ITEM NO. RA3

PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION OF OREGON STAFF REPORT SPECIAL PUBLIC MEETING DATE: March 17, 2020

 REGULAR
 CONSENT
 X
 EFFECTIVE DATE
 Upon Commission

 DATE:
 March 16, 2020

TO: Public Utility Commission

FROM: John Crider

- THROUGH: Bryan Conway
- SUBJECT: <u>PORTLAND GENERAL ELECTRIC</u>: (Docket No. UM 1631) Request a petition for a Waiver of OAR 860-021-0126 and associated tariff provisions.

STAFF RECOMMENDATION:

Staff recommends that the Commission approve Portland General Electric's (PGE or Company) request for a thirty-day waiver of OAR 860-021-0126, the late payment fee of 2.1 percent monthly in Schedule 300, and PGE Rule F Section J, effective immediately.

DISCUSSION:

lssue

Whether the Commission should approve the Company's request to waive Oregon Administrative Rule (OAR) requirements to allow the Company to waive the application of late charges to delinquent accounts for thirty days.

Applicable Rule or Law

OAR 860-021-0126 allows a utility to apply a Late-Payment Charge, currently at 2.1 percent, to customer accounts not paid in full each month, provided the utility has filed the late-payment charge in its rate schedule. For PGE, this charge is contained in Schedule 300 and PGE Rule F.

Docket No. UM 1631 March 16, 2020 Page 2

<u>Analysis</u>

Upon Commission approval, PGE requests to suspend under OAR 860-021-0126 and PGE Schedule 300 Billing Rates, Late Payment Charge (monthly) of 2.1 percent related to delinquent balances. PGE assesses late payment charges under Rule F, section J, which states:

A Late Payment Charge may be assessed to any account that is not paid in full each month. For Residential Customers, the Late Payment Charge will be computed as specified in Schedule 300 and applied to the delinquent balance no earlier than at the time of preparing the subsequent month's bill. A Nonresidential Customer may be assessed a late payment charge against any account that is not paid in full each month. A late Payment charge will not be applied to a Residential account with a Time Payment Agreement or a Budget Pay Plan that is current.

PGE requests this waiver to due to the ongoing public health emergency in Oregon caused by COVID-19. Oregon's governor declared a state of emergency on Sunday March 8, 2020, due to this unforeseen pandemic. The waiver of the Late Payment Charge will assist Oregonians during this emergency.

PGE seeks the waiver for the next thirty days of the requirements of OAR 860-021-0126, the late payment fee of 2.1 percent monthly in Schedule 300, and PGE Rule F Section J, effective immediately.

Conclusion

Staff concludes that the Company's waiver requests are warranted and should be granted.

PROPOSED COMMISSION MOTION:

Approve Portland General Electric's request for a thirty-day waiver of OAR 860-021-0126, the late payment fee of 2.1 percent monthly in Schedule 300, and PGE Rule F Section J, effective immediately.