
 
 
 

April 27, 2020 
 
 
 
Public Utility Commission of Oregon 
Attn: Filing Center 
201 High Street, S.E. 
P.O. Box 1088 
Salem, OR 97308-1088 
 
RE: Advice No. 20-11, Schedule 689 New Load Direct Access (NLDA) 

Housekeeping Filing 
 
Portland General Electric Company (PGE) submits this filing pursuant to Oregon Revised 
Statutes 757.205 and 757.210, and Oregon Administrative Rule (OAR) 860-022-0025 for 
filing proposed tariff sheets associated with Tariff P.U.C. No. 18 with a requested effective 
of June 3, 2020. 
 
 First Revision of Sheet No. 689-2 
 First Revision of Sheet No. 689-6 
 
PGE previously filed these housekeeping tariff changes in PGE Advice No. 20-06 as part 
of PGE’s Rule C changes for emergency curtailment and the associated special 
conditions updates to Schedule 689. At the April 21, 2020 Public Meeting, the 
Commission denied PGE’s requested changes to Rule C and the associated Schedule 
689 Special Condition tariff changes. The Commission requested that PGE refile the 
Schedule 689 housekeeping tariff items separately from any emergency curtailment rule 
filing. 
 
The purpose of this filing is to comply with the Commission’s direction to file the Schedule 
689 housekeeping changes that were previously filed in PGE Advice Filing 20-06, 
excluding the Special Condition changes relating to curtailment. 
 
Attachment A provides a redline of Schedule 689 as a courtesy. 
 
To satisfy the requirements of OAR 860-022-0025, PGE responds as follows:  
 
This change does not increase, decrease, otherwise change existing rates, or impact 
revenues.   
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Please direct any questions regarding this filing to Andrew Speer at (503) 464-7486. 
Please direct your communications related to this filing to the following email address: 
pge.opuc.filings@pgn.com.  
 
 

Sincerely, 
 

\s\ Robert Macfarlane 

 
Robert Macfarlane 
Manager, Pricing & Tariffs 

 
 
Enclosures 
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SCHEDULE 689 (Continued) 
 
APPLICABLE (Continued) 
 
The expected load for each Customer will always be captured and counted toward the cap limit 
for the first 60 months of service. Following 60 months of service on Schedule 689, the customer’s 
actual load factor (LF) will be applied to the contracted demand (MW) to calculate a customer’s 
MWa to be captured and counted toward the New Large Load Program cap and the total amount 
of load under the limit will be adjusted at such time of inquiry, in accordance with actual loads.   
 
MONTHLY RATE  
 
The Monthly Rate will be the sum of the following charges at the applicable Delivery Voltage per 
Service Point (SP)*: 

 Delivery Voltage 

 Secondary Primary Subtransmission 
Basic Charge $3,340.00 $1,890.00 $3,970.00 
    
Distribution Charges**    
The sum of the following:    
 per kW of Facility Capacity    
 First 4,000 kW $1.53 $1.49 $1.49 
 Over 4,000 kW $1.22 $1.18 $1.18 
    
 per kW of monthly On-Peak Demand $2.61 $2.53 $1.27 
    
System Usage Charge    
 per kWh (0.024) ¢ (0.025) ¢ (0.025) ¢ 
    
    
Administrative Fee $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 
    

  
* See Schedule 100 for applicable adjustments. 
** The Customer’s load, as reflected in the opt-out agreement executed between the Customer and PGE, 

may be higher than that reflected in a minimum load agreement for purposes of calculating the minimum 
monthly Facility Capacity and monthly Demand for the SP,  for any Customer with dedicated substation 
capacity and/or redundant distribution facilities. 
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SCHEDULE 689 (Continued) 
 
The Existing Load Shortage Transition Adjustment for the first 60 months is equal to 75 percent 
of fixed generation costs plus net variable power cost transition adjustments during the first 60 
months after enrollment in this rate schedule. The Existing Load Shortage Transition Adjustment 
after 60 months of service on this rate schedule is equal to 100 percent of fixed generation costs 
plus net variable power cost transition adjustments.  
 
The Customer may be exempted from the Existing Load Transition Adjustment if the Customer 
can demonstrate that the change in load in question is not due to load shifting activity described 
in OAR 860-038-0740. The Company will provide written notification to the Customer at least 30 
days prior to charging the Existing Load Shortage Transition Adjustment. The Customer must 
demonstrate the change in load by providing a written request for exemption that includes 
explanation for the change in load and support from available documentation. The Company will 
approve or deny the request of the Customer within 90 days and will not charge the Existing Load 
Transition Adjustment within this time period.  
 
ENROLLMENT 
 
The Customer must notify the Company of its intent to enroll in this Schedule and execute an opt 
out agreement at the earlier of one year prior to the expected energization date of the new meter 
or upon entering a written and binding service agreement for distribution service with the 
Company. The date of energization date will be agreed upon between the Customer and the 
Company within a written and binding agreement for service under this Schedule provided by the 
Company to the Customer. Upon energization, the customer will begin service on PGE daily 
market energy option until the Customer’s chosen ESS commences service.  Customer 
enrollment may be contingent upon additional agreements between the Company and the 
Customer, including but not limited to Minimum Load Agreements. The Company will not accept 
applications for service that exceed the current program cap, or load remaining under the enrolled 
cap. Customer applications with expectations of load to grow beyond the program cap will require 
separate application and approval by the Commission.  
 
A customer will have ten (10) business days to sign the NLDA service agreement once tendered 
by PGE. If a Customer executes an opt out agreement for Direct Access Service under this 
schedule, acceptance of an Enrollment Direct Access Service Request (DASR) is required by the 
Company. The Company will notify the ESS when to send the enrollment DASR. Prerequisites 
and notification requirements are as contained in Rule K. 
 
Applicants that do not meet the conditions above, or that are found in breach of the opt out 
agreement between the Customer and the Company are not eligible for enrollment/continued 
enrollment under this rate schedule. If the Customer or the Customer’s selected ESS cannot 
demonstrate creditworthiness, the Customer will not be eligible for service under this Rate 
Schedule and will be enrolled in an applicable cost-of-service based rate. 
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SCHEDULE 689 (Continued) 
 
APPLICABLE (Continued) 
 
The expected load for each Customer will always be captured and counted toward the cap limit 
for the first 60 months of service. Following 60 months of service on Schedule 689, the customer’s 
actual load of the customerfactor (LF) will alwaysbe applied to the contracted demand (MW) to 
calculate a customer’s MWa to be captured and counted toward the New Large Load Program 
cap and the total amount of load under the limit will be adjusted at such time of inquiry, in 
accordance with actual loads.   
 
MONTHLY RATE  
 
The Monthly Rate will be the sum of the following charges at the applicable Delivery Voltage per 
Service Point (SP)*: 

 Delivery Voltage 

 Secondary Primary Subtransmission 
Basic Charge $3,340.00 $1,890.00 $3,970.00 
    
Distribution Charges**    
The sum of the following:    
 per kW of Facility Capacity    
 First 4,000 kW $1.53 $1.49 $1.49 
 Over 4,000 kW $1.22 $1.18 $1.18 
    
 per kW of monthly On-Peak Demand $2.61 $2.53 $1.27 
    
System Usage Charge    
 per kWh (0.024) ¢ (0.025) ¢ (0.025) ¢ 
    
    
Administrative Fee $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 
    

  
* See Schedule 100 for applicable adjustments. 
** The Customer’s load, as reflected in the opt-out agreement executed between the Customer and PGE, 

may be higher than that reflected in a minimum load agreement for purposes of calculating the minimum 
monthly Facility Capacity and monthly Demand for the SP,  for any Customer with dedicated substation 
capacity and/or redundant distribution facilities. 
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SCHEDULE 689 (Continued) 
 
The Existing Load Shortage Transition Adjustment for the first 60 months is equal to 75 percent 
of fixed generation costs plus net variable power cost transition adjustments during the first 60 
months after enrollment in this rate schedule. The Existing Load Shortage Transition Adjustment 
after 60 months of service on this rate schedule is equal to 100 percent of fixed generation costs 
plus net variable power cost transition adjustments.  
 
The Customer may be exempted from the Existing Load Transition Adjustment if the Customer 
can demonstrate that the change in load in question is not due to load shifting activity described 
in OAR 860-038-0740. The Company will provide written notification to the Customer at least 30 
days prior to charging the Existing Load Shortage Transition Adjustment. The Customer must 
demonstrate the change in load by providing a written request for exemption that includes 
explanation for the change in load and support from available documentation. The Company will 
approve or deny the request of the Customer within 90 days and will not charge the Existing Load 
Transition Adjustment within this time period.  
 
ENROLLMENT 
 
The Customer must notify the Company of its intent to enroll in this Schedule and execute an opt 
out agreement at the earlier of one year prior to the expected energization date of the new meter 
or upon entering a written and binding service agreement for distribution service with the 
Company. The date of energization date will be agreed upon between the Customer and the 
Company within a written and binding agreement for service under this Schedule provided by the 
Company to the Customer. Upon energization, the customer will begin service on PGE daily 
market energy option until the Customer’s chosen ESS commences service.  Customer 
enrollment may be contingent upon additional agreements between the Company and the 
Customer, including but not limited to Minimum Load Agreements. The Company will not accept 
applications for service that exceed to the current program cap, or load remaining under the 
enrolled cap. Customer applications with expectations of load to grow beyond the program cap 
will require separate application and approval by the Commission.  
 
A customer will have ten (10) business days to sign the NLDA service agreement once tendered 
by PGE. If a Customer executes an opt out agreement for Direct Access Service under this 
schedule, acceptance of an Enrollment Direct Access Service Request (DASR) is required by the 
Company. The Company will notify the ESS when to send the enrollment DASR. Prerequisites 
and notification requirements are as contained in Rule K. 
 
Applicants that do not meet the conditions above, or that are found in breach of the opt out 
agreement between the Customer and the Company are not eligible for enrollment/continued 
enrollment under this rate schedule. If the Customer or the Customer’s selected ESS cannot 
demonstrate creditworthiness, the Customer will not be eligible for service under this Rate 
Schedule and will be enrolled in an applicable cost-of-service based rate. 
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