days. On August 26, 2008, the Commission granted Mill Mar a 45-day extension to file
itstariffs. See Order No. 08-432.

On October 31, 2008, Mill Mar filed tariff sheetsin Advice No. 08-39, to
be effective December 1, 2008. On November 26, 2008, the Commission ordered the
tariff sheets suspended pending investigation of their propriety and reasonableness. A
public comment open house took place on December 18, 2008.

On January 15, 2009, a prehearing conference was held, with appearances
from representatives of Mill Mar, its ratepayers, and Commission Staff. Chief
Administrative Law Judge Michael Grant subsequently adopted a hearing schedule, and
granted petitions to intervene from Kathy Robinson, Raymond Novosad, Richard Snell,
Theron and Helene Gorden, Marjorie Neithercutt, Joe and Floy Ruppert, Julie Johnson,
Sharon Rainey, and Douglas Allen.

On March 2, 2009, Commission Staff, Mill Mar, and intervenors Theron
Gorden, Julie Johnson and Raymond Novosad (collectively, the Parties) submitted a
Stipulation settling all issues between them (Stipulation). In supporting testimony, Staff
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explained and defended the stipulation. No other intervenors objected to the Stipulation,
and the time for doing so has expired.

1. STIPULATION
A.  Summary

The Parties recommend the Commission adopt a 69.6 increase over test
year revenues, resulting in atotal revenue requirement of $15,263 and total revenue
deductions of $13,002. The Parties stipulated that the Company will receive a 7.50
percent return on rate base of $30,129, resulting in net income of $2,260. The Parties
stipulated Revenue Requirement isincluded in their Stipulation as Attachment A.

The Parties support aresidential base rate of $36.25 and a commodity rate
of $3.25 per 1,000 gallons, as set forth in tariff sheet Oregon No. 1, Original Sheet No. 3
(included in the Parties’ Stipulation as Attachment B). The Parties also support the
Miscellaneous Services Charges set forth in tariff sheet Oregon No. 1, Original Sheet
No. 4. The Parties support al tariffs going into effect for service on and after April 1,
20009.

B. Revenue Requirement

Rate Base. The parties stipulate to Staff’ s calculation of atotal rate base
of $30,129, reflected in the chart below.

Utility | Depreciation Net Working | Total Rate Base
Plant in Reserve Utility Cash
Service Plant
Company’s
Proposed Rate
Base $88,289 $38,289 | $49,361 | $1,076 $50,436
Staff’ s Rate
Base $64,431 $35,165 | $29,266 $862 $30,129

Staff explains that it removed the cost of water service lines from the
Company’ s proposed rate base, because the Company could not show that those lines
were separated out from other infrastructure costs. Staff used the National Association of
Regulatory Utility Commissioners (NARUC) Depreciation Service Lives to determine
the $35,165 depreciation reserve. Working cash was calculated as 1/12 of the total
operating expenses. Staff also made several adjustments to test-year expenses.

Rate of Return. Based on Staff’s analysis of the Company’ s weighted cost
of capital, Staff recommends a 7.50 percent rate of return on arate base of $30,129,
resulting in net income of $2,260.
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C. Rates
The parties agree to aresidential base rate as follows:
Current Rates

Base Rate $60.00 Includes 5,000 gallons

Commodity Rate $3.00 per 1,000 gallons Above 5,000 gallons
Stipulated Rates

Base Rate $36.25 No usage included in base rate

Commodity Rate $3.25 per 1,000 gallons For al usage

Rate Design. The Parties support a monthly base rate of $36.25 and a
commodity rate of $3.25 per 1,000 gallons. Staff explainsthat it generally aimsfor a
60/40 split between the base rate and usage rate, but in this case such a split would result
inarelatively high commodity rate of $4.52 per 1,000 gallons. The Parties support
assigning 71.25 percent of the revenue requirement to the base rate and 28.75 percent to
the commaodity rate, forming the basis for reasonable rates. Staff statesthat it will
attempt to work with the Company and other parties in subsequent rate applications to
bring the base rate and commaodity rate closer to the 60/40 target.

Staff states that the resulting rates are fair and reasonable.
IIl. DISCUSSION

The Commission has reviewed the Stipulation, together with the
supporting testimony and exhibits filed by Staff. We conclude that the revenue
requirement and rate design proposals set forth in the Stipulation are fair, just, and
reasonabl e and should be adopted. The Stipulation is attached to this Order as
Appendix 1 and incorporated into this Order by reference.

ORDER
IT ISORDERED that:
1. The Stipulation attached to this Order as Appendix 1 is adopted.

2. Mill Mar shall charge rates in accordance with the schedules set
forth in Appendix 1 of this Order.

3.  Therevised tariff schedules set forth in the Stipulation shall become
effective April 1, 20009.
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4. The tariffs filed by Mill Mar on October 1, 2008, are permanently
suspended.

Made, entered, and effective

/ / VJ ohn Savage

e,"
f’ ommissioner
g @

Comrhissioner

A party may request rehearing or reconsideration of this order pursuant to ORS 756.561. A
request for rehearing or reconsideration must be filed with the Commission within 60 days
of the date of service of this order. The request must comply with the requirements in
OAR 860-014-0095. A copy of any such request must also be served on each party to the
proceeding as provided by OAR 860-013-0070(2). A party may appeal this order by filing a
petition for review with the Court of Appeals in compliance with ORS 183.480-183.484.
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ORDER NO. 09-100

BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION

OF OREGON
UW 131
In the Matter of MILL MAR ESTATES )
WATER INC. Proposed Tariffs for ) STIPULATION
Water Service. )

Mill Mar Estates Water Inc. (“Mill Mar” or “Company”); Intervenors Theron
Gorden, Julie Johnson and Raymond Novosad; and the Public Utility Commission
Staff (Staff) Michael Dougherty (inclusively referred to as “Parties”) enter into this
global settlement of all issues.

1.

The Parties support entering into evidence, without requiring any Party to lay a
foundation for its admission, Staff's written testimony, marked as Staff/100,
Dougherty/1 — 9, Staff/101, Dougherty/1, and Staff/102, Dougherty/1 - 6, and
Attachments A and B to this stipulation.

2.

The Parties support and recommend the Commission adopt a 69.6 percent
increase over test year revenues. Based on the test period, this increase results in a
total revenue requirement of $15,263. The stipulated Revenue Requirement is

included as Attachment A.
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3.

The Parties support total revenue deductions of $13,002. Additionally, the
Parties support a 7.50 percent return on rate base of $30,129 resulting in net income
of $2,260.

4.

The Parties support a residential base rate of $36.25, and a commaodity rate of
$3.25 per 1,000 gallons. These rates are set forth in the tariff sheet designated PUC
Oregon No. 1, Original Sheet No. 3. The Company’s tariffs and rules are contained
in Attachment B.

5.

The Parties also support the Miscellaneous Services Charges according to
Schedule No. 2 as set forth in the tariff sheet designated as PUC Oregon No. 1,
Original Sheet No. 4.

6.
The Parties support having the tariffs go into effect for service on and after
April 1, 2009.
7.
The Company agrees to file affiliated interest contracts concerning the
employment services by Paige Harrison and Morley Pringle within 90 days of the

Commission order in UW 131.

Department of Justice ) .8
1162 Court Street NE APPENDIX ! »
Salem, OR 97301-4096 SAGE A OF A&
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8.

By entering into this Stipulation, no Party shall be deemed to have approved,
accepted, or consented to the facts, principles, methods, or theories employed by
any other Party in arriving at the agreed revenue requirement, rate spread, and
design.

9.

The Parties recommend that the Commission adopt this stipulation in its
entirety. The Parties have negotiated this stipulation as an integrated document.
Accordingly, if the Commission rejects all or any material portion of this stipulation,
each Party reserves the right, upon written notice to the Commission and all Parties
to this proceeding within 15 days of the date of the Commission’s order, to withdraw
from the stipulation and request an opportunity for the presentation of additional

evidence and argument.

Department of Justice

1162 Court Street NE AT ¢ |
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1
2 10.
3 The Parties understand that this stipulation is not binding on the Commission

4 in ruling on this application and does not foreclose the Commission from addressing

5  otherissues.

7 DATED this ;?i‘“’" day of February 2009.
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Respectfully submitted,

JOHN KROGER
Attorney General

shw. J?ne, # 00059
Assistant Attorney General
Of Attorneys for PUC Staff

Department of Justice
1162 Court Street NE
Salem, OR 97301-4096
(503) 378-6322

APPENDIX |
PAGE Y4 OF A8
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1 10.

2 The Parties understand that this stipulation is not binding on the Commission
3 inruling on this application and does not foreclose the Commission from addressing
4  other issues.

5

6 DATED this A / day of February 2009,

9 Paige Harrison, Owner

10 Mill Mar Estates Water Inc.
11
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1
2 10.
3 The Parties understand that this stipulation is not binding on the Commission

4 in ruling on this application and does not foreclose the Commission from addressing

5 otherissues.

7 DATED this ;212 day of February 2009.
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Theron Gor
Intervenor

Department of Justice
1162 Court Street NE
Salem, OR 97301-4096
(503) 378-6322
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1
2 10.
3 The Parties understand that this stipulation is not binding or the’Commission

4 in ruling on this application and does not foreclose the Commission from addressing

5 otherissues.

7 DATED this 3 a day of February 2009.
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~uls W, Aohneo
\Lgm@Johnson \J

Intervenor
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1
2 10.
3 The Parties understand that this stipulation is not binding on the Commission

4 inruling on this application and does not foreclose the Commission from addressing

5  other issues.

P

7 DATED this J5.°*day of February 2009.
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Raymond Novosad
Intervenor

Department of Justice
1162 Court Street NE
Salem, OR 97301-4096
(503) 378-6322




Mili Mar Estates

Draft - For Settlement Purposes Only

Test Year: 2007

Company Case
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UW 131
Stipulation - Attachment A

A B C D E F G
Staff Proposed Difference
Acct. Proposed Results between
No. REVENUES {E+F=0) Staff %  [Staff & Company
1] 461.1] Residential Water Sales I 15262 | -1521% -$4,917
2] 461.2] Commercial Water Sales 0 $0
3]  465| irrigation - Non GC $0
41 462] rrigation - GC 30
5{ 471} Misc. Revenues $0
6 Spacial Contracis 50
7| TOTAL REVENUE -$4,916
8 -$4.917
9] OPERATING EXPENSES
10| 601| Salaries and Wages - Employees $0
11 603} Salaries and Wages - Officers $3,049
12|  604] Employee Pension & Benefits $0
18]  610] Purchased Water -$750
14| 611} Telephone/Communications $0
15| 615} Purchased Power -$301
16| 618] Chemical / Treatment Expense $0
17| 619} Office Supplies -$262
18] 619.1] Postage $0
19|  620] O&M Materials/Supplies -$30
20| 621 Repairs to Water Plant -$239
21| 631 Contract Svcs - Engineering $0
22}  632] Contract Svcs - Accounting $38
23] 833 Contract Sves - Legal -$908
24|  634] Contract Svcs - Management Fees $0
25| 635] Contract Svcs - Testing -$608
26|  636] Contract Sves - Labor 30
27| 637} Contract Sves - Billing/Collection -$2,400
28]  638] Contract Sves - Meter Reading -$450
29] 839} Contract Svcs - Other $0
30]  641| Rental of Building/Real Property $0
31} 642] Rental of Equipment $0
32]  643] Small Tools 30
33| 648 Computer/Electronic Expenses $0
34] 6690} Transportation 327
35| 658] Vehicle Insurance $0
36| 657] General Liability Insurance 344
37| 658] Workers' Comp Insurance $0
38] 59| Insurance - Well Property $4
39] 660] Public Rejations/Advertising $0
40; 866 Amortz. of Rate Case $389
41]  867| Gross Revenue Fee (PUC) -§46
42| 688] Water Resource Conservation 30
43| 670 Bad Debt Expense 30
44| 671} Cross Connection Control Program $0
45| 672| System Capacity Dev Program $0
46| 673 Training and Certification $0
471 874 Consumer Confidence Report $0
48] 675 General Expense 344
49 TOTAL OPERATING EXPENSE -$2,576
OTHER REVENUE DEDUCTIONS
50| 403] Depreciation Expense $0
51| 407} Amortization Expense 30
52| 408.11} Property Tax 30
53| 408.12| Payrol Tax $0
54140813} Other $0
55| 409.11] Oregon Income Tax $0
56| 409.10] Federal Income Tax $0
57 TOTAL REVENUE DEDUCTIONS 13,002f  -$2,676
58 NET OPERATING INCOME 2,260f  -82,341
59| 101] Utility Plant in Service 64451]  esa31[ sesgss | |
80 Less:
81| 108.1] Depreciation Reserve + 35,165 35,165 -$3,763
62| 271} Contributions in Aid of Const ) 0 $0
631 272| Amortization of CIAC 0 $0
84} 281iExcess Capacity 0 $0
65, Net Utility Plant 20266  -520,005
66 Plus: {working capital}
87 151| Materials and Supplies Inventory o $0
88 Working Cash (Total Op Exp /12) 862 -$214
89 TOTAL RATE BASE 30,129| -$20,308
70 Rate of Return

pPENDIX

o
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PUC Oregon No. 1

Mill Mar Estates Water, Inc.

ORDER NO. 09-100 ATTACHMENT B
Original Sheet No. 1

Containing Rules and Regulations
Governing Water Utility Service

NAMING RATES FOR

MILL MAR ESTATES WATER, INC.

504 Yew Wood Dr
Shady Cove OR 97539

541-774-4711

Serving water in the vicinity of

Shady Cove, Oregon

issue Dale | Effective for service on and after: [ April 1, 2009
{date fHing was mailed) (at least 30 days after PUC receives filing)
Issued By MILL MAR ESTATES WATER, INC.
Signed By
{print nams} {title) {signature of owner or corporale officer)
Advice No.

(FOR PUC USE ONLY)

%ﬁgﬁgﬁyiiﬁ% 5
GE /O OF A8




PUC Gregon No. 1
Mill Mar Estates Water, Inc.

Schedule No.

ORDER NO. 09-100 ATTACHMENT B

Original Sheet No. 2

Table of Contents

Page No.
Title Page ..o 1
INAEX i 2
Residential Metered Rates ............ccccoeveeeiiine 3
Miscellaneous Charges ...........ocoooeeiiiiiniiieeeeen. 4
Rules and Regulations .........ccceeeviiiiiiiiiiiiieieeeen, 5

Issue Date

| Effective for service on and after: | April 1, 2009

Issued By

{date fiing was malled)

MILL MAR ESTATES WATER, INC.

(at least 30 days after PUC receives filing)

Signed By

{print narme)

titte) {signature of owner or corporate officer)

Advice No.

(FOR PUC USE ONLY)

APPENDIX /

PAGE _J/ OFQZ




ORDER NO. 09-100 ATTACHMENT B
PUC Oregon No. 1 Original Sheet No. 3

Mill Mar Estates Water, Inc.

SCHEDULE NO.1
RESIDENTIAL METERED RATES

Available: To customers of the Utility at Shady Cove, Oregon, and vicinity.
Applicable: To residential premises.

Base Rate

Service Meter Size Monthly Base Rate Usage Allowance Unit of Measure

5/8 or 3/4 inch $36.25 NA NAs

Commodity Usage Rate

c ditv Rat Number of Unit of Base Usage Unit of
ommodity Rate Units Measure Allowance Measure
$3.25 Per | 1000 gallons Above | NA gallons

Special Provisions:

1. These rates are based on continuous service. Discontinuation of service may not be employed
to avoid monthly charges for service. See Rule No. 26, Voluntary Discontinuance.

2. Water used during the construction of buildings, etc., shall be metered. Charges shall be made
at the rates specified in this schedule. When setting of a meter is impracticable, the amount of
water used shall be estimated, and the charges shall be made at specified rates for the amounts
so estimated.

Issue Date [ Effective for service on and after: | April 1, 2009
{dats filing was maled) (&t least 30 days after PUC receives filing)
lssued By MILL MAR ESTATES WATER, INC.
Signed By
{(print name) {titte) (signature of owner or corporate officer)
Advice No. APPENDIX 1/

(FOR PUC USE ONLY) SAGE [2 oF g;%;%ﬂ
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PUC Oregon No. 1 Original Sheet No. 4
Mill Mar Estates Water, Inc.

SCHEDULE NO. 2

MISCELLANEQUS SERVICE CHARGES

This schedule lists the miscellaneous charges included in the utility’s Rules and Regulations; refer to
the appropriate rules for an explanation of charges and conditions under which they apply.

Connection Charge for New Service (Rule No. 9)

Standard %-inch service At Cost (includes meter)
Nonstandard % inch service At Cost (includes meter)

Larger than %-inch At Cost (includes meter)
Irrigation hookup (if provided on separate system) At Cost (includes meter)

Meter Test (Rule No. 21)

First test within 12-month period N/C

Second test within 12-month period $25

Pressure Test (Rule No. 40)

First test within 12-month period N/C

Second test within 12-month period $25

Late-Payment Charge (Rule No. 22) Pursuant to OAR 860-036-0130
Charged on amounts more than 30 days past due (as of 1/1/09 — 1.5%)

Deposit for Service (Rule No. 5) Pursuant to OAR 860-036-0050
Pursuant to OAR 860-036-0040(2) (as of 1/1/09 — 1.5%)
Returned-Check Charge (Rule No. 23) $25

Trouble-Call Charge (Rule No. 36)

During normal office hours $25

After normal office hours on special request $35

Disconnection/Reconnect Charge (Rule No. 28 & 29)

During normal office hours $25
After normal office hours on special request $35
Unauthorized Restoration of Service (Rule No. 30) Reconnection charge plus costs
Damage/Tampering Charge (Rule No. 34) At cost
Disconnect-Visit Charge (Rule No. 29) $25

Issue Date | Effective for service on and after: | April 1, 2009

{date filing was malled) (at least 30 days affer PUC receives filing)

cot o MILL MAR ESTATES WATER, INC.

Issued By

Signed By

(print name) {title} {signature of owner or corporate officer)

Advice No.

(FOR PUC USE ONLY)
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PUC Oregon No. 1 Original Sheet No. 5
Mill Mar Estates Water, Inc.

RULES AND REGULATIONS

Rule 1: Jurisdiction of the Commission

The Rules and Regulations herein shall be subject to the rules and regulations of the Public Utility
Commission of Oregon.

Rule 2: Definitions

A. “Utility” shall mean Mill Mar Estates Water, Inc.

B. “Applicant” shall mean any person, business, or organization that applies for service or reapplies for
service at a new existing location after service has been discontinued, except as noted in the definition
of “Customer.”

C. “Commission” shall mean the Public Utility Commission of Oregon.

D. “Customer” shall mean any person, business, or organization who has applied for, been accepted to
receive, or is currently receiving service. A customer who voluntarily discontinues service at the same
or different premises within 20 (twenty) days after discontinuance retains customer status.

E. “Residential customer premises” shall mean any dwelling and its land including, but not limited to, a
house, apartment, condominium, townhouse, cottage, cabin, mobile home, or trailer house.

F. “Commercial customer premises” shall mean any premises at which a customer carries on any major
activity of gaining a livelihood or performing a public service. Such activity may be of a business,
industrial, professional, or public nature.

G. “Main” shall mean the pipe laid in the street, alley, or other right-of-way for the distribution of water to
customers. It shall not include service lines.

H. “Service connection” shall mean the pipe, stops, fittings, meter, and meter box laid from the main to the
property line of the premises served.

I. “Customer line” shall mean the pipe, stops, and fitlings leading from the property line to the premises
served.

J. Point of Delivery is the property line or the outlet swivel/union of the meter defining where the service
connection stops and the customer line starts.

Issue Date [ Effective for service on and after: | April 1, 2009
(date fiing was mailed) {at least 30 days after PUC receives filing)
MILL MAR ESTATES WATER, INC.

lssued By

Signed By

{print name) {titls) {signatire of owner or corporate officer)

Advice No.

(FOR PUC USE ONLY)
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PUC Oregon No. 1 Original Sheet No. 6
Mill Mar Estates Water, Inc.

APPLICATION FOR SERVICE

Rule 3: Customer/Applicant Information (OAR 860-036-0015)

The utility shall provide or be able to provide customers or applicants with the following information:

Instructions on how to read meters, either in writing or by explanation;

Application and contract forms;

Utility rules and regulations;

Commission rules and regulations;

Approved tariffs;

Rights and Responsibilities Summary for Oregon Utility Consumers;

. Notices in foreign languages, if applicable;

. The utility’s business address, telephone number, and emergency telephone number; and
Notices approved by the Commission.

TIOMMmMOUOW>

Rule 4:  Application for Service (OAR 860-036-0035)

Application for water service must be made for each individual service. The application shall identify the
applicant, the premises to be served, the billing address if different, the type of use to which the water is
to be put, and an agreement to conform to the Rules and Regulations of the utility as a condition for
receiving such service. The applicant shall, at this time, pay any scheduled fees or deposits. An
application is a request for water utility service and shall not be accepted until the applicant establishes
credit as set forth in OAR 860-036-0040.

An application for water service must be made where:

A. An applicant who has not previously been served by the water utility requests service;

B. Service has been involuntarily discontinued in accordance with the utility and Commission rules,
and service is sought;

C. Service has been voluntarily discontinued and a request to restore service has not been made
within 20 days; or

D. There is a change in the identity of a customer, the type of use to which the water is put, or
the number of premises served.

Issue Date | Effective for service on and after: | April 1, 2009
{date Hing was malled) (at least 30 days after PUC recaives filing)
Issued By MILL MAR ESTATES WATER, INC.
Signed By
{print namg, {title} {signature of owner or corporate officer)
Advice No. . K

Loadn
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ORDER NO. 09-100 ATTACHMENT B
PUC Oregon No. 1 Original Sheet No. 7
Mill Mar Estates Water, Inc.

Rule 5:  Deposit for Service (OAR 860-036-0040)

In accordance with the Commission’s rules for credit establishment and deposit waiver, an applicant or a
customer may be required to make a deposit to secure payment of bills for service. The deposit shall
not exceed one-sixth (1/6) the amount of reasonable estimated billings for one year’s use of service at
the premises during the prior year or upon the type and size of the customer’s equipment that will use
the service. (OAR 860-036-0040)

The utility shall pay interest on deposits at the rate established by the Commission. After the customer
has paid bills for service for 12 consecutive months without having had service discontinued for
nonpayment, or more than two occasions in which a shut-off notice was issued, and the customer is not
then delinquent in the payment of bills, the utility shall promptly and automatically refund the deposit plus

accrued interest by (check one)

[11) Issuing the customer a refund check: or
X 2) Crediting the customer’s account. The customer is entitled to a refund check upon
request.

Rule 6: Customer Service Line

The customer shall own and maintain the customer service line and promptly repair all breaks and leaks.
The utility shall not be responsible for any damage or poor service due to inadequacy of the customer
line or any portion of the customer’s plumbing. All leaks in the customer line, faucets, and all other parts
of the plumbing owned or controlled by the customer shall be promptly repaired so as not to waste
water.

Rule 7:  Separate Control of Service

All premises supplied with water will be served through service lines so placed as to enable the utility to
control the supply to each individual premise using a valve placed within and near the line of the street,
the utility right-of-way, or at the meter.

Rule 8:  Service Connections (OAR 860-036-0060)

The utility shall furnish and install at its own expense all necessary trenching, pipe, valves, and fittings
between its main line and the customer’s service line. Such installation shall be designated as the

Issue Date | Effective for service on and after: | April 1, 2009
{date Hling was malied) {at least 30 days after PUC receives filing)
lssyad g}}, MILL MAR ESTATES WATER, INC.
Signed By
print name) {titls} {signaturs of owner or corporate officer)
Advice No.

. T
(FOR PUC USE ONLY) ADDENIDNX /




ORDER NO. 09-100 ATTACHMENT B
PUC Oregon No. 1 Original Sheet No. 8
Mill Mar Estates Water, Inc.

service connection. The utility shall own, operate, maintain, and replace the service connection when
necessary and promptly repair all breaks and leaks. The customer shall not be responsible for any
damage or poor service due to inadequacy of the service lines or any portion of the utility’s plumbing.

Rule 9:  Service Connection Charge

An applicant requesting permanent water service to premises not previously supplied with permanent
water service by the utility shall be required to pay the service connection charge listed in the utility’s
Miscellaneous Service Charges Schedule.

Rule 10: Main Line Extension Policy (OAR 860-036-0065)

The utility shall specify the size, character, and location of pipes and appurtenances in any main line
extension. Main line extensions shall normally be along streets, roads, highways, or other satisfactory
rights-of-way. All construction work shall conform to all applicable rules, regulations, codes, and industry
standards. Each main line extension shall normally extend along applicant’s property line to the point
the applicant’s service line would be at a 90-degree angle to the street or main line.

Rule 11: Main Line Advances and Refunds Policy

Each new customer requesting a main line extension shall advance the utility the cost-base amount
necessary to extend the main line to provide service.

For a period of 5 years after construction of the requested main line extension, the utility shall also
collect from any additional applicants whose service connections or service lines shall connect to said
main line extension an amount per foot equal to the new applicant’s proportionate share of the main line
extension cost for that portion used. The utility will then refund the share differential amount to those
customers who previously shared the cost of said main line extension. Refunds shall not exceed the
amount originally advanced.

No part of the distribution system installed prior to the request for a main line extension shall be used to
calculate any customer advance or refund.
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‘Rule 12: Types of Use

Water service may be supplied for residential, commercial, irrigation, temporary construction, special
contracts, fire prevention, and other uses. The utility shall file separate rate schedules for each type
of use and basis of supply.

-Rule 13: Multiple Residences

An apartment building, mobile home park, motel, trailer camp, duplex, townhouse, or any other property
consisting of more than one residential unit, if served through one service line, shall be considered to be
equivalent to the number of dwelling units when determining the customer count.

Rule 14: Utility Access to Private Property (OAR 860-036-0120(3)(b) and OAR 860-036-0205(3))

Customers shall provide access during reasonable hours to utility-owned service lines that extend onto
the premises of the customer for the purposes of reading meters, maintenance, inspections, or removal
of utility property at the time service is to be discontinued. Where the customer does not cooperate in
providing reasonable access to the meter or to the premises, as required by law or to determine if a
health or safety hazard exists, it is grounds for disconnection.

Rule 15: Restriction on Entering a Customer Residence (OAR 860-036-0085)

No water utility employee shall enter the residence of its customers without proper authorization except
in an emergency when life or property is endangered.

REFUSAL OF SERVICE

Rule 16: Refusal of Service Due to Customer Accounts (OAR 860-036-0080(1-3))

The utility may refuse to serve an applicant until receipt of full payment of overdue amounts, or other
obligations related to a prior account of the applicant with the utility, when the following circumstances
exist:

A. An overdue amount remains outstanding by a customer at the service address;
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B. The applicant resided at the service address indicated in (A) during the time the overdue charges
were incurred; and

C. The person indicated in (A) will reside at the location to be served under the new application.
(OAR 860-036-0080)

Service shall not be refused for matters not related to water service. Residential service shall not be
refused due to obligations connected with nonresidential service.

If service is refused under this rule, the utility shall inform the applicant or customer of the reasons for
the refusal and of the Commission’s dispute resolution process.

Rule 17: Refusal of Service Due to Utility Facilities (OAR 860-036-0080(7))

The utility shall not accept an application for service or materially change service to a customer if
the utility does not have adequate facilities or water resources to render the service applied for, or if the
desired service is of a character thatis likely to unfavorably affect reasonable service to other
customers.

For refusal of service under this rule, the utility shall provide a written letter of refusal to the applicant
informing applicant that the details upon which the utility's decision was based may be requested.
A copy of such notice will be sent to the Commission. The details will include, but not be limited to:

Current capacity and load measured in gallons or cubic feet per minute;
Current capacity and load measured in pounds per square inch;
Cost to the utility for additional capacity in order to provide the additional service; and

Information regarding the appeal process of the utility'’s refusal to provide service is available
through the Commission’s dispute resolution process pursuant to OAR 860-036-0025.

Cowz>

Rule 18: Refusal of Service Due to Customer Facilities (OAR 860-036-0080(4-6))

The utility shall refuse service to an applicant or customer whose facilities do not comply with applicable
plumbing codes or, if in the best judgment of the utility, are of such a character that safe and satisfactory
service cannot be given.

If service is refused under this rule, the utility will provide written notification to the customer within
10 working days stating the reason(s) for refusal and providing information regarding the Commission’s
complaint process. A copy of the notification will also be sent to the Commission.
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METERS

Rule 19: Ulility Meters (OAR 860-036-0105)

The utility shall own, maintain, and operate all meters. Meters placed in service shall be adequate in
size and design for the type of service, set at convenient locations, accessible to the utility, subject to the
utility’s control, and placed in a meter box or vault between the street curb and property line. Each meter
box or vault shall be provided with a suitable cover.

Where additional meters are furnished by the utility or relocated for the convenience of the customer, a
reasonable charge may be made in accordance with a schedule approved by the Commission.

The water utility shall have the right to set meters or other devices for the detection and prevention
of fraud or waste without notice to the customer.

Each customer shall provide the utility with regular access to the meter on the customer’s property.
Failure to permit access at reasonable times and after reasonable notice by the utility requesting access
is grounds for disconnection. (OAR 860-036-0120) Should damage result to the meter from molesting,
tampering, or willful neglect on the part of the customer, the utility shall repair or replace the meter and
may bill the customer for the reasonable cost. (OAR 860-036-0105(6))

‘Rule 20: Meter Testing (OAR 860-036-0110)

The meter shall be tested prior to or within 30 (thirty) days of installation to determine it is accurate to
register not more than 2 percent error. No meter shall be allowed to remain in service if it registers an
error in excess of 2 percent under normal operating conditions. The utility shall maintain a record of all
meter tests and results. Meter test result records shall include:

Information necessary to identify the meter;

Reason for making the test;

Date of test;

Method of testing;

Meter readings;

Test results; and

Any other information required to permit convenient checking of methods employed.

OTMmMoUO >
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Rule 21: Customer-Requested Meter Test (OAR 860-036-0115)

A customer may request that the utility test the service meter; such test shall be made within 20 working
days of the receipt of such request at no cost to the customer. The customer has the right to be present
during said test, which is to be scheduled at a mutually agreeable time. A written report shall be
provided to the customer stating:

A. Customer’s name;
Date of the customer’s request;
Address at which the meter has been installed;
Meter identification number;
Date of actual test; and
Test results.

nmmo o w

If a customer requests a meter test more often than once in any 12-month period, the deposit listed on
the Miscellaneous Service Charges Schedule may be required to recover the cost of the test. If the
meter is found to register more than 2 percent fast under conditions of normal operation, the utility shall
refund the deposit to the customer.

BILLING

Rule 22: Billing Information/Late-Payment Charge (OAR 860-036-0120, OAR 860-036-0125 and OAR
860-036-0130)

Bills are due and payable when rendered by deposit in the mail or other reasonable means of delivery.
As near as practical, meters shall be read at monthly intervals on the corresponding day of each
meter reading or billing period. The bill shall be rendered immediately thereafter. (OAR 860-036-
0120(3) requires water utilities to bill at monthly intervals. A utility may request upon application special
authority by the Commission to bill at intervals other than monthly.) The utility shall make reasonable
efforts to prepare opening and closing bills from actual meter readings. When there is good reason for
doing so, estimated bills may be submitted. Any estimated billings shall be clearly designated as such.

The late-payment charge determined by the Commission and listed on the Miscellaneous Service
Charges Schedule shall be applied to all overdue balances at the time of preparing the subsequent
months’ bill or balances owing that are 30 days old.

All bills become delinquent if not paid within 15 days of the date of transmittal of the bill. (OAR 860-
036-0125 requires a minimum of 15 days.) If permitted to become delinquent, water service may
be terminated after proper notice as provided in Rule 29, Disconnection/Reconnection Visit Charge.
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All water service bills shall show:

Beginning and ending meter readings for the billing period;

Beginning and ending dates of the period of service to which the bill applies;

For all metered bills, beginning and ending meter readings for the period for which the bill
is rendered,

Number of units of service supplied stated in gallons or cubic feet;

Schedule number under which the bill was computed;

Delinquent date of the bill;

Total amount due; and

Any other information necessary for the computation of the bill.

O w>
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Rule 23: Returned-Check Charge

The returned-check charge listed on the Miscellaneous Service Charges Schedule shall be billed for
each occasion a customer submits a check for payment that is not honored, for any reason, by a
bank or other financial institution.

Rule 24: Prorating of Bills

Initial and final bills will be prorated according to the number of days service was rendered and on
the basis of a 31-day month. For metered services, the meter will be read upon opening and closing
a customer’s account. Consumption will be charged at scheduled rates. Any minimum monthly

charge will be prorated.

Rule 25: Adjustment of Bills (860-036-0135)

When an underbilling or overbilling occurs, the utility shall provide written notice to the customer
detailing the circumstances, period of time, and the amount of the adjustment. If it can be shown
that the error was due to an identifiable cause, the date of which can be fixed, the overcharge or
undercharge shall be computed back to such date. If no date can be fixed, the utility shall refund
the overcharge or rebill the undercharge for no more than six months’ usage. In no event shall an
overbilling or underbilling be for more than three years’ usage. No billing adjustment shall be
required if a meter registers less than 2 percent error under conditions of normal operation.
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When a customer is required to repay an underbilling, the customer shall be entitled to enter into a
time-payment agreement without regard to whether the customer already participates in such an
agreement. [f the customer and the utility cannot agree upon payment terms, the Commission shall
establish terms and conditions to govern the repayment obligation. The utility shall provide written
notice advising the customer of the opportunity to enter into a time-payment agreement and of the
Commission’s complaint process.

DISCONNECTION OF WATER SERVICE

Rule 26: Voluntary Discontinuance (OAR 860-036-0210)

Except for emergencies, customers who (for any reason) wish to have service discontinued shall
provide the utility with at least five days’ advance notice of the requested date of discontinuance
of service. Until the utility receives such notice, the customer shall be held responsible for all
service rendered. Should the customer wish to recommence service within 12 months at the same
premises, the customer will be required to pay the customary minimum monthly charge as if service
had been continuous. The reconnection charge listed on the Miscellaneous Service Charges
Schedule will be applicable at the time of reconnection.

Rule 27: Emergency Disconnection (OAR 860-036-0215)

The utility may terminate service in emergencies when life or property is endangered without
following the procedures set forth in OAR 860-036-0245. Immediately thereafter, the utility will notify
the customer and the Commission. When the emergency termination was through no fault of the
customer, there shall be no charge made for restoration of service.

Rule 28: Disconnection of Water Service Charge for Cause (OAR 860-036-0205 and 0245)

When a customer fails to comply with the utility’s rules and regulations, or permits a bill or charge for
regulated services to become delinquent (except for nonpayment of a time-payment agreement®),
the utility shall give at least five days’ written notice before water may be shut off. The notice shall
state:

A. The reason(s) for the proposed disconnection;
B. The earliest date for disconnection;
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C. The amount to be paid to avoid disconnection;

D. An explanation of the time-payment provision of OAR 860-036-0125;

E. Information regarding the Commission’s dispute resolution process; and
F. The Commission’s Consumer Services toll-free number, 1-800-522-2404.

Prior to disconnection on the day that the water utility expects to disconnect service, the utility must
make a good-faith effort to physically contact the customer to be disconnected or an adult at the
customer's premise to be disconnected to advise the customer or adult of the proposed
disconnection. If contact is not made, the utility shall leave a notice in a conspicuous place at the
customer’s premise informing the customer that service has been or is about to be disconnected.
The utility shall document its efforts to provide notice and make that documentation available to the
customer upon request.

Service shall not be shut off for nonemergencies on a Friday or the day of a state- or utility-
recognized holiday or the day prior to such holiday. (OAR 860-036-0220)

The utility shall not disconnect residential service due to the failure to pay or meet obligations
associated with nonresidential service. (OAR 860-036-0225)

A water utility may not disconnect residential service for nonpayment if a customer enters into a
written time-payment plan. The utility will offer such customers a choice of payment agreements
between a levelized-payment plan and an equal-pay arrearage plan or some other mutually
agreeable alternate payment arrangement agreed to in writing. (OAR 860-036-0125)

*When a customer fails to comply with the terms of a written time-payment agreement between the
customer, and/or the utility permits a time-payment agreement charge to become delinquent, the
utility shall give at least 15 days’ written notice before the water may be shut off.

Rule 29: Reconnection Charge and Disconnection Visit Charge (OAR 860-036-0080 and 0245(7))

Service shall not be restored until the utility’'s rules and regulations are complied with and/or
payment is made in the amount overdue and any additional disconnection, reconnection, or
disconnection visit charges incurred as listed on the Miscellaneous Service Charges Schedule are
paid.
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Rule 30: Unauthorized Restoration of Service

- After the water has been disconnected or shut off at the curb stop or at the meter, if any person not
authorized by the utility should turn it on, the water service line may be disconnected without notice.
Service shall not be reconnected untilall arrearages, all cost-of-service disconnection and
reconnection, and the reconnection charge listed on the Miscellaneous Service Charges Schedule
are paid in full.

Rule 31: Unauthorized Use

No person shall be allowed to make connection to the utility mains, or to make any alteration to
service connections, or to turn a curb stop off or on to any premises, without written permission of
the utility. Meter tampering, diverting service, or any other unauthorized use of service will
automatically cause a disconnection of the water service and meter removal. All fees, costs of
disconnection and reconnection, past-due billings, and service charges listed on the Miscellaneous
Service Charges Schedule must be paid in full before any service is restored. An advance deposit
for restoration of service may be required.

Rule 32: Interruption of Service (OAR 860-036-0075)

The utility shall have the right to shut off the water supply temporarily for repairs and other
necessary purposes. The utility shall use all reasonable and practicable measures to notify affected
customers in_advance of such discontinuance of service except in the case of emergency repairs.
The utility shall not be liable for any inconvenience suffered by the customer or damage to the
customer’s property arising from such discontinuance of service.

The utility shall keep a record of all service interruptions affecting its whole system or a major

section thereof, including the time and date of interruption, duration, and cause or purpose of
interruption.

Rule 33: Water Supply/Usage Restrictions (OAR 860-036-0325)

The utility shall exercise due diligence to furnish a continuous and adequate supply of water to its
customers. [If water restrictions are necessary to equitably apportion its available water supply
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among its customers with due regard to public health and safety, the utility shall provide written
notification to its customers and the Commission including:

Reason for the restriction;

Nature and extent of the restriction;

Effective date of the restriction; and

Probable date of termination of such restriction.

oo w>

Rule 34: Damages/Tampering

Should damage result to any of the utility’s property from molesting or willful neglect by the customer
to a meter or meter box located in the customer’s building, the utility will repair or replace such
equipment and will bill the customer for the costs incurred.

SERVICE QUALITY

Rule 35: System Maintenance (OAR 860-036-0305)

The utility shall have and maintain its entire plant, distribution system, and hydrants in such
condition that it will furnish safe, adequate, and reasonable continuous service. The utility shall
inspect its facilities in such manner and with such frequency as may be necessary to ensure a
reasonably complete knowledge of its condition and adequacy at all times.

The utility shall keep such records of all routine maintenance as considered necessary for the
proper maintenance of its system, including regular flushing schedules, exercising of valves, and
valve inspections.

Rule 36: Trouble Cali

The trouble-call charge listed on the Miscellaneous Service Charges Schedule may be billed
whenever a customer requests that the utility visit the customer’s premises to remedy a service
problem and the problem is due to the customer’s facilities.
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Rule 37: Water Purity (OAR 860-036-0310)

The utility shall deliver water for domestic purposes free from bodily injurious physical elements and
disease-producing bacteria and shall cause such tests to be made and precautions taken as will
ensure the constant purity of its supply.

The utility shall keep a record of all water quality testings, results, monitoring, and reports.
The utility shall deliver domestic water that is reasonably free from elements that cause physical
damage to customer property such as pipes, valves, appliances, and personal property. A water

supply that causes such damage will be remedied until the conditions are such as to not reasonably
justify the necessary investment.

Rule 38: Water Pressure (OAR 860-036-0315)

Each water utility shall maintain pressure at a minimum of 20 pounds per square inch (psi) for health
reasons to each customer at all times and not exceed a maximum of 125 psi. The 20 psi and 125
psi standards are not presumed to be adequate service and do not restrict the authority of the
Commission to require improvements where water pressure or flow is inadequate.

In general, 40 psi of water pressure in the water mains is usually adequate for the purposes of this
rule. Adequate pressure may vary depending on each individual water system and its customers’
circumstances. In the case of a dispute, the Commission will determine the appropriate water
pressure for the water utility.

Rule 39: Pressure Surveys (OAR 860-036-0320)

The utility shall have a permanently placed pressure gauge located on a main that is representative
of the system’s pressure. A portable gauge in good working condition shall be available for
checking pressure conditions in any part of the distribution area.

Rule 40: Customer-Requested Pressure Test (OAR 860-036-0320)

Upon customer request, the utility will perform a water pressure test within 20 working days of the
request at no cost to the customer. If the customer requests more than one pressure test within any
12-month period, a deposit to recover the reasonable cost of the additional test may be required of
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the customer. The deposit shall be returned if the pressure test indicates less than 20 psi or more
than 125 psi. The customer or designated representative has the right to be present at the pressure
test, and said test shall be conducted at a mutually agreeable time.

For metered service, the pressure will be tested at a point adjacent to the meter on the customer’s
service line. For nonmetered service, the pressure will be tested at the customer's service line or
hose bibb or other reasonable point likely to best reflect the actual service pressure.

Rule 41: Maps/Records (OAR 860-036-0335)

The utility shall keep on file current maps and records of the entire plant showing size, location,
character, and date of installation of major plant items, including shut-off valves.

Rule 42: Ulility Line Location (One Call Program) (OAR 860-036-0345)

The utility and its customers will comply with the requirements of OAR 952-001-0010 through
and including OAR 952-001-0090 (One Call Program) regarding identification and notification
of underground facilities.

Rule 43: Cross Connection/Backflow Prevention Program

Insert the utility's cross connection/backflow prevention program as required by law.
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