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ITEM NO. CA2

PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION OF OREGON
STAFF REPORT
PUBLIC MEETING DATE: February 21, 2023

REGULAR = CONSENT X EFFECTIVE DATE March 1, 2023
DATE: February 8, 2023

TO: Public Utility Commission

FROM: Curtis Dlouhy

THROUGH: Bryan Conway, Caroline Moore, and Scott Gibbens SIGNED

SUBJECT: PACIFIC POWER:
(Docket No. ADV 1480/Advice No. 23-001)
Update of Schedule 60 — The Company’s Operated Electric Vehicle
Charging Station Service.

STAFF RECOMMENDATION:
Approve Pacific Power’s (PacifiCorp, PAC, or Company) Advice No. 23-001, which

updates Schedule 60 to convert the current electric vehicle (EV) charging rate from per-
minute rate to per-kWh rate and implements a per-minute idle fee.

DISCUSSION:

Issue

Whether the Oregon Public Utility Commission (OPUC or Commission) should approve
PacifiCorp’s Advice No. 23-001, which updates Schedule 60 to convert the current EV
charging rate from per-minute rate to per-kWh rate and implements a per-minute idle
fee.

Applicable Law

ORS 757.205 requires public utilities to file schedules showing all rates, tolls, and
charges for service that have been established and are in force at the time.
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ORS 757.210 (1)(a) states a utility must show that a proposed rate or schedule of rates
is fair, just, and reasonable. The Commission may authorize a rate or schedule of rates
only if is deemed to be fair, just, and reasonable.

ORS 757.220 and OAR 860-022-0015 state that energy utilities must provide the
Commission with at least 30 days’ notice prior to the effective date for any change in
rates, tolls, charges, rules, or regulations.

OAR 860-022-0005 defines the required formatting all large energy utilities must use
when making tariff submissions to the Commission.

OAR 860-022-0025 illustrates energy utility requirements for filing tariffs or changes to
rate schedules.

Analysis

Background

Schedule 60, which was approved in 2019, is the Company’s tariff used to set the rate
at Company-owned EV charging stations. On January 13, 2023, the Company filed
Advice No. 23-001 requesting to update Schedule 60 to change its rate from a per-
minute rate to a per-kWh rate and to implement an idle fee. Schedule 60 was initially
implemented by Advice No. 18-005 and incorporated time-varying prices to reflect on-
and off-peak charging prices for both Level 2 and DC Fast Charging stations in terms of
dollars per minute. The on- and off-peak charging periods match the periods for
residential and small non-residential customers who are on time-of-use rate schedules.

The Company proposes to change the billing structure to a per kWh rate to align with
other DC Fast Charging systems present in Oregon. The proposed idle fee is meant to
encourage customers to move their vehicles quickly after the completion of a recharging
event so that chargers may be made available for other customers in a timely fashion.
The Company provides workpapers demonstrating that the move to a per-kWh rate
from a per-minute rate is meant to be revenue neutral based on 2021 usage but for the
idle fee.

If approved, the Company’s proposed idle fee would begin charging customers 10 cents
per minute for each minute the customer remains at a charger after a 10-minute grace
period. For example, a customer that sits idle for eight minutes would incur no charge
through the idle fee while a customer that sits idle for 12 minutes would incur an
additional 20 cent charge.
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The revenue from Schedule 60 would be tracked in the Company’s deferral related to its
Transportation Electrification (TE) balancing account, UM 1964.

Analysis

Staff verified that the Company’s conversion of the charging rate from per-minute to per-
kWh is indeed intended to be revenue neutral to the Company based on 2021 usage.
Based on conversations that the Company has had in stakeholder workshops regarding
its TE plan, the Company has done sufficient outreach to alert stakeholders about the
impending change to the charging rate. The meeting minutes from the most recent
workshop seem to indicate support for the change, and it appears to make the rates
better conform to Oregon charging station norms. However, the Company did not
appear to alert stakeholders about an impending idle charge based on the meeting
minutes from the last TE workshop.

Despite the lack of notice about an impending idle charge in advance of this advice
filing, Staff supports the incentives created by the idle charge. Whereas the previous
per-minute rate would incentivize customers to leave a charging station as soon as a
charge was completed by continuing to charge customers for a fully charged EV, a per-
kWh rate no longer retains this incentive absent some sort of an idle charge. At this
time, Staff finds no issue with a 10-minute grace period or a 10-cent per minute charge
outside of the grace period. However, Staff remains open to the idea that a more
optimal grace period and idle charge combination could be found as EV infrastructure
expands. Staff reached out to stakeholders that consistently participate in Commission
TE proceedings to alert them of the tariff change.

The revenues from Schedule 60 are tracked in the UM 1964 deferral, which also
includes costs associated with the Company’s TE program. From PacifiCorp’s rate case
in UE 399, Staff observed Schedule 60 appears to sell charging services to EV
operators below marginal cost. In general, cross-subsidization in the TE program is
something that Staff intends to investigate further in our review of Pacific Power’'s
Transportation Electrification Plan in UM 2056 and is not a factor in Staff's
recommendation in ADV 1480.

Staff has reviewed the tariff language and found no errors or items that were not
reflected in the body of the Company’s filing.

The Company has reviewed this memo and had no edits.
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Conclusion

Based on Staff’'s analysis, Staff finds that the change to a per-kWh charging rate and
implementation of an idle fee in Schedule 60 is in the public interest.

PROPOSED COMMISSION MOTION:

Approve PacifiCorp’s Advice No. 23-001, which updates Schedule 60 to convert the

current EV charging rate from per-minute rate to per-kWh rate and implements a per-
minute idle fee.

PAC ADV 1480/Advice No. 23-001
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Available

In all territory served by the Company in the State of Oregon.

Applicable
To electric vehicle charging service provided from Company operated electric vehicle charging
stations.

Billing

Any individual using Company operated electric vehicle charging stations for the purpose of
recharging the battery of an electric vehicle shall pay for such service at the rates described below,
plus the applicable adjustment(s) as specified in Schedule 90.

Charging Stations under 19.2 kW (Level 2)

On-Peak, per kWh 15¢
Off-Peak, per kWh 7¢
Charging Stations over 19.2 kW (DC Fast Charging)
On-Peak, per kWh 47 ¢
Off-Peak, per kWh 30¢
On-Peak Period
Winter
Monday through Friday 6:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.
Summer

Monday through Friday 4:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.

Off-Peak Period
All hours which are not On-Peak Period hours plus the following holidays: New Year's Day,
Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving Day and Christmas Day.

Seasonal Definition
Winter months are defined as November 1 through March 31. Summer months are defined as
April 1 through October 31.

Provisions

1. Operation, repair and maintenance of electric vehicle charging stations on this rate schedule
will be responsibility of the Company.

2. Inoperable electric vehicle charging stations will be repaired as soon as reasonably possible,
during regular business hours or as allowed by Company’s operating schedule and
requirements, provided the Company receives notification from a Consumer or a member of
the public by notifying Pacific Power’s customer service (1-888-221-7070).

3. The Company may at its discretion install, relocate, modify, or remove electric vehicle
charging stations. Potential modifications to Company operated electric vehicle charging
stations may include adding, removing, or changing electric vehicle supply equipment
available for charging service.

4. The Company may include an idle fee if the individual occupies DC Fast Charging Station for
more than 10 minutes after the completion of the recharging event. The Company shall base
this fee on a rate of 10¢ per minute.
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