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RULE SUMMARY
The proposed amendments to OAR 860-032-0620 clarify that the quarterly contribution report must be signed by an officer of the

telecommunications provider, clarify the penalty waiver provisions and make other minor clarifications to the rule regarding deferrals.

There are instances of telecommunications providers filing unsigned quarterly contribution reports or filing reports that are signed by contracted
tax consultants. Filing of an incomplete or inaccurate contribution report can lead to monetary penalties for the subject company. The proposed
amendments to the rule clarify the requirements regarding signatures required and deferrals.

Additionally, there are circumstances beyond a provider\s control that may prevent it from timely filing its report and fee; under such
circumstances, the Commission should be able to waive the appropriate penalties. The proposed amendments clarify the waiver provisions.

The Commission encourages participants to file written comments before the comment deadline, allowing time for other participants to consider
and respond to the comments before the deadline. For information about how to file your comments, please contact Diane Davis at
diane.davis@state.or.us or (503) 378-4372. Filed comments will be available online at
http://apps.puc.state.or.us/edockets/docket.asp?DocketID=15346.

A public rulemaking hearing may be requested in writing by 10 or more people, or by an association with 10 or more members, within 21 days
following the publication of the Notice of Proposed Rulemaking in the Oregon Bulletin or 28 days from the date Notice was sent to people on the
agency mailing list, whichever is later. If sufficient hearing requests are received, the notice of the date and time of the rulemaking hearing must be
published in the Oregon Bulletin at least 14 days before the hearing.

ORS 183.335(2)(b)(G) requests public comment on whether other options should be considered for achieving the rule’s substantive goals while
reducing negative economic impact of the rule on business.

3/27/2009 Close of Business Diane Davis diane.davis@state.or.us 02/05/2009

Last Day (m/d/yyyy) and Time Printed Name Email Address Date Filed
for Public Comment
Please enter date as m/d/yyyy or mm/dd/yyyy
*The Oregon Bulletin is published on the 1st of each month and updates the rule text found in the Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation. Notice forms must be submitted to the
Administrative Rules Unit, Oregon State Archives, 800 Summer Street NE, Salem, Oregon 97310 by 5:00 pm on the 15th day of the preceding month unless this deadline falls on a Saturday,
Sunday or legal holiday when Notice forms are accepted until 5:00pm on the preceding workday. ARC 923-2003
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STATEMENT OF NEED AND FISCAL IMPACT

A Notice of Proposed Rulemaking Hearing or a Notice of Proposed Rulemaking accompanies this form.

Public Utility Commission 860

Agency and Division Administrative Rules Chapter Number

In the Matter of Clarifying OAR 860-032-0620, Quarterly OUS Report: Filing and Payment.

Rule Caption (Not more than 15 words that reasonably identifies the subject matter of the agency’s intended action.)

In the Matter of:
Clarifying OAR 860-032-0620, Quarterly OUS Report: Filing and Payment.

Statutory Authority: ORS
183, 192, 756 & 759

Other Authority:

Stats. Implemented: ORS
756.040, 759.015 & 759.425

Need for the Rule(s):

There are instances of telecommunications providers filing unsigned quarterly contribution reports or filing reports that are signed by contracted
tax consultants. Filing of an incomplete or inaccurate contribution report can lead to monetary penalties for the subject company. The proposed
amendments to the rule clarify the requirements regarding signatures required and deferrals.

Additionally, there are circumstances beyond a provider\s control that may prevent it from timely filing its report and fee; under such
circumstances, the Commission should be able to waive the appropriate penalties. The proposed amendments clarify the waiver provisions.

Documents Relied Upon, and where they are available:
Oregon Administrative Rule 860-032-0620 available at http://arcweb.sos.state.or.us/rules/OARS_800/OAR_860/860_032.html
OUS Fund - Contribution (Revenue) Worksheet Instructions available at http://www.oregonusf.gov/5contrib.htm

Continued on next page
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Continuation of ... STATEMENT OF NEED AND FISCAL IMPACT

Fiscal and Economic Impact:
The proposed changes provide clarification of existing requirements. There is no anticipated resultant negative fiscal or economic impact.

Statement of Cost of Compliance:
1. Impact on state agencies, units of local government and the public (ORS 183.335(2)(b)(E)):
The amendments will not impact state agencies, units of local government or the public. The amendments provide clarifying language.

2. Cost of compliance effect on small business (ORS 183.336):
a. Estimate the number of small businesses and types of business and industries with small businesses subject to the rule:
Telecommunications providers are subject to the rule. The proposed changes do not create any new fiscal or economic impact or cost of

compliance for subject businesses.

b. Projected reporting, recordkeeping and other administrative activities required for compliance, including costs of professional services:
It is not anticipated that the proposed clarifying changes will affect cost for compliance.

¢. Equipment, supplies, labor and increased administration required for compliance:
It is not anticipated that the proposed clarifying changes will affect cost for compliance.

How were small businesses involved in the development of this rule?
Agency staff proposes the changes to clarify current requirements. No small businesses were involved in the development of the proposed
change.

Administrative Rule Advisory Committee consulted?: OvYes ©ONo

If not, why?:
The proposed amendments clarify existing requirements.

3/27/2009 Close of Business Diane Davis diane.davis@state.or.us 02/05/2009
Last Day (m/d/yyyy) and Time Printed Name Email Address Date Filed

? for Public Comment
Please enter date as m/d/yyyy or mm/dd/yyyy

Administrative Rules Unit, Archives Division, Secretary of State, 800 Summer Street NE, Salem, Oregon 97310. ARC 925-2007
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860-032-0620
Quarterly OUS Report: Filing and Payment

(1) For the purpose of the OUS fund, a telecommunications provider shalkmust fileits
contribution report with the OUS Administrator. The contribution report is due on or
before the 10th day of the second month after the close of each three-month quarter (i.e.
approximately 40 days after the end of each three-month quarter). The contribution
report must include the signature of an officer_of the company (telecommunications
provider) verifying theinformation in the contribution report. A telecommunications
provider shalmust send its contribution report so that it isreceived in the OUS
Administrator's offices no later than 5 p.m. on the date it is due.

(2) A telecommunications provider saaltmust file the contribution report for each quarter
with no exceptions, including when the contribution amount shown on the report is $0.00.

(3) The amount shown on the contribution report is due and payable by the
telecommunications provider on or before the 28th day of the second month after the
close of each three-month quarter. Payment shaltmust be made to the Commission. A
telecommunications provider shalmust send payment (electronically or by mail) so that
it isreceived in the Commission's offices by no later than 5 p.m. on the date it is due.

(4) If the contribution amount is less than $100, a telecommunications provider may defer
payment and accumulate it to the following quarter's contribution. This accumulation
may continue interest-free until either the accumulated amount is greater than $100 or
four quarters have passed from the first deferment, whichever comes first. The
telecommunications provider must note the deferral on its contribution report.

(5) If atelecommunications provider fails to file a contribution report as required by these
rules, the Commission shall impose a late report fee of $100. The Commission shaltmay
not impose alate report fee until a contribution report is five business days past due.

(6) If atelecommunications provider files a contribution report but fails to pay the
contribution amount in full on or before the day it is due_unlessthe amount dueis
deferred under section (4) of thisrule, the Commission shall add alate payment fee
equal to 9 percent of the unpaid amount of the contribution, up to a maximum of $500.
The Commission shaltmay not impose alate payment fee until the required payment is
five business days past due.

(7) If atelecommunications provider fails to pay the contribution amount in full on or
before the day it is due_unless the amount dueis deferred under section (4) of this
rule, the Commission shall add interest on the unpaid contribution amount at the rate of 9
percent per annum from the day payment was due until paid.

(8) If the amount shown due on a contribution report is not paid on the due date, unless
the amount dueisdeferred under section (4) of thisrule, the Commission may issue a




proposed order to set the sum due. The Commission may waivethelatereport fee, the
late payment fees, theinterest on the unpaid contribution amount, or any
combination thereof, if the provider requeststhe waiver and provides evidence
showsing that the provider paid its contribution amount late due to circumstances beyond
its control.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183, 192, 756 & 759
Stats. Implemented: ORS 756.040, 759.015 & 759.425
Hist.: PUC 23-2002, f. & cert. ef. 12-9-02
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